We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kinmel Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kinmel Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here the evening of 15 th December . We stayed in Grace room which was beautifully appointed. The whole ambience of the establishment is friendly and relaxed. The staff are courteous and helpful. The starters were superb the main course good and the cheese board which we had for dessert was fantastic. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
117
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've submitted two separate reviews for the hotel and the restaurant, this one is for the hotel only.

The reason for the separate reviews is that the restaurant blew us away but the hotel definitely did not, thought it only fair not to let one review affect the other. The Kinmel Arms hotel came highly recommended from a number of colleagues, and at £175 per night, our expectations were very high. Things did not start well when we arrived at the hotel at around 5pm to find all doors locked and no answer! In the end, we walked around to the back of the hotel and found an entrance to the kitchen that was unlocked. After finding someone to check us in (the owners son, very polite and helpful) we headed for our room and some relaxation. At first glance, the rooms appear very comfortable and well appointed, but it's not long before the niggles start stacking up. A tiny (15 inch?) television in one corner of the room with a remote that does not work, no telephone in the room, bathroom toiletries in dispensers screwed to the wall (that you can't reach from the tub!), very patchy WiFi, dirty windows, no plug next to mirror (for hair dryer)....I know that these are only minor niggles, but when considered together...just not good enough for the price point. Last, but by no means least, there was no hot water in the room when we tried to have a bath....complained twice but were told that everything was working fine and it had just "run out"!

We made a point of raising some of these issues with the owners, who were very polite, but did not seem surprised or concerned? Such a shame, because it would be easy to fix all of these niggles, and make the experience first class. In summary, if your expectations are not too high then go for it...but if you demand VFM, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Driftwood is on the upper level, but don't expect fantastic views, it looks out onto the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked for a weekend break, was very pleased and would recommend if you want to relax away from it all. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with quality fittings. The food is second to none the bar has a good range of beers wines and spirits. The staff ate very welcoming and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954031Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight break and was delighted with everything. From the quality of the food to the great service and the luxuriously furnished rooms everything was perfect. This is a great place to recharge the batteries and we were made to feel relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from our first experience at the Kinmel arms. Absolutely fabulous! Brilliant retreat hidden away.The room was very relaxing and immaculate with a wonderfully comfortable kingsize bed. Great nights sleep!
The meals served in the pub offer lots of good choices at a reasonable price. Very good selection of wines and fine cognac, which helped with the good nights sleep.
The staff behind the bar are very attentive and helpful, especially James, always good humoured and great smile.
We will definitely come back again!
Teresa and Kev

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visit regularly for a night or weekend away as the food and service are amazing. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very relaxing. It's a brilliant get away from a hectic life. I have always really enjoyed the dishes served, they always have an interesting twist that tastes great instead of being faffy for the sake of it. Lynne and Tim are wonderful hosts, as is James behind the bar and the well trained and attentive waiting staff. All in all a great romantic and relaxing get away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeashmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great room, great food, great location. We stayed in 'driftwood', which is very nice room plus a fantastic bathroom. It was immaculate on arrival. It has a remote controlled velux window!

But there were a couple of issues which we experienced along the way. So, for example, they have an enormous, designer bath, but no bubble bath! What's that all about?

There were no tea bags in our room.

The remote control for the television didn't work.

They ran out of our favoured tipple half way through the meal, which was a bit daft. We then got charged for drinks that never arrived the following day, so do check your bill.

I was kept awake by an infuriating green light on the ceiling in our room - can only guess it was some sort of fire exit aid. If it is, health and safety regulations have been taken well out of context and it should be switched off.

You are expected to serve breakfast yourself, from a kitchenette in the room. It is continental style, rather than full english. The quality of the breakfast was brilliant (great cheese), and we both really enjoyed it. But you are sat there thinking 'This is five star gold, why am I serving myself?'

The balcony overlooks a building site, but the quality of the room inside makes up for that.

And don't book through laterooms.com if you're planning to stay mid week. It gives the impression that you're getting a large discount (£175 room down to £115 in our case); but they offer a room, dinner and breakfast deal through their own website for £195, which is better value for money.

But in spite of all those niggles, it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegetable_Stock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
1.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
12.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel Arms

Property: The Kinmel Arms
Address: The Village | St. George, Abergele LL22 9BP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kinmel Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Arms North Wales offers luxury rooms and exquisite gourmet food set within the stunning scenery that is St.George, Abergele. Ideally situated along the main rambling routes of North Wales, The Kinmel Arms is located just off the A55, 15 mins from Llandudno and 25 mins from Chester. With gourmet food of the very highest quality and four luxurious bedrooms that really must be seen to be believed the Kinmel Arms is a real jewel in the North Wales coastline, perfect for romantic getaways, weekend breaks and businessmen working in the area. The AA and Visit Wales have once again awarded us with a "5 Star Accommodation" rating, while Hardens UK Restaurants in association with Remy Martin fine Champagne Cognac said of the Kinmel Arms" one of the best places to eat in North Wales." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinmel Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinmel Arms Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Arms Abergele, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing