We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
106
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe ownerlocal produceunique experiencebeautiful placetower housebucket listhis teamone of a kindpeaceful atmosphereevery single detailbreakfast was amazingthe perfect spotgreat chefthree roomsfantastic staycoco mat
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 111 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2015

This tiny hotel, just three rooms, has been created by Kostas, an architect. His sense of style and attention to detail shows at every turn. The "retreat" hotel serves food to residents and is cooked and served to order and with love.
Located in a "Tower House" in the inner Mani, the place sits high on a crag overlooking mountains and the sea. Wild quail and turtle doves migrate through here in spring and autumn and are still trapped and shot by local hunters.
This is a wild, barren landscape with inspiring seascapes and rugged hillsides.
Kostas has made an idyll to be enjoyed by the discerning.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank gurujay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

This part of Greece is fairly desolate and unspoiled and it's great to stay in such a beautiful place. The old tower has been delightfully restored, the view is stunning and the food is perfect. We are architects and admired the details and the furniture. It's a 3 room hotel that would be perfect for a small group up to 9 people. It's very hot in the middle of summer, so perfect for the shoulder season. The food is very good too. There are a few restaurants in around 5-10 minutes drive but we took all our meals here as the setting is so lovely and the food great. Being far from a city, note that the wifi is not strong so you might be frustrated if this is important to you.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, so check out the website. Each has different merits and price.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful location with an amazing view which creates for amazing sunsets near the infinity pool. Service was fantastic! Best breakfast I've ever had at a hotel, which is fresh, local, and never ending (7 course!). Chef Saki was always available to create a fantastic dinner experience while you were overlooking beautiful virgin Mani. A must go for anyone. FYI not children friendly.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AristotleP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

Tainaron Blue Retreat is a truly unique experience. You can easily run out of superlatives of how to describe it. It's a beatiful spot, quiet and peaceful and the perfect place to relax and enjoy the surrounding.

The hotel is a restored 19th century stone tower, respecting the structure and foundation of the original building. The result of the restoration is just spectacular. Rooms are immaculate, the views amazing and the infinity pool even better than it looks in the pictures.

The staff are amazing. Kostas, the owner, and Sakis, the chef, are just wonderful. They completely respected our privacy, but were only seconds away from getting or arranging anything we needed or wanted. Sakis is an amazing culinary artist. The food he prepares for breakfast and dinner is extraordinary. It is all sourced from local suppliers or their own garden and so fresh.

Thanks to Kostas, Sakis and the rest of the team for our lovely stay, we look forward to staying with you again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015

This is one of the best places we have ever been: extremely friendly and welcoming stuff, great breakfast with lots of regional specialities, fantastic view, beautiful design, calm and reposing, a perfect place for people who love to enjoy and who are not in a hurry.

Room Tip: there are only 3 rooms, we stayed in the tower suite with an individual balcony, very lovely!
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank horst1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews