We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Kinmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kinmel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Took family and friends for dinner for our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The food was absolutely superb , the staff were most helpful and the service was excellent.

We would thoroughly recommend visiting the Seasons Restaurant, whether it be for a lunch, dinner of a special occassion - you would not find better in this area.

Also, value for money, we could not fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 646 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Very well positioned with excellent parking facillites- the staff were helpful and very friendly- the room a little lack lustre but comfortable with good ensuite.
We had dinner there and the food was quite outstanding- probably the best hotel restaurant we have been to in years- breakfast was also brilliant - everything so fresh and appetising- we have since heard from friends that is well known locally for consistently good food.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundabout23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I've been coming to the Kinmel Manor for years now and have seen the place grow and grow into what is now a fantastic hotel. I travel all over the world with work and pleasure and always love coming back to this picture postcard gem in the country.

My last visit was 18 June 11 and was not disappointed. It was a beautiful day and there was a wedding going on as i arrived which looked amazing with the photos being taken on the lawn infront of the hotel by the old oak tree. I've been to a wedding at the hotel before and it was superb from start to finish. An ideal location with everything you need.

It was the first time i had been since the reception had been completely refurbished and it looked great combining the old Welsh fireplace with modern white marble floors and leather sofas.

I was shown to my room by the always lovely staff on reception to a newly refurbished room which must have had the biggest 4 poster bed in Wales and beautifully appointed bathroom.

I always love going to see the huge old fireplace in the restaurant which gives the feel of a stately home. magnificent!! After spending the day at newborough beach on Anglesey i came back to my favourite main course of Lamb Henry in the Seasons Brasserie in the front of the hotel and managed to polish off a few gin and tonics with the manger and his staff making excellent company.

Waking up to a swim and a hottub before breakfast is a great way to start the day followed by coffee and a paper overlooking the Welsh coast and country side.

Cant wait to go back and hopefully stay a bit longer than a night next time.

A must stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

when we were shown to our room which was pleasant we were told breakfast would be put in the fridge for the following morning. I asked could we have a cooked breakfast and was told this is what is happening this weekend. For the price of the room and the very mediocre breakfast we received I felt that as had spent over 300 pounds including dinner in the evening somewhat "cheated" at our experience. There was no owner around the following morning and it was quite clear when I went in to pay in the bar that as I had also negotiated a better rate - I was still paying the high price for a fridge breakfast. Would not rush back to the Kinmel - Meal in the evening I would give 4/10

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We booked the Kinmel Manor for a large charity event - the service was excellent, the staff were really attentive & helped beyond expectations.
The ballroom is newly updated and spacious - the new bar is gorgeous!
Our room was newly refurbished with a large ensuite biggest shower ever!
Breakfast was great & the service prompt.
I can't hank Tom & the team enough for their help - we are so happy we have already booked them for next years event!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed for just the one night with our daughter and son in law, as a quick bank holiday break. I booked a normal room and got the both for £75 each room B&B.
The rooms were spacious and clean, nothing fancy but very acceptable. The bathroom was a bit dated, but again clean and functional.
The breakfast was very good with both full English and continental available, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Never had a chance to use the pool facilities and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyScat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Visited the Kinmel manor and I have to say I was very impressed. After reading so many negative reviews i found it a great place! Friendly staff an lovely food. It was great to be able to unwind in such a relaxing environment. I will definatly be back and have already recommened it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lailalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
10.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
4 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
4.9 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
384 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel

Address: Kinmel Manor Lodge St. George Road, Abergele LL22 9AS, Wales (Formerly Kinmel Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Price Range: $120 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kinmel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel & Kinspa is a luxury Spa Hotel set in the beautiful Welsh countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kinmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Manor Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Abergele, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing