We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Climbers Home
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thakhek
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Riveria Hotel(Khammouane)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mekong Hotel(Thakhek)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
43
8
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
8
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock climbingtuk tukfantastic placerest daystwo weeksdelicious foodgear rentalcan't wait to come backeach guestexplained everythingmy girlfriendlocal stafffriesshort walkmosquito netulitent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 60 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wonderful kitchen, beautiful bungalows, great service, well set routes with correct grading and a challenge for every type of climber and the best food of any climbers crib in the world! Thx Uli & Tania

Room Tip: take the bungalow!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pjotr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Green Climbers. People, climbing, accommodation, whole service is great and I would recommend it to anyone who can appreciate this gem of nature.
We will come back one day for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Perfect base for outdoor adventure or just relaxing in Laos. We took a course for beginner climbers and the Green Climbers crew were great at coaching us to develop our technique while also having fun. Food was delicious and the rooms were clean and comfy. Swimming, walking, biking are good options for those who want a break from climbing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hidden valley with its river cave is the perfekt surrounding for this beautiful camp. Nice double huts in a perfekt nature. Perfekt service with a great variaty of food -german style or lao style, always prepared with love from the German Lao team. I will come back for sur.
And, this is one of the best climbing spots in asia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed one great week in November 2012. It´s a perfect place for climbers (you can rent up to date gear for a small fee) and to explore the marvelous limestone landscape of Khammouanne. We had a nice wooden/bamboo bungalow on stilts with a clean bathroom featuring a hot shower. Thanks to the high roof it never got too hot, large windows and fan made it really comfortable. Mossi net was provided but hardly needed.

The food is great, well prepared and tasty - although the menu looks small when you arrive - it´s plenty of choice and there are daily specials on the black board. Paenang Curry and Pad Thai are smashing.

The staff is helpful and friendly. The managers Uli and Tanja are top notch climbers and develop the climbing craigs.

They are keen to support all your climbing ambitions. The routes offer everything from easy/moderate to hardcore roof climbing and multi pitch. All routes are well protected with stainless steel bolts.

Check out the massive river cave Tham Xieng Liab just in the back garden. Nice swimming pool!

Access: From Thakek you will need to get yourself a TukTuk on the main bas station or from the street to Green Climbers Lodge / or Ban (village) Xieng Liab. Most of the TukTuk drivers know the place. It will cost you about 150.000 Kip /15 Euros to go there one way. If you arrive late from Vientiane with the VIP sleeper bus (say 2.00 am) you can wake up the TukTuk driver that stay at the bus station. In this case you should warn Green Climbers lodge that you are coming. If you don´t manage that there are a couple of flimsy guest houses round the long distance bus station at about 50.000 kip / room. The drive from Thakek to the Green Climbers takes about 25 minutes and is a great trip through amazing karst towers.

We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Take one of the bungalows
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vertikalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews