We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, Quite Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kinmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kinmel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Quite Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Another stay in Kinmel, another pleasant experience.
This time in Room 51, huge room very well appoitned, light and airy.
Check in fast and efficient as was check out.
All staff very friendly and helpful,
Didn't eat in restaurant in evening but menu looked very interesting,
Breakfast was fine, help yourself, all typical items for "Full English Breakfast", with scramled egg offered, but no problem to get fried eggs if you ask for them.
This is a very quite hotel as it is off the main road and a long drive way with plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    142
    51
    40
    26
See reviews for
102
228
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torbay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I, along with 2 Family members, stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a Family funeral in Old Conway.
The location was perfect, being set back from the busy road in peaceful countryside with farm land surroundings.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean and seemed newly decorated. Although some areas of the hotel did seem 'tired' in appearance, our rooms were certainly of a high standard .. along with the en suite bathrooms.

We had to dine in the brasserie on our first evening as the main restaurant was closed to entertain a coach party of Germans!
Although the menu was extensive and looked promising - sadly it failed to deliver.
Service was not good as the lady serving behind the bar was also doubling up as order taker & waitress, so although she did her best .....!

We firstly had to move two tables together and relay them ourselves to allow all 4 of us to sit together. When our starters arrived, both leek & potato soups had to be returned as they had a burnt flavour to them - these were replaced with a vegetable/butternut soup which was fine.
Presentation of the main course was poor with the food being somewhat overcooked. My wife and I had risotto which was 'gluey' to say the least and the locally made steak pie was very close to being cremated.
We passed on the sweets and felt that the whole meal was very overpriced for what we had .. costing over £120 to include a bottle of house red wine.

Maybe the chef/staff were hard pushed to fulfill the orders of a full coach party of Germans plus other residents - but provision should have been made for this as all bookings were obviously made in advance.
Comparing the value of this meal to the one we had the following night at Maenan Abbey, which cost half the price ... there is no comparison!!
We certainly would not have dined there on our second night.

Breakfast was, however, okay on both mornings with everything being freshly prepared to order - but we all felt very let down by the quality and standard of the evening meal which reflected badly on our overall opinion of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 & 26 were quiet & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One_Devonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I got married here in August 2012. Our wedding day ran so smoothly. Thank you too all the staff. The kinmel manor is value for money with outstanding service. We had a 3 course menu for the wedding buffet and a spread later on in the evening. They adapted throughout the day to meet our needs. They truly made mine and my husbands wedding a perfect day.
Our room was gorgeous, with a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade the rooms are gorgeous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

beautiful location. The room was comfortable and clean, very comfortable bed, the food was very good and the staff friendly and attentive. Considering that on both occasions I stayed here with a coach party, a wedding was going on, and we were still given full attention and great food. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms to the far left will be quieter if a wedding party are in residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyanne190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Kinmel Manor is an ideal setting for wedding photographs with a long driveway leading to the grounds, sea views and the countryside. The attractive and flexible price range also impressed us. Adrian and all of the staff were superb; their preparation, planning and hard work ensured that our day was perfect and relaxed. Between viewing/booking the venue and the wedding day we were able to visit and tour as often as we wished and ask as many questions as we liked. The ballroom was perfect for our layout as everyone could see the top table and hear the speeches. The staff were also flexible with our table plans and last minute changes. It really is a venue for all ages; everyone enjoyed their peaceful stay in the hotel and the rooms were excellent. Considering that we had over 100 guests for the wedding breakfast and evening buffet we had so many comments about how hot and delicious the food was (as it always is).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip to St Asaph with 3 colleagues. We all had single superior rooms which had the most amazing showers, better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in, the bathroom even appeared to have under floor heating!

The staff were very professional, friendly and ever so helpful and both the evening meal and breakfast were superb.

We didn’t use the leisure facilities, but we did take a glance at them and despite looking clean they did look a bit dated and not overly welcoming but the high standard of accommodation, food and staff more than made up for this.

If we’re ever in that neck of the wood on business again, we know where we’ll be staying!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely, although note for couples it was twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of 7 of us stayed as part of an Offas Dyke walk. Hotel not pretty outside but nicely done inside. Rooms a good size. Lots of hot water
As usual staff makes all the difference and the whole team were fantastic. Very relaxed with a "can do " attitude. Always trying to find a way to accommodate requests rather than the easy no. Probably shouldn't highlight onr person but Adrian was excellent in a quiet efficient wayfood good and dog friendly. Perfect for all kinds of visitors and definitely for walkers looking for a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel

Property: The Kinmel
Address: St. George Road, Abergele LL22 9AS, Wales (Formerly Kinmel Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kinmel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel & Kinspa is a luxury Spa Hotel set in the beautiful Welsh countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Kinmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Manor Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Abergele, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing