We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gougane Barra Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
318
57
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
57
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerdining roomnational parkbeautiful lakegreat foodwest corkfishbeautiful hotelhidden gemvagabond tourattention to detailday tripwonderful placevery special placestayed longerhis wifesteak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 396 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Neil and Katy, the owners of this hotel, are 100% involved in caring for their patrons. They are attentive, kind, and personable in all their interactions with their patrons (Katy is the head chef of this hotel, so she is definitely involved!). While there are many hotel rooms in the hotel, it has a feel of a B&B, with individual attention paid to each guest.
The location couldn't be any more beautiful-- with St. Finbar's chapel and the head of the River Lee right outside the windows, the view is stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abpatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed only one night in this beautiful establishment. The lake and church gardens are magnificent but nothing compared to the super friendly hospitality and attention to detail that we were given. Excellent food and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintcarolAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

myself and my wife stay here for 4 nights in Apr/May time. what a find! the location is beautiful and we really enjoyed the walks in the national park, the peace and tranquility was a real blessing. but the hotel is the the real star, great welcome, great staff and top was the absolutely superb food. the best food we have eaten for over a year. we stayed 4 days and nights so we had time to taste alot of food. breakfast was great, home made breads, fresh fruit, locally produced jams etc, this was a great start to the day and in a lovely dining room overlooking the lake. i couldn't wait to get out of bed for it! then off for a walk or hike in the national park, back to the hotel, tea/coffee/homemade biscuits & cookies (everything i ate for the 4 days was homemade! in 2013 that's amazing, you could taste the difference), then chill and read a book in the comfortable guest lounges, this is a place to unwind and enojy life. The dinner each evening was just brilliant, local produce, creatively prepared without be over produced, we really enjoyed the dinners, great salads, pasta's, vegetable tempura, everything i tasted was really top class. when we ate in a cafe on the way back to Galway it was such a dissappointment after the great food in the hotel. the owners Neil (front of house) and Kate (the cook) were really welcoming and friendly. it's not close to us but i will be back this year for sure, even if for one night, just to relax in the dining room overlooking the lake, nice wine and great food & great service = heaven for me! many thanks for your hospitality and for sending us away refreshed! Steve & Maria, Galway

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel and i am totally in love with it.This has to be the most romantic setting to have a wedding i have ever seen.
The staff were amazing and always willing to help with anything.
The rooms were clean bright and airy and food was fabulous.
The veiws were breath taking.
My only complaint was that i could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybelly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our first night out of Dublin on an 11 day Driftwood tour was most enjoyable.
The owner host and hotel staff were warm and friendly and made us feel most welcome. The hotel was super comfortable, is located right next to a beautiful lake and is surrounded by a breathtaking landscape.
The hotel has a great bar area for a relaxed drink - Murphy's was recommended and makes for a slightly lighter alternative to Guinness. Try it, you will impress the owner!
The restaurant served some really tasty food sourced from local organic produce. My steak was superb and my wife's fish was delicious. Leave room for dessert..
I highly recommend the hotel and wish we'd spent more time here. Our guide proposed to his wife here - how could she refuse!! Don't miss checking out the external loo (toilet, WC, lavatory) near the hotel - thatched roof style, pretty sure it was awarded the best loo in Ireland!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews