We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
49
103
50
26
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
103
50
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room lovely hotel night market centre of town nice staff restaurant downstairs the ground floor included breakfast is facing the street colonial building the loop lovely room with a balcony great shower modern amenities late at night french influence cheaper rooms
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 237 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here two nights. If I had not reserved ahead I would never have got a room. While I was checking in many travellers approached the desk and were disappointed to find no vacancies.
This is a small place - a converted shop house - but the decor and atmosphere make up for the small rooms. The rainhead shower was nice although in a closet-like space, and there was no counterspace for toiletries. The bed was very comfy with a nice duvet. It was annoying that there were no English-language news stations available on the television. There are room safes for your valuables. The ground level restaurant is very good with a nice varied menu and obvously attracts non-guest travellers too. The open kitchen right behind the eating area allows you to see your food prepared in sanitary conditions. The location can't be beat, being a block from the Mekong in the midst of the small "historic" area. Tuk tuks congregate at the nearest corner, which is convenient. There were not a lot of other guesthouses in the immediate area strangely. The block the Inthira is on could benefit from some better businesses fitting travellers's needs. For instance, staff could not recommend any good nearby place for massage. I was disappointed in the Green Discovery offerings at the desk in the lobby. I wanted to do a day tour, but there are never any other people signed up to share the cost with. So you have to pay the full price of over $100 to do any day trip. Not in my budget. Likewise the district tourist office was disappointing. Most of the business in these tour agencies is multi-day treks with stays in minority villages. They are not set up for singles or couples wanting day trips.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emptynester48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful and tastefully decorated while still within the right price. Friendly and helpful staff, good food and a very comfortable stay. It was a great place to end our trip after a week spent in Green Climbers camp in the area. Location isn't too far from a bike rental place and from where tuk tuks park.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnA582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights whilst rock climbing in the area. What I have to say is simple, this hotel has Lovely staff, lovely food and lovely rooms. We stayed in the deluxe rooms for 6 nights firstly. These rooms had everything you could need. The bee was super comfy. We extended our stay and had to move to a standard room for the last 4 nights. These were a little smaller but still nice. The food at the restaurant was excellent. It was a little more expensive than other local restaurants but the quality and service was amazing. Sitting beside the street watching the locals go by was a great way to finish the day. You can't go wrong staying here if you are visiting Thakhek.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasonmc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms have the class of a nice boutique hotel. With all amentites, the rooms are clean and stylish in a traditional, but refurbished shophouse. The downstairs bar is very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant had good food, but a few dishes didn't live up to the quality and taste of the rest of the menu, the curries especially. However, it is on a major thoroughfare and can be noisy.

Room tip: Get one of the cheaper rooms in the back. There is no balcony, but they are quieter.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThriveSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thakhek was a stopover on a long motorbike tour through Laos. Pulling up the bike outside the front, this place looked a welcome break from the start. The restaurant is pleasant to have long beer in while watching the street life go by (in fact, this was a vivid memory : the glass was chilled and iced - delicious!) The food is comfort fare : and some decent Lao dishes too. (In fact, Thakhek was not one of the food highlights of our trip - the restaurant compares very favourably to other places in town.) The room was very comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast very nice indeed. An ideal place for some rejuvenation before hitting the road again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisyphus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews