We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abisko Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Northern Lights Central”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great food, comfortable beds, great fellow travellers and of course the capital for Northern Lights makes this location one based around memories to recall. Rooms are basic but sufficient, however everything else makes up for this one segment with hospitality, sensational food, cold weather gear, good choice of tours, Moose at your doorstep grazing and an easy drive to neighbouring regions once your here. A walk up to the neighbouring hilltop which looks out over Abisko (the station was closed this night) revealed a small forest with crystal-like covered foliage which glistened in the full moon. Simply stunning and sensational despite it being -35 degrees that evening. The end view and northern lights on this evening made this such a memorable trip and stay at Absiko.If the Northern Lights are your goal, then this location is simply a must.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12NorthernLights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    115
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
37
158
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great service, good value for money, great food, a very welcome sauna after 4 days of hiking. This is the place to stay in Abisko, and it is close to Abisko Östra station, away from the hordes of tourists alighting at the Turiststation. Staff were also extremely friendly and helpful as regards possible routes for our hikes. They even allowed us to leave two bags of clothes to lighten our backpacks for the intensive 4 days of hiking we did, without any guarantee that we would stay a further night on our return. Nice reception are with comfortable lounge area. We were told by staff that they feel they have the optimum customer service achievement if a guest snoozes in the lounge area, because it means they feel quite at home, and that sums it up very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Remarkably good food? Yes, well I'm remarking on how good it is, so evidently :)

Much about this place is pretty basic. Some here have written about the disappointing lunches, but I'm here to say the lunches, while minimal, are just fine. Indeed, after a few weeks on the road living the high life, it's actually a relief to just have a 'normal' meal once per day. Yes, it's just soup, but you're not gonna starve, okay! The evening meals are astonishingly good. They're not gonna compete with fancy restaurants in Paris, but they're almost incongruously good. So don't fuss about the lunch -- look forward to dinner, ask for a bottle of wine, and relax and enjoy.

The cabin we stayed in was adequate and had its own toilet, but no bathroom. Others here have written about the 'fun' of scampering through the snow to the communal shower rooms, but for me that's really not something that sounds like fun. The en-suite toilet is sufficiently large that it could be turned into a compact bathroom, and indeed we've stayed in places with equally small bathrooms. I'm a bit surprised the owners haven't done so. That said, we didn't scamper through the snow and instead used the basin and hot water in our cabin for basic ablutions. Works ok for a day or two.

After four weeks in the arctic circle, the best Northern Lights display we saw (by far) was at Abisko. There's a high degree of chance in all this, and your mileage will inevitably vary. But for us, this was the place.

The staff are great. Don't expect uniformed butlers, but do expect friendly helpful service. One night the manager was chatting to us and told us the secret of Aurora viewing (which is "go outside and look up"). We finished dinner, and went outside and looked up on our way back to the cabin. Overcast. Checked online - the magnetic activity was minimal. So we wandered home and started getting ready for bed. Twenty minutes later a snowmobile roared up outside and the manager was pounding on our door. That was the night of the best display of our trip. If he hadn't have told us to go outside and look up, we would have been sitting inside reading. We are indebted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've stayed at this wonderful establishment on 2 separate occasions, and visited it once for the day before that.
It is set in one of the most beautiful locations, not far from the Lapporten mountain range.
You're first impression when you first arrive is wonderful. A very cosy, well decorated common area with a TV, cute reception and if you're lucky the owners Bernese mountain dogs who are just lovely!
You've either the option of the hotel rooms at the actual lodge (all are ground floor) or the cabins outside the main lodge but just a few steps away. The hotels rooms are small, but practical with everything you need. I place far more importance on the location of the hotel for Northern Lights viewing, and the stunning location you find yourself in, so they were perfectly adequate. Besides you end up spending most of your time either outside, or relaxing in the lounge area :)
The second time I stayed at one of the cabins with my family and I loved this even more! Very cute, gorgeous cabins with small kitchen, toilet and single beds. With perfect access to the outdoors through your own personal porch for Northern Lights checking. I recommend the cabins if you have others to stay with, so wonderful.

The first time I stayed at this hotel I was blown away by the standard of the food, I wasn't expecting much, but everyday there was a set menu, with a vegetarian option for us veggies. The food was outstanding, the best part? I've never enjoyed soup so much in my life! As a starter, a large pan of homemade delicious soup, and amazing home made bread was laid out for you to take. Honestly I looked forward to the soup everyday! The mains were just as impressive.

I'm very sad to say the standard of the food during my second visit was not the same :( Perhaps to others it's not a big deal, but it appears the soup as a starter has been stopped (along with the amazing home baked bread). I was so disappointed by this, looking forward to it so much after the cold outside. The mains were still very good, but it just wasn't upto the same standard as last year.

Sorry to be so nit picky but honestly the food was just amazing first time around, and just good the second. Who knows perhaps the head chef was on holiday or sick?

All in all, a wonderful arctic location filled with many happy memories =) I have had amazing Aurora Borealis display on both occasions there and shall return in future I am sure.

Room Tip: I recommend a cabin if you are travelling with family, much more spacious and a lovely alpine feel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalia9408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After staying at the Icehotel for 1 night, my sister and I spent 4 nights here and it was wonderful. The staff are all so very helpful and informative and friendly.

The rooms are all small and basic but cosy and warm. If you eat at the on-site restaurant, there is a set menu in the evening with no choice of dishes BUT I am sure if there was something you couldn't eat or didn't like, they would oblige with an alternative. The food was simple but beautifully prepared and presented. The buffet breakfast has a very varied choice, mostly continental but with plenty of choice and it certainly sets you up for the day.

We went on a couple of the trips - ice fishing (great fun to go out about a mile on a frozen lake to try to catch something other than pneumonia!) and husky dog sledding. Both were real experiences and so enjoyable, with perfect guides. You can, if you are lucky, see the Northern Lights from outside the hotel and we were fortunate enough to be able to do this, but you can also go to Abisko Sky Station and go on the chairlift to the top and hope to see them from there. We managed this too. You do need to pre-book this as a trip though as you can't just turn up and go to the top.

I would love to be able to visit again, perhaps one day.....trip of a lifetime you should do if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It would be easy to score this place low as it would not rate highly as a hotel but that would not be fair as it does not pretend to be one. It is more a hostel and for that it is very good. The accommodation is basic as described. The breakfast is a good continental style. The evening meal was satisfactory but a set menu and no choice of any alternatives. Avoid buying if you can alcohol. We purchased two glasses of wine which cost £22.The staff were helpful and informative. We stayed in the main building but there is accommodation in other buildings which require guests to walk to the main building to eat. This means walking in the cold (with all the extra clothing to keep warm) also the night we were there it was very icy conditions which guests found difficult. We walked to the chair left for the observation station. It had rained and the walk was very icy and what would be 10 minutes took over twice that. Don’t be fooled into not putting on the special warm clothes offered at the chair base as it was a lot colder at the station. Also the chair lift will stop to let people off and on so you are hung swinging there whist this takes place. The view over the town coming back at night was splendid but there is no other way down, so if you don’t like highs the view back can be daunting. We were there just one night and we did not see the Northern Lights!
We went with “Discover the World” and the coach transfer back to The Ice Hotel was 10-30 a.m. the next day, nevertheless it left early and a small coach that was with the main one had to return for guests left behind. It would have been better had there been a name check before departure. Apart from that Discover the World was great to book with and if you book early you might as we did, get a flight upgrade. Their business suite at Heathrow was excellent.

Room Tip: Use all the warm clothing offered at the base of chair lift. Alcohol is very expensive. Try to get r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Abisko Mountain Lodge, booked through Weekend A La Carte. The rooms are basic as other reviewers have mentioned, but they serve their purpose, are clean and comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for showers. This is a base for all the opportunities to get out and see the area and especially the Northern Lights. All our trips were excellent, regardless of whether we managed to see the Lights or not. The guides, like the staff at the Lodge, were all charming and very knowledgeable. The food at the lodge, and at the Aurora Sky Station, was first rate: so much thought had gone into the dishes and the presentation. The homemade bread was delicious. We were given ample warm outer clothing. The atmosphere in the Lodge is very relaxed - the lounge/bar is a good place to sit, chatting with fellow guests, sharing experiences. Abisko is a tiny place so, even though this is fairly near the centre, you are seconds from trails in the birch forest. We saw the Northern Lights from just outside the front door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menagLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abisko
0.2 mi away
Abisko Guesthouse
Abisko Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Abisko
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
STF Abisko Mountain Station
17.9 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 5 in Riksgransen
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abisko Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abisko Mountain Lodge

Property: Abisko Mountain Lodge
Address: Lapportsvagen 30, Abisko 981 07, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Abisko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Abisko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abisko Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abisko Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abisko Mountain Hotel Abisko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing