We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Finca Es Castell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Es Castell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caimari
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a truly 'away from it all' Finca Hotel in idyllic surroundings. It is positioned within easy reach of some of the most magnificent scenery in Mallorca. It also enjoys wonderful views of that scenery.It is somewhat remote and the bumpy roads leading to it are in keeping! We did not find it easy to locate.
Arrival reveals a most beautiful old building complex with lots of facilities. The outstanding roof restaurant has fantastic views (although the weather meant we could not enjoy it!)
Our room was large, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The twin beds were comfortable although the pillows somewhat hard. The bathroom had very good high quality fixtures and fittings, plenty of towels (thin) but no heated towel rail, this was not a problem as the towels were changed on a daily basis.
The room was kept supplied with bottles of water. Tea, coffee and cakes were freely availble at all times near the swimming pool.
Breakfast comprised of one of the most extensive buffets I have come across, it was truly superb.Eggs were also available cooked to order.
The indoor dining room lacks the splendour of the roof top one but is comfortable, Dinner is a set menu (but one off changes are possible with notice) The food is of good quality but the meal we had lacked a little finesse in the balancing of courses. Never the less it was very enjoyable.
The owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Overall a wonderful and romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
212
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay at Es Castell was a unique experience that had a very friendly and homey feeling to it. It's a family driven hotel and all staff from the owner to the kitchen staff were friendly and serviceminded. They went out of their way to accomodate for special wishes such as special dietary requirements. The surroundings of the hotel are breath taking; mountains and fields as far as the eye can see. However, be aware that the hotel is far off the main road and can therefore only be reached by car or bicycle. We would give Es Castell our warmest recommendation and return if we ever visit Mallorca again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Another wonderful trip back to Es Castell. A great balance of good food, lovely rustic rooms and super staff led by James our host. The weather did not stop our enjoyment of the hotel and its fantastic situation at the foothills of the mountains and access to walking trails and challenging cycle routes. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dg_clarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place. The location is perfect- surrounded by beautiful mountains in total serenity . The walking is superb all around. The ambience was just right. The swimming pool and the gardens are enchanting and there is so much space outside . You are never too close to anyone- totally relaxing. The staff are charming and attentive. The food is wonderful , very simple , but fine ingredients and well cooked. All in all they have just the right formula for success here. So much don't get I would love to come back soon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anmay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is a complete gem. Set in a quiet rural location at the foot of the tramuntana mountains, but not too far from Pollenca, it offers a relaxed, quiet and elegant space to spend some time. The staff are friendly, welcoming and extremely attentive. The food is fresh and is from the working farm that surrounds the hotel, and is of excellent quality. The wines on offer were mostly local Mallorcan wines, which were superb.
Nothing appeared to much trouble, and as we were cycling we were offered an out building in which to store our bikes, complete with tools and bike stands should we require to do some maintenance, and although the 12% gradient driveway was always a challenge at the end of a long day in the saddle, we had been well warned in advance of this :-)
The pool area and gardens were a lovely quiet place in which to relax and read a book and kept the sun until late evening.
James and his team were able to deal with any request, including early breakfasts and he was very helpful with cycling route advice and had expert knowledge of road conditions and when best to ride them.
Possibly one of the best small hotels we have ever visited - already planning a return trip :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fantastic location!
Good food!
Great hosts!
This is a place where you really are in vacation. Easy to get around with a car, quiet and sublime!
The view is gorgeous, at the bottom of the mountains, feels like you own the region.
Food is good, well prepared and presented. The only thing you don't want is a windy day.
james and the crew is there for you, trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heciu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a really genuine working finca which has been updated & modernised without altering or spoiling it's unique atmosphere. Set in the heart of the countryside on the edge of the Tramuntana mountains & a kilometer from one of Mallorcas most attractive hamlets it has an idyllic location & setting with far reaching views. James the owner has the knack of being very 'hands on' without you realising it!! He and the rest of his charming & attentive staff will do anything they can to ensure that the holiday is a complete success. Food is varied and delicious
Quite one of the best small hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caimari
9.7 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
2.5 mi away
Petit Hotel Son Arnau
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Can Furios Hotel
Can Furios Hotel
#1 of 1 in Binibona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monnaber Vell
Monnaber Vell
#2 of 2 in Campanet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Es Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Es Castell

Property: Finca Es Castell
Address: Calle Binibona s/n, 07314 Caimari, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Caimari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caimari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Es Castell 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Finca Hotel Es Castell, a renovated 11th century ancestral "Finca" Estate located in the foothills of the serra de Tramuntana world heritage site. This small, charming hotel, recently voted as "Spains Best Hotel", offers 12 simple, stylish rooms and suites, featuring traditional beams, exposed stone walls, but with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a five-star hotel. The pool has stunning views, and the hotel, located in 3 1/2 million m2 of its own farmlands, olive groves and pine trees, offers a wonderful secluded relaxing break ideal for cyclists, walkers, families (in school holidays), gourmets, or for those simply looking to do nothing! Come and pay us a visit. James and Paola ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Finca Es Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Es Castell Caimari
Finca Es Castell Hotel Caimari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing