We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Nearby Hotels
Charlton Motel(Gore)(Great Value!)
$76
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
70
56
37
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
56
37
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmclean fallswhistling frog cafeshared kitchen facilitiesamenities blockdon't expect luxurypanel heaterbasic cabinlow tideblue codsouth islandtwo single bedstea and coffeetwo nightscomfortable bedsnice stayself containedgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Myself and Tracey stayed at the Mclean falls park for a night last month, We were strugling to find somewhere respectable along the Catlins drive , thankfully we found the Mclean falls Eco holiday park. A friendly welcome , very tidy rooms, great restaurant and a camping ground that suited both backpackers to families to older couples like ourselfes. It is in a nicely positioned midmay along the catlins coast and makes for a great stop for a night or two, With the Mclean falls and Cathedral caves a must see whilst anyone is staying. Thanks for a memorable stop

Room Tip: Try the dinner menu YumYUm
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us and would recommend us to other travelers. We are very convenient to all the Catlins attractions and provide very clean facilities to suit everyone's needs. I agree that we make the perfect home base for travelers to the area.

Be sure to stop in and say hello the next time your travelling to the Catlins.

Kind Regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our Chalet was great, clean, every thing you could need provided. Nice setting. Handy for going to the McLean Falls, and lots of other nice spots. Great cafe and bar on site, nothing a bother, able to buy hot freshly made bread in the morning.

Room Tip: Our chalet had one bed room with queen bed, and two single beds in the open plan kitchen, living dining room. Plenty of space. Nice and sunny, birds in the flax
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Tucked away little park maximising on McLean’s Falls and Cathedral Cave attractions. One room cabin sleeping 5 which was right next door to the communal lounge room. When we stayed, it was very very cold especially with winds … our warm clothing and decent sleepbags definitely came in handy. Kitchen was small with a large dining table in the middle, with cooking and cleaning bench areas surrounding the table. Not much room for several families trying to use facilities to cook their meals. Also during our stay, the cold winds would come through open doors. All conducive towards encouraging patronage of the on site Whistling Frog cafe!

Free one hour Wi Fi internet provided but if you’re used to fast broadband you will need to exercise patience depending on where you are trying to access it and what you are trying to do. Hosts were really friendly - kids loved being able to borrow videos to watch. Great sized cubicles for showers and toilets in shared facility … so long as you don’t mind sharing with the occasional weta!

Room Tip: If you want comfort, go for the motel rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We a family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in a powered site in our Caravan. we found the staff we encountered to be very friendly and helpful, I mean we arrived at 8 am so as to make the tide at Cathedral Caves and spoke to the duty manager on the phone who advised it it was ok to park up,plug in and come and see him on our return to check in.whilst checking in I also asked if they were able to do a special cake or slice for our son as it was his 5th birthday, this was greeted with a friendly can do attitude and on collection in the afternoon had candles and all, one very happy boy and tasted FAB.
We found the kitchen to be clean and plenty of room, the bathrooms and laundry were very clean. overall I would recommend this place to friends and remind people its "busy" everywhere over the xmas new year!
We did not eat at the cafe but found it to be busy with happy looking people.
yes we struck rain but hay put on a jacket and enjoy the surrounds.
Stayed one night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner & I stayed two nights just after New Years while travelling around the Beautiful Catlins. Even with the rain on our tents we found the place, service & staff to be fantastic. Always helpful and there when you needed them.

We found a great spot to pitch our tent which was in the flight path of the many Tui chasing each other and going from flax bush to flax bush. The last morning we were there I was unable to sleep @ 5.30am so go up with my camera and was treated to a large number of Bell Birds, Tui, Tom Tits & Wood Pigeon all going about there day.

I would definatley recommend this place to others, it was a very central location to go sight seeing. We also went on a day trip with the local postie, Ibby which was arranged by the staff. This turned out to be a fantastic choice as we got to see & hear about the Catlins from a locals point of view and see sights off the beaten track.

The Kitchen was on the small side, but I think that was more of a case of other campers being unaware of people waiting, esp as it was during the busy season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews