We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great taste of old Ireland”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dromineer, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dawnakbar...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great taste of old Ireland”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in number 10 and had an absolutely wonderful taste of old Ireland. Very warm welcome from Margaret who did everything she could to make sure we had everything we needed and even lit us a fire in the huge open fireplace.
Children had the enclosed garden to play in all day and the shop was only 2 minutes walk away and extremely reasonable priced. Location also so close to Nenagh for shopping and to Lough Derg.
Highly recommend these cottages. I am really looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F
Navan, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant place”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

10 out of 10. The cottages are taste of old Ireland with a sprinkle of modernism. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed an extra night because the kids just didn't want to go home. Neagh is just up the road and balina has a out door heated swimming pool. And don't forget the lough. There is a pub and a shop across the road. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionapppr
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just fab!”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Brought my husband, parents and nephew, all ages loved the cottages! The staff and friendly and helpful and the cottages are exactly what's promised! The rates are very reasonable and it's just perfect for a relaxing getaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnitaDunp...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect destination for a short break”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second visit to the Lough Derg Thatched cottages and on both occasions our stay was perfect. Maura was ever so helpful on our arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. The cottages are beautiful and the pubs and shop only a few feet away.

Really enjoyed ourselves!!!

Will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorkSalmo...
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a lovely relaxing week”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Friendly welcome by Margaret. Great fire going when we got there. The shop and pub across the road were good Enjoyed the friendly atmosphere in the evenings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aine Sine...
1 review
“Ms.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had an amazing long weekend in the cottage. Has everything you need and Margaret was more than helpful. We had a gorgeous open fire every night. Absolute bliss if you're looking to escape from the city. We will be back in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianPren...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The ideal getaway, or touring base for touring southwest Ireland”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

April 2017 Just back from these cottages and had a great experience. From the time we arrived we were made very welcome. Margaret had left a small turf fire waiting for us, and the heating in the house had already been on so it was toasty. I had read a lot of really good reviews of this place and had only found one bad one, and you will always get somebody with something to crib about. With all other reviewers and everybody else giving 5 stars and then a person gives one star, I decided I wanted to make up my own mind. Well it is the most idyllic place to go for a chill out break. These are authentic Irish Thatched Cottages, and are really like living in the past but with modern comforts and conveniences. The cottages are also an ideal base for touring that area of the country. We did Bunratty Castle - 40 mins drive away, and Kilaloe River Cruise 35 mins drive over two different days. The next time we are going to do the Cliffs of Moher which is only 1 hour away. Where they are situated is perfect. Just 10 mins from Nenagh so you are away from the hustle and bustle. Literally 30ft from the cottages is the pub and the shop. The pub is a traditional small pub and you get great chat and pointers from the locals. The shop is a mini supermarket and will make breakfast rolls, or picnic rolls for a day out. The cleanliness of the place was spot on, and Margaret had left her number in case we needed anything. She came on the last morning to see us off, which is a sign of great customer service. We will be definitely coming down here again. As a 3 Star Trip Advisor Reviewer I can recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing