We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a fabulous stay again at this gem of a hotel which is situated in the most beautiful place in the world ... No need to fly abroad when we have such scenery on our doorstep !

There is a new chef apparently but the food was still a real treat. Choice is admittedly a little restricted but as the food in general is of the highest standard then I think it is no bad thing to perhaps choose dishes which wouldn't normally be your first choice in a restaurant. The best example of this was the roast pork that was the only meat option on the Saturday night. I like pork, but I would never have chosen in a restaurant what was in essence just a roast pork dinner. Maybe in future I should reconsider because this was one of the best meals I have ever eaten and by far the best roast dinner I have ever tasted. The crackling and gravy were just amazing. When I saw roast beef on the menu for the following night (apparently Sunday is always roast beef) I just couldn't wait and it didn't disappoint.

A special mention should also go to the cheese board, great selection of unusual cheeses and knowledgeable staff who were more than happy to offer advice on choice, my wife and I couldn't help but return to this night after night.

This leads nicely on to the staff, what a great bunch. Several are European, from Spain, Hungary, Czech Republic and Romania among others, but they have been trained to the highest standard and they were so eager to please that I have nothing but praise for them.

Although offering the the highest standards of service it still manages to feel more relaxed than some hotels we have stayed in and some top end restaurants we have eaten at. Similarly the house is full of character and whilst several of the public areas have been refurbished, other areas of the hotel can occasionally look a little tired. For me this isn't a criticism, I think you have to accept this in a hotel of this nature in the area in which it is situated, this certainly isn't a modern hotel in the City and that is not what we wanted.

We had use of the spa facilities through out our stay and due to the very limited number of guests it was like having them to ourselves. I am sure the same could be said of the golf course which always appeared empty, and although it is probably not the best maintained course in the UK, it surely has to be in one of the best settings. In any event, you won't be queuing to tee off here.

In summary this is definitely 5 star luxury in a dream location, there really is no need to leave the hotel particularly if the weather is bad, but if you do choose to explore the local area there are some fabulous outings within a short drive.

We will be back again next year no doubt and I can't wait !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n111ckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    52
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
76
273
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you want to stay in one location with excellent food, accomodations and service this is the hotel you want. If your room is on the top floor be prepared for climing some steep stairs. Other than that small inconvenience, this is a first class hotel and althoufh pricey, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

On it's own private island, this hotel is luxury, comfort and fun. There's lots to do
and there's a spa for pampering. The food is outstanding and the service throughout is efficient and friendly. This was our 2nd trip to the hotel and it only makes us wonder when the next trip will be. It's a wonderful getaway for a few nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I could not speak more highly of this hotel. Worth every penny! My husband and I needed some time away from work to chill out and we booked quite last minute. We didn't choose the dinner package as we thought we might like to go out for dinner. When we got there, we changed our minds. It cost the same whether you book before or when you get there. From the moment we drove over the bridge, we felt instantly relaxed. The island is beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking. Our room (Rhum) was spacious and so comfortable with luxurious, modern interior. The bathroom was "classic" style and possibly a little dated but it it was fine. The shower pressure was really good and there was a separate bath.
Over the weekend we managed to walk around most of the parameter of the island but not quite all. We saw a few people playing golf and a cyclist went by us but we never passed anyone else on the paths in 3 hours. We were very lucky with the weather. Since it was summer, the flowers were beautiful and there were so many different butterflies which was just wonderful.
The spa facilities were great. We swam in the pool and used the hot tub. There was no one else using the facilities the whole hour we were there - we had the whole place to ourselves! We both had 1 hour long full body massages. The spa staff were so friendly. I actually fell asleep during mine! It was such a nice touch to be able to sit in the relaxation room after our massages too.
The afternoon tea was gorgeous! Such perfectly made delicate cakes, scones and shortbread. The evening meals were delicious - wonderful flavour. I didn't care much for the chicken skin hors d'oeuvre on the first night though my husband enjoyed it. Breakfast was also very good and I think the yogurt was homemade which was a lovely touch.
All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It's the perfect hotel for luxurious rest and relaxation. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely overnight stay here. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The island is so peaceful and we had some lovely walks round it. All the food we had was delicious. I had made a request for a dinner choice in the menu and was pleased when we were offered it as an addition. This was much appreciated. The wine was surprisingly reasonably priced. The afternoon tea was a lovely treat. I only wish we could have stayed longer, perhaps then next time....

Room Tip: Kererra is a beautiful room and vey spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed two nights in July with a group of 16 couples. Beautiful surroundings, nice rooms and excellent service. A lot of charm and local flavor. will go back if in the area. Great location to explore the area with a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaxWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

A nice and professional welcome in a beautiful place that you discover as a surprise at the end of a very long road! The place is full of nice and fine details. The rooms are elegant and invite to a rest, the sitting room with the fire place welcome you to sit down with a nice book and a good drink... You will have tea on the terrace if it is sunny between a Crockett game on your right and a few golf holes on the other side. Peaceful! Before dinner have a walk to the beach through the golf place, beautiful evenings colors.... Excellent dinner with a menu that changes every night.
An effort could still be done in the garden, around the glasshouse on the way to the spa...

Room Tip: The Eigg room had very good proportion... Two windows on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
1.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
8.9 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
12.6 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
16.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island

Property: Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Address: Isle of Eriska | Isle of Eriska, Benderloch PA37 1SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf is situated on its own island on the west coast of Scotland connected to the mainland by a small, vehicle bridge. Only 2 hours drive from Glasgow and 10 minutes from Oban, it offers the perfect location to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Benderloch
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa And Golf
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing