We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Nearby Hotels
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels(Kaka Point)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlton Motel(Gore)(Great Value!)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
$95
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn(Invercargill)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
71
56
37
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
56
37
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmclean fallswhistling frog cafeshared kitchen facilitiesamenities blockdon't expect luxurypanel heaterbasic cabinlow tideblue codsouth islandtwo single bedstea and coffeetwo nightscomfortable bedsnice stayself containedgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 187 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Tucked away little park maximising on McLean’s Falls and Cathedral Cave attractions. One room cabin sleeping 5 which was right next door to the communal lounge room. When we stayed, it was very very cold especially with winds … our warm clothing and decent sleepbags definitely came in handy. Kitchen was small with a large dining table in the middle, with cooking and cleaning bench areas surrounding the table. Not much room for several families trying to use facilities to cook their meals. Also during our stay, the cold winds would come through open doors. All conducive towards encouraging patronage of the on site Whistling Frog cafe!

Free one hour Wi Fi internet provided but if you’re used to fast broadband you will need to exercise patience depending on where you are trying to access it and what you are trying to do. Hosts were really friendly - kids loved being able to borrow videos to watch. Great sized cubicles for showers and toilets in shared facility … so long as you don’t mind sharing with the occasional weta!

Room Tip: If you want comfort, go for the motel rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We a family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in a powered site in our Caravan. we found the staff we encountered to be very friendly and helpful, I mean we arrived at 8 am so as to make the tide at Cathedral Caves and spoke to the duty manager on the phone who advised it it was ok to park up,plug in and come and see him on our return to check in.whilst checking in I also asked if they were able to do a special cake or slice for our son as it was his 5th birthday, this was greeted with a friendly can do attitude and on collection in the afternoon had candles and all, one very happy boy and tasted FAB.
We found the kitchen to be clean and plenty of room, the bathrooms and laundry were very clean. overall I would recommend this place to friends and remind people its "busy" everywhere over the xmas new year!
We did not eat at the cafe but found it to be busy with happy looking people.
yes we struck rain but hay put on a jacket and enjoy the surrounds.
Stayed one night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner & I stayed two nights just after New Years while travelling around the Beautiful Catlins. Even with the rain on our tents we found the place, service & staff to be fantastic. Always helpful and there when you needed them.

We found a great spot to pitch our tent which was in the flight path of the many Tui chasing each other and going from flax bush to flax bush. The last morning we were there I was unable to sleep @ 5.30am so go up with my camera and was treated to a large number of Bell Birds, Tui, Tom Tits & Wood Pigeon all going about there day.

I would definatley recommend this place to others, it was a very central location to go sight seeing. We also went on a day trip with the local postie, Ibby which was arranged by the staff. This turned out to be a fantastic choice as we got to see & hear about the Catlins from a locals point of view and see sights off the beaten track.

The Kitchen was on the small side, but I think that was more of a case of other campers being unaware of people waiting, esp as it was during the busy season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed one night in one of the motel rooms here over new year and had a pretty good experience at this facility. We arrived late and had called ahead to let the management know and they left the key and some candy canes in an envelope for our arrival, it was nice to find the candy canes in the envelope after a long drive in the dark. The site is huge and dark but prettily lit with solar lights around the grounds. It was a challenge to find our room in the dark but we managed.

The room itself was adequate with all the facilities needed, wifi, hot shower, TV etc. The only thing was, we found the double bed a little too bouncy for our liking! When one person moved the whole bed bounced a lot and woke up the other - so one of us ended up sleeping on the floor otherwise we would not have had any sleep.

The staff at the reception were friendly and advised us on the best time to visit the (amazing!) Cathedral Caves. They coped well with the lunch rush at the cafe after a morning low tide at the caves.

At lunch, one of our party was not able to eat anything from the menu which had a few items unavailable that day, as he has a seafood allergy and inability to eat lamb. However the hosts kindly provided a bowl with boiling water so he could have some instant noodles instead. Thank you for that - this kind of small detail is really appreciated. The other two of us really enjoyed our lamb burgers.

Some people have mentioned pricing. Yes, it's not a budget hotel, however to be honest most other places we stayed around the South Island were priced similarly, at around $150-160 per night due to it being the high season. We just resigned ourselves to the fact that New Zealand's South Island is expensive to travel in - and budgeted accordingly - especially over the holidays.

Room Tip: Try a chalet if you can afford it - they looked nice!
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Elisirdamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a great holiday spot. The bird life is amazing! We stayed in a cabin which was small but cute and comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean with a nice hot shower. It provided everything we needed. The meals were tasty too, although they ran out of seafood chowder before we got to try it. The nearby walk to McLean Falls was lovely too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews