We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful base for exploration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilcotin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riske Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilcotin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Riske Creek B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful base for exploration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Came back to the lodge for the third time in August 2013. Ria was very helpful in making suggestions for local activities for 3 days in the area. We explored the beautiful Farwell canyon, hiked all over the Sheep Ranges provincial park - and came back every night for a gourmet dinner made from fresh local ingredients. Pretty much every room on the south side of the lodge has a "million dollar view" of the chilcoltin grasslands stretching toward the chilcoltin river to the south. The lodge is interesting in its own right, with a history stretching back more than a hundred years to the time it was a stage coach stop.

Room Tip: south facing every time for the incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to come across this beautiful lodge (& stunning setting) on the way to Bella Coola. Everything was spotless and the antique furnishings were charming. The owner treated us royally and was very helpful with recommendations of places to see on our way. We had marvellous breakfasts which left us feeling well satisfied every morning. I hardily recommend Chicoltin Lodge if not for the charming comfortable bedrooms but for the stunning sunsets we saw every night.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or swimming pool as rated above. I was unable to change it on the compu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose the B&B because of the historical significance and location. Ria is the perfect hostess and a fabulous cook. She provided information about the area and cooked a fabulous baked salmon dinner for us. Would recommend this B&B to anyone

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAT1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had chooses the Chilcotin Lodge because it was located just in the middle of our trip from Penticton to Bella Coola.
Ria the owner and hostess welcomed us very friendly and at night she cooked a lovely and delicious dinner for us.
Pure ingredients and with the products of the region. For dessert we had the best cheese cake ever!

The room was delightful, cozy decorated, very clean and you feel the buildings history in every room of the lodge.
Encouraged by Ria, we made a trip to the Farwell Canyon which was worth every minute.
A truly welcoming stay and recommended if you visit the Cariboo Chilcotin Coast, a land without limits.
Ria thank you for your "gastvrijheid", a Dutch word for hospitality.
We will promote and recommend the lodge in Vancouver!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked for the location and highly recommend it for the thoughtful hospitality, lovely and comfortable rooms, good library and the best food you can find. The lodge is perched near the crest of a gentle grasslands hill, with a gracious view of the farm and ranch lands to the south. It is so quiet you can hear the grass sing in the breeze. The heritage building has been exquisitely preserved, with timbers scrubbed and polished. Because it is a century old rooms are smaller than a Holiday Inn, and bathrooms are shared. The food is the huge surprise; it is difficult to find food this good in most cities, finding it in the middle of nowhere when you have the leisure to enjoy it is a bonus worth more than I can say. The meals are not cheap, but not overpriced. All in, this was the best find of a two week journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameraBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Chilcotin Lodge was a delight. We loved its history and
the history of the whole area. We had a gourmet dinner and great
breakfast. The attention to detail by the hosts was admirable and this
old building (1940s) is lovingly maintained. It is a great gateway
to the grasslands, which were stunning. We happened to be the only
guests there, which may have accounted for the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilcotinlodge, Owner at Chilcotin Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear P&D ,

Thank you so much, it was a delight to have you as my guests, fun loving people, please come again.... to " the Chilcotin grasslands"

warmest greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night and were not disappointed. The lodge is like stepping back in time. Rustic enough but all mod cons. Loved the four poster bed.
Ria made us feel so welcome. She was very knowledgeable about areas we should visit. Food was great, certainly not "Pub Food", as stated in a previous review. Everything was prepared and served by Ria and Hennie. They were both so friendly you felt like you were old friends. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilcotinlodge, Owner at Chilcotin Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for chosing our Historic Lodge to stay for your trip to the west Chilcotin.
Great lovely couple to have as guests, thank you Pat and Ira hope to meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riske Creek
0.0 mi away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Eagle's Nest Resort
Eagle's Nest Resort
#1 of 3 in Anahim Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilcotin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilcotin Lodge

Property: Chilcotin Lodge
Address: Box 2, Riske Creek, British Columbia V0L 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilcotin > Riske Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riske Creek
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Chilcotin Lodge Riske Creek, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing