We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilcotin Charm and History”
Review of Chilcotin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riske Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilcotin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Riske Creek B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and recently had the great fortune to start our Chilcotin vacation at the Chilcotin Lodge. Ria's warm hospitality, great cooking and knowledge of the area made this an ideal location as our exploration base. This part of BC has a history that is seldom told but is fascinating including the Gang Ranch, Farwell Canyon, the bighorn and wild horse sheep preserves and, of course, the muddy Fraser and glacial clear Chilcotin Rivers that swirl and mix together near this area. Early Canadian history and current events are teaming in this area but not always front and center on the evening news until recently with some interesting Federal Court rulings. The lodge itself was warm, quaint and cozy made even moreso by Ria's attention to detail, including a cozy after-dinner tea serving in the parlor near a well stoked log fireplace. It is THE place to stay and a place worth returning to again and again.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are bright and cheery but all the rooms looked nice with eclectic, country decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G B John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

An excellent stop on our trip along Highway 20. A warm greeting, a tour of the lodge, and a delicious dinner made us feel right at home. A delightful departure from the norm. A beautiful view from our room, a library full of topical books and an itinerary for sightseeing that was second to none. Who could ask for anything more? If you are looking for a unique stop along the Chilcotin Highway look no further!

Room Tip: For the view, on the south side. For a little less highway noise, the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having traveled all over the world, NEVER have we been treated more royally than by Ria, the owner of Chilcotin Lodge. She is Dutch and treats you like a special guest in her own home. The rooms are lovely but the public sitting rooms are spectacular . . a warm cozy fire had been built in the fireplace. Her dinner was SPECTACULAR . . 3 thick juicy local lamb chops (from a young lamb so they were especially flavorful), plus perfectly prepared veggies, and roasted potatoes Ria is an accomplished chef . .and her presentation is lovely! The dining room is so tastefully done . . log cabin style, elegant tables, lovely linens, and even a cow's skin rug on the floor. Breakfast was a delight also. NOW, there is no where you will find a nicer facility or a more warm loving hostess. She even made all of our future reservations for us on the Chilcotin Cariboo Trail . . making sure we were taken car of superbly at each stop in the week. She knows all the really good operators . . and arranged for our private grizzly bear cruise with an older experienced guide . . and she arranged our flight plane trip to the falls, the ice fields, and the painted mountain. WHAT A MARVELOUS WOMAN who runs the lodge with her Dutch husband, Henni. We recommend anyone to stay here! We just happened to stop there in Riske Creek . . and were we lucky to have stayed with Ria at Chilcotin Historical Lodge!

Room Tip: Any room at this lodge is WONDERFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotty and Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed for three nights to celebrate a milestone birthday and had a very memorable experience. Ria and Hennie were the perfect hosts ... their timing is so natural by offering amazing good service without being intrusive. They are true professionals who made us feel very welcome and "at home"!

We loved the historic lodge with its history recorded in photo albums and in a library of period books. A perfect escape from a busy modern world; refreshing to have no TV or internet or cell phones to intrude on a get-away. The rooms were wonderful, clean and quiet; a treat in every way.

Ria is an excellent chef ... we so much enjoyed her delicious cooking and food presentation ... and the wonderful bagged lunches for our day trips (in beautiful colourful bags :-) . The birthday cake was a delight!

Thank you Ria and Hennie, for wonderful conversations and wonderful memories of our stay with you. We will definitely visit again. Randy & Norma

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Came back to the lodge for the third time in August 2013. Ria was very helpful in making suggestions for local activities for 3 days in the area. We explored the beautiful Farwell canyon, hiked all over the Sheep Ranges provincial park - and came back every night for a gourmet dinner made from fresh local ingredients. Pretty much every room on the south side of the lodge has a "million dollar view" of the chilcoltin grasslands stretching toward the chilcoltin river to the south. The lodge is interesting in its own right, with a history stretching back more than a hundred years to the time it was a stage coach stop.

Room Tip: south facing every time for the incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to come across this beautiful lodge (& stunning setting) on the way to Bella Coola. Everything was spotless and the antique furnishings were charming. The owner treated us royally and was very helpful with recommendations of places to see on our way. We had marvellous breakfasts which left us feeling well satisfied every morning. I hardily recommend Chicoltin Lodge if not for the charming comfortable bedrooms but for the stunning sunsets we saw every night.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or swimming pool as rated above. I was unable to change it on the compu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose the B&B because of the historical significance and location. Ria is the perfect hostess and a fabulous cook. She provided information about the area and cooked a fabulous baked salmon dinner for us. Would recommend this B&B to anyone

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAT1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilcotin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilcotin Lodge

Address: Box 2, Riske Creek, British Columbia V0L 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilcotin District > Riske Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riske Creek
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Chilcotin Lodge Chilcotin District/Riske Creek, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing