We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay view rules in pleasant valley!”
Review of Bay View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Stepaside B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this small family run hotel..our Sat nav directed us in down some really narrow twisting lanes but we found it in the end! The hotel is situated in a pretty wooded valley first impressions are that it looks slightly run down but the hallway and entrance seemed fine. We were met in reception by the owner ..Kevin I assume he didn't introduce himself and said very little showed us to our room and stated that everything you need to know is in the book on the bed and that was that!

There was a slight musty smell upstairs but the room seemed clean and pleasant enough with toiletries and tea and c making facilities...no sugar mind..and no complimentary water as advertised..there was a lovely view..looking around I was slightly amused to see all these little notes and rules in the guest info book and on the walls I.e. charges for spillage ....turn back your bed if you drink on it..do not slam doors...no loud tv after 10 and before 9.....etc etc

Also there were lists of all the extra charges ....a pound for another bottle of water...ten pound an hour or part of if late checkout...five pound extra for room service ...25p to have a call transferred to your room etc...seemed totally over the top to me!

We realised that as we had booked dinner no one had mentioned it so a asked in reception to be told you have to choose beforehand which we did....dinner was quite nice to be honest served in the dining room called the bistro in the evenings! Breakfast was quite good but was bit
rushed...My husband's cooked arrived before he had ate his cereal! Dawn the lady owner was very chatty and pleasant but seemed rushed trying to juggle the hotel and baby minding at the same time.

There are some lovely walks ...Wiseman s pub in 10 minutes a lovely scenic walk and its so quiet and peaceful there..to sum up I would not stay again but maybe I have been spoilt by spending previous weekends in cliff house saundersfoot

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margwalesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are looking for some peace and quiet, The Bay View Hotel is the place for you. It is in the Pembrokeshire countryside but a short drive or a 20 minute walk from the coast at Wiseman's Ferry. There is ample parking.

The hotel has a small bar and restaurant, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and spotlessly clean. Your hosts, Kevin and Dawn, have laid on some nice touches: sweets beside the bed, a delicious cookie and good quality toiletries. There is a jigsaw on the lounge table and a pack of playing cards in your bedroom draw, as well as leaflets on places of local interest, to keep you amused.

The restaurant has a varied, modern British, menu at reasonable prices (£14.50 for a bottle of wine; £4.95 for a tasty salmon fishcake starter; and £10.50 for the yummy crispy pork belly with vegetables).

The price of a single, en suite, room is just £45 a night, including a full welsh, and expertly cooked breakfast. This includes a choice of hot dishes, as well as various cereals and three kinds of fruit bowl.

One of the real plus points for the hotel is that Dawn is a professional massage therapist and offers a range of relaxing treatments. A full body massage costs only £27 pounds for an hour if booked at the same time you reserve your rooms. Treatments are provided in a dedicated room, which adds to the tranquillity. I almost fell asleep!

I visited with an 88 year old Uncle and both Kevin and Dawn were very helpful in making arrangements to accommodate us. All in all, it is a perfect place to get-away from the hustle and bustle of city life and your hosts could do little more to make you welcome.

Room Tip: One of the single bedrooms has a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent a relaxing three nights here as a solo traveller. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners Dawn and Kevin. Both were attentive to guests needs and even became nurses when I sustained an injury. In the evening we were lucky enough to be entertained by Kevin singing in the bar area (requests were encouraged). A lovely home from home atmosphere. My room was comfortable with a shower and toilet enjoyed suite. It is a great place to base yourself for exploring the local area and Dawn does holistic therapies which add to relaxation. Bay view is a small, family run hotel that is perfect for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk8ek8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is the 4th time we have visited Dawn and Kevin's lovely little hotel. The rooms are all different with their own decoration and theme. My friend and I share a 3 bedded room with large windows that overlook the front of the hotel and a very distant bay view. Very comfortable new beds, lots of nice touches including in room tea, coffee, (with fresh milk), water and biscuits. Breakfast is plentiful with self serve fruit and cereal followed by cooked to order hot breakfast. Dinner is all home cooked and beautifully presented - try the liver and bacon! We have already booked our trip for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penjen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited at the end of October 2012 to meet friends for a quite walking based break.
On arrival Dawn & Kevin serve you a welcoming hot drink and cookie which after a 4 hour drive was most welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. 2 bottles of complimentary water are another nice touch.
Fresh milk is supplied every night for the following morning's hot drinks in your room.
We ate in the Bistro on our first night and would recommend it.
Breakfasts cater for most palates with the full English, sorry, Welsh with a choice of eggs, well recommended.
Large screen TV in lounge where Kevin will serve you drinks, if required, as it is Licensed.
Wi-fi pretty much non existent once you get up to your room.
There is no mobile phone coverage apart from a bit of Vodaphone, if you're lucky (according to Dawn). You get it back down on the front , by the sea.
Wisemans Bridge is a pleasant 15 minute walk down the valley (take the path through the caravan site its safer and flatter than sticking to the road).

Would we visit again..........yes.

i would recommend staying here as a quiet base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Bay View for three nights in July and can thoroughly recommend it. Dawn and Kevin are excellent hosts and most welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely spacious and comfortable double room on the first floor with two large windows, spotlessly clean with en suite bathroom and modern furnishings. The breakfasts were very good although we didn't try the hotel bistro as we prefer to eat out in the evenings. There's a nice walk down the valley to Wiseman's Bridge beach and an excellent pub there. From there you can walk all the way along the coastal path to Tenby if you wish and the Bay View is a good base for exploring the surrounding area. There is a swimming pool in the garden but when we were there in July the weather wasn't warm enough to venture in. Ample parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at the Bay-view Hotel in pleasant valley near Wisemans Bridge Saundersfoot 27th July 12-excellent place to stay,excellent breakfast,outside swimming pool in a sun spot.
Beautiful walks, quiet peaceful area with loads of walking areas and still easy to get to Tenby,Saundersfoot etc.
The hosts are really friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stepaside
1.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Pen Coed B&B
Pen Coed B&B
#1 of 4 in Stepaside
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Valley House
Pleasant Valley House
#3 of 4 in Stepaside
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel

Address: Pleasant Valley, Stepaside SA67 8LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Stepaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stepaside
Price Range: $118 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bay View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing