We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fundy Fun”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage from Cove View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from Cove View
Cottage on Outside Hill Living Room with water view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cottage from Cove View
Cottage on Outside Hill
Living Room with water view
Cottage Wood-burning Stove
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Shore Bedroom
Cottage Bay View
View -half tide
Crow island view at High Tide
Sunset view
Hammock/Picnic overlooking bay
Cottage Forest Green Bedroom
Cottage Shore Bedroom-
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chance Harbour, New Brunswick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah R
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fundy Fun”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family had a lovely time staying at this cottage in Chance Harbour. It was a magical place. The spectacular views and sounds from the ocean made it serene. Everyone had a great time and we didn't want to go far, because we enjoyed the beach combing, climbing on the rocks, and just sitting there watching the ocean just where we were. The cottage is cozy and warm. It has a welcoming atmosphere that everyone liked. We plan to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: closeness to the ocean
Liked least: unable to use the tap for drinking and food preparation
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyeds...
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Views, People & Scenery”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We are currently still at the "seaside cottage", tonight is our last night. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay-the people, places and views are next to nothing I have ever encountered. I am actually a little sad to be leaving tomorrow. The cottage has everything you need for your stay-whether its a few days or a couple of weeks. We arrived on Canada Day-Alice met us and explained things and suggested some places to visit and restaurants to eat at. She explained to us to use Calgon with the detergent for the clothes. The water was fine-yes it is salty, but we are at a cottage after all. Alice provided lots of bottled water for drinking. Alice was available for anything that we needed. Her recommendation of the restaurant Baybreeze was spot on. We ate 3 meals there over our 2 week stay. Maria the owner was amazing and the home cooked meals fabulous! We went to St. John and checked out the market, St Martins and did the Sea Caves, St Andrews by the Sea-went whale watching on Quoddy Link Marine. This company offers gift certificates in the event that you don't see a whale, you can come back another trip for no charge. We did this as on our fist excursion we saw no whales and returned yesterday and saw whales. It was an amazing experience. We stayed 2 nights in PEI in Cavendish-another nice drive-going over the Confederation Bridge was exciting as well. The tides coming in and out each day were very cool. We walked the ocean floor and checked out Crow Island. We found sea glass, shells and rocks that were pretty unique. Got amazing pictures from all times of the day with the water at various levels. It was amazing vacation. I have so many memories, the thing that stands out the most is the people. I have never met people so down to earth and willing to help with directions or share stories about their province. Simply amazing!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sound of the ocean waves
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris2267
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“June 2016”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great place to unwind and kick back. Very relaxing being next to the ocean and watching the tide roll in/out. The cottage is located at the end of the road so no traffic and no noise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to the ocean/beach
Liked least: Wooden chairs outside.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawno234
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfectly homey setting above the waters edge with the most awesome views 24/7.”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is truly a setting from a book, it's cozy and comfortable, quaint and modern all in one. The weather was cool and rainy on several of our 10 days stay but it just didn't matter. Hiking through the enchanting woodlands to the light house was something I would recommend to all. On the cooler nights we would light a fire in the wood stove just to add to the ambiance. Windows surround you and looking out at the Bay is magical as the tides are constantly moving in & out. The house is well appointed with all you will need to cook in as town is a few miles away. We used the gas grill provided to cook much of the time. At low tide I spent many hours walking the beach looking for sea glass and shells and rocks that suited my fancy. With a small library of books I found, it was easy to curl up on the couch & read away while the rain let loose. Loved the attention the hostesses poured on us. Alice was kind enough to take me to 2 of the local towns and show me the sights and delights. It really was an unmatched kindness to have your own personal tour guide. This spot was a miracle that we just happened to find and my hope is that you will love it as much as we did! Sincerely, Dawn H. Davis & Cade, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect . . .”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

SERVICE: Marilyn was very helpful when booking this cottage. She provided excellent information and immediately made us feel comfortable with our choice to book. That part was a breeze. Once we arrived, Alice made us feel right at home. To do this she offered the little things; "arrange the furniture as you please, use the grill, the wood stove, please let me know what we can do better, etc." Although we were just renting the place, we left feeling a sense of ownership. It was Alice's welcome that helped us feel that way.

COTTAGE: Outstanding! Yes, the water taste salty. However, given its proximity to the ocean, I'd be surprised if it didn't taste this way! Either way, Alice provides drinking and cooking water for the duration of your stay. I felt clean after each shower. Really, the water didn't detract from our stay one bit at all. It runs strong and it stays hot through the duration of a shower.

The cottage itself is beautiful. It's well kept, clean, airy and charming. Everything you'd need for an extended stay is provided - cookware, grill, towels, washer/dryer, kitchenware, wood, internet, television, etc. Once we supplied ourselves with groceries we really didn't need to leave at all. Nor did we want to, because . . .

LOCATION: If your goal is to relax in a private setting within full view of the Bay of Fundy, you will be hard pressed to find a cottage in a better location. The cottage is surrounded by spruce/fir forest with an understory of bunchberries. The views are stunning and varied. Out the side door is exposure to open ocean. Down the drive you'll find a more tranquil cove that empties at low tide. Moonrises and sunsets are excellent. If you are a cyclist, the roads around the cottage are fine/paved. Running is good and there is a gorgeous preserve down the road for a good sturdy walk. When the wind is up (which was frequent while we were there) you can easily put a kayak into the cove and explore up into the marshlands (high tide). When the wind comes down the Fundy coast opens up for some amazing kayaking. Just watch the weather because outside of the cove it is quite rough.

Really, I can't say enough good things about this place. The only negative is that our four nights felt way too short!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We should have booked it for more than four nights!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBon...
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great treasure hunting but terrible water in the cottage”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed treasure hunting on the beach. Disappointed that the beach was quite rocky and not sandy however. The cottage is lovely and cosy. Stove wasn't great. Hopefully they've replaced it by now. Barbecue wasn't overly large and there wasn't a spare propane tank on site. Luckily we didn't run out of propane. Biggest drawback is the water. When we arrived we found out that we could not drink the water at the cottage. Bottled water was provided but, unfortunately, it's difficult to bathe in bottled water. We felt like we were covered in salt for our entire stay. Salty water came out of the shower head. We attempted to do laundry but all of our whites turned a dingy beige colour and still haven't come clean to this day. We think that ocean water must be seeping into the well. We may have returned to the cottage if it weren't for the water. I was so glad to get home and take a shower with clean refreshing salt-free water. The property was fairly private during the week; however, on the weekend there were often tourists nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Treasure hunting
Liked least: Water in the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you for the review of your cottage stay almost one year ago. So pleased to hear that you (and your dogs) enjoyed treasure hunting on the beaches. Yes, the stove was replaced in the fall of 2015. While we've never had comments such as yours from other guests about the water, we'll certainly take your feedback under advisement and take action as necessary. Water softener is provided along with clothes washing detergent for guests, however we've also not had other guests experience this. Thanks again for your comments which will help us provide the best experience possible for our future guests.
Marilyn and Alice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle B
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“An oasis of serenity.”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything was just as promised. My two daughters and I enjoyed a week of complete relaxation and fun. The cottage was a little piece of paradise nestled in the arms of beautiful pine trees overlooking the Bay of Fundy. Chilly mornings and evenings gave us the pleasure of cozy fires outside and the wood burning stove inside. We visited all the sights to see in the surrounding towns and returned home to explore the beaches around the cabin. We especially enjoyed meeting Alice who welcomed us with open arms and are already talking about going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing