We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
123
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback ride howler monkeys family style outdoor shower one of a kind two week trip amazing hospitality dinner table surf town spent two nights yankee beach guest rooms make you feel at home highlight of our trip other guests unforgettable experience visiting nicaragua
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 127 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Where to start... What a fabulous place, a luxurious ranch set in a beautiful location - remote but still accessible. We stayed two nights in 'The Nest' room, which was very cosy and has an outdoor shower (although a little brisk on a morning!). Blue and her team made us feel so welcome, and went our of their way to ensure that we treated the ranch like home. Great food, beers and wines freely available and a lovely pool / patio area to soak up a bit of sun. Even without the riding, this is a great place to stay in it's own right. Seriously, we have nothing negative to say at all about Rancho Chilamate ... We can't wait to head back! Mark & Elin, London UK

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank mark_richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

This ranch, turned small hotel, is one if the most authentic, interesting places I have stayed on any of my travels. If you love design, or horse riding or want to step off the grid a little in Nicaragua, this is the place. The staff are all horse, animal and food lovers. The owner Blue has brought her own personal style and life experience to this wonderful place. One night is not enough. You will be surrounded by wonderful animals, magnificent views, great food, and a real feel for Nicaraguan design.
Authentic, relaxing and full of great spirit. Well done to Blue and her kind and individual staff members. Thank you.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Lunauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2015

This place was immaculate. The pool was quaint and refreshing as was the company of the staff. Everyone on staff there was so nice and inviting. The chef was extremely cautious as I have severe food allergies. The horses and other funny animals on the property were beautiful and entertaining. My husband and I spent most of our time there relaxing in one of the many hammocks on the property. It was hard to not be in one. There are beautiful views of the mountains and it wasn't far from the beach. Whether you enjoy riding horses or not, this is definitely a must see! Blu, the owner is one of the most hospitable people I have met in my travels. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015

Rancho and Blue are the brightest stars in San Juan Del Sur. The Ranch is beautiful and galloping along the beach to a central American sunset was the highlight of the our trip. The rooms are spotles and the food is amazing. The horses are safe, loved and well taken care of. A night or two at rancho is an absolute must when visiting SJDS. I can't wait to go back

Date of stay: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickross604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015

I have been to nice hotels/inns/B&Bs before but never to a place like this. This place is a gem. The staff is uber-friendly but in a nice way, the place is beautifully decorated, food was great (and plentiful!), Blue is probably in the Top 10 of the nicest people on earth and everybody has fun stories to share (most of them have traveled or have interesting background). It is an amazing place. We went on a horseback ride, which was a first for me and they made sure I had one of the most laid-back horse ever. this place is the best.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nanouWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews