We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, fantastic bathroom.”
Review of The Kinmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kinmel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed one night on business, midweek. Hotel is very pleasant and staff were very nice and helpful. Got upgraded to a double room, which was nice and pleasant with a good size TV and plenty of space. The bathroom was out of this world, amongst the best of any hotel ive ever stayed in. Didnt eat, because of other pre made arrangements but restaurant looked very nice. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeaky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 634 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Arrived here just before midday the lady at reception was really helpful and got us into our room there and then even changing us round to suit. The room was very good although the pool area looked a bit tired but it was okay. I had a walk into town which is about twenty minutes away, turn right out of the drive then there is a path that leads you to some playing fields which are used by the High School. I know this because the last time I set foot on them about 34 years ago I was sent off! Town is just the other side of the fields. We stayed for a 50th at the hotel the room used was great and buffet fine all the staff were very helpful and there was even real ale. Not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A friend chose this venue for a meal and there were about 12 of us in all. We were the only people dining. The food was decidedly average which we all agreed, and doesn't come with vegetables unless you order them separately, which we hadn't. As it was a 'work's do' my friend had pre booked the meals and none of us knew that they would be without veg. We were all quite surprised though that when she booked all those veg-less meals over the phone this wasn't pointed out to her. We asked if we could have some vegetables with the meals and a less than friendly waiter (actually he had a bit of an attitude which several of my colleagues commented on) sorted this out for us. To be fair they did then bring lots of potatoes and vegetables and we weren't charged. Also, all the waitresses were very courteous and professional.
A three course meal was just short of £30 which would have been very reasonable had the food been anything to write home about. I would recommend the scallops to start but after that...well we all had different meals and no one was that impressed. One colleague had the duck in blackbean sauce which she did say was lovely but wished it had come with some noodles or rice, as having eaten the duck (and peppers) she was left with lots of lovely sauce sloshing around her plate. We guessed that like the vegetables, they too came separately. A lesson learned.
Had the company I was in not been fabulous the surroundings, food and atmosphere would have left me very disheartened...but hey the toilets were nice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We travelled with a coach party for an overnight stay. Signage to the rooms was not very clear and we found our room with difficulty after asking somebody. Evening meal was good and so was the service. Bedroom and bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was a little disappointing with bacon, sausage, scrambled egg and mushy tinned tomatoes. Very limited selection of cereals and no fruit or yoghourt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Some reviewers must have been staying at a different hotel. Dont Go. The swimming pool and changing areas are disgusting. If you are not going to a wedding, dont stay here. The noise from drunken partygoers continues into the early hours. Find another hotel. Shocking place

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mardibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed at the Kinmel manor a few times whilst away on business and it was by chance i initially found the place.

The deluxe rooms are fine and always clean and the staff are ALL friendly and very helpful. The use of the gym and swimming pool is included and are of a decent standard.

The brasserie attached to the Hotel serves some of the best food i have eaten in any Hotel and comes at a very reasonable price.

All in all an excellent hotel, great staff and very reasonable price.

I will continue to go back when i visit the North Wales area on business.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have flat screen tvs and are recently refurbished to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levis0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Took family and friends for dinner for our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The food was absolutely superb , the staff were most helpful and the service was excellent.

We would thoroughly recommend visiting the Seasons Restaurant, whether it be for a lunch, dinner of a special occassion - you would not find better in this area.

Also, value for money, we could not fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
10.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,692 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
712 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
567 reviews
24.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel

Address: Kinmel Manor Lodge St. George Road, Abergele LL22 9AS, Wales (Formerly Kinmel Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Price Range: $120 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kinmel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel & Kinspa is a luxury Spa Hotel set in the beautiful Welsh countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kinmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Manor Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Abergele, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing