We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stirlingshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned (5hours ago) from a fantastic six days in the beautiful Isle of Eriska Hotel. We found all aspects of this hotel to be first class. The staff were very attentive throughout our stay, always on hand if you had any problems and their knowledge of the island was a great help to us as we had never been to the hotel before. I noted on a previous review that there was a comment that there were too few Scottish members of staff - we did notice this, but found it refreshing to meet so many interesting young people who were clearly enjoying their job and were well trained in all aspects of caring for guests. The food was of a very high standard during our stay and more than met its 5 star rating (believe me when I say we have stayed in many "5 star " establishments and very few of them lived up to their rating)!! We thouroughly enjoyed exploring the Island and to see the vast amount of work that has gone into developing it. It was also wonderful to see young families clearly enjoying themselves doing something as simple as "skimming stones" across the water - not a " I'm bored " to be heard!! Our room was also of a very high standard and it again lived up to its 5 star rating. We did go out and about in the surrounding area but sad to say Oban remains unchanged since we last visited it some 30 years ago! (Scottish Tourist Board take note) . So thankyou to all in this beautiful hotel and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking the back of the hotel. Scenery was amazing and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enetsirhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Eriska on Trip Advisor. After nearly 40 years we get the greatest pelasure form seeing others enjoy the island and I especially enjoy seeing young families partaking in activities that I enjoyed as a young boy growing up here, such as skimming stones, jumping in puddles and generally exploring the island. However now the indoor facilities offer even more if the weather changes and whilst the rest of Britian was soaked during your stay you were lucky enough to enjoy a drier period here at Eriska.

than you also for mentioning the team here, who wore tirelessly to make guetsst stays memorable and enjoyable. Whilst the majority of the the team here are from the Uk it is sometimes those from overseas who stand out and this is not always a bad thing as we have always tried to work with the best at looking after our guests regardless of nationality and tis has led to several settling in the Uk and now calling it their home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    60
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
295
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We made the 2 hour journey to the wonderful Island of Eriska and it was worth the trip. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and the interior spaces are well loved. The service was excellent and the food was very "fancy". My kids enjoyed the stay because the staff catered to their needs.
The resort grounds are amazing and we got to see deer and badgers close up. The hotel really makes you feel like you are in a private home and Anne the General Manager pays close attention to all details. The spa was dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with the family to Eriska. Having grown up at Eriska I have always enjoyed the freedom that guests to Eriska enjoy being able to wander and explore the whole island with no areas off limits except those that may get too marshy or wet. Eriska was named after the ancient norse invader- Erik the Red but it has always been known as a sanctuary since themn and still today it remaiosn an escape form the busy bustling life styles we all lead and hopefully tis oasis of calm can remain.
The wealth of facilities both indoor and outside offers families plenty of choice during their stay and we also offer special menus more suitable to growing children and can arrange baby sitters or baby listening if parents would prefer to escape for a few moments of peace and relaxation over dinner.
We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future and will continue to keep Eriska calm and welcoming for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The first suite that we were shown in the grounds of the hotel smelt severely of damp. We asked for our room to be changed and we were shown another suite, this time at the top of the hotel where a previous leaking roof had stained much of the wallpaper. We asked for a reduction in the room rate, which was extremely high, we were told by the owner that we were fussy and he would not reduce the rate and we could leave the hotel.
The staff were very nice but their command of English was very poor. YFor some reason the hotel was unable to attract any UK staff and therefore was devoid of local flavour.
As a top rated Scottish hotel we felt that it did not live up to its expectations and was more like an upmarket B&B

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank GainsboroughLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I am sorry to hear of your experience. and sincerely apologise for the welcome you received and the state that you found the room. Regrettably you must have been mistaken thinking you spoke tom me with regards your situation as I do not recall speaking to anyone regarding pealing wallpaper or a reduction in price as I would have attended to the matter immediately and at least investigated the report had it been drawn to my attention. My aprents started Eriska nearly 40 years ago and throughout that time whenver we have failed to meet expectations we have always strived to improve, turn the situation around and endeavoured to meet visitors expectations rather than simply ask them to move on, hence my inststance that we did not discuss this matter as the reaction you highlight is not our ethos or creed.

There are three keys to Eriska the place those who visit us and the team who work here and we make great effort to insure that those we work with have the guests welfare at their hearts and strive to insure that they receive the best service. it is indeed true that we employ staff from around the world and especially in the summer months when we are fortunate to have many nationalities from many nations staying with us we therefore endeavour to employ a range of employees with a range of languages to help our visitors feel welcome. The majority of our staff are from the UK and I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to meet or talk with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went with high expectations - and they were exceeded.

Excellent facilities and they almost seem to be for your own private use. Secluded scenic setting though in reality just a half hour from Oban.

Food was exceptional - we stayed for a week and the menu changed completely each night, better than several starred restaurants we have eaten in.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cottages - a bit more private and ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Eriska. It is always a challenge when guest arrive with high expectations, as all guests arriving at Eriska should , but it is especially pleasing to hear that we managed to look after you in such a positive manner. I have stated many times that Eriska is a unique blend of three ingredients, the place the team who work here and of course those who choose to stay with us- without whom we would never survive. It is also worth highlighting the role our guests play in creating the wonderful atmosphere and this blend of visitors from before- 6-0% and new visitors 40% combined with an average stay of over 3 day natuarally plays a huge role not only in setting the scene today but helping us shape our future with ideas and comments which we always consider and try to react to. After 40 years if we had not continually evolved we would never have survived and for that reason we will celebrate 40 years at Eriska next June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long ferry journey, what could be better than: a swim, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, a laze in the sun, a Molton Brown shower, an aperitif, a scrumptious meal, attentive and outstanding serves, coffee and liqueurs by the log fire- a perfect end to a perfect day! Top marks for a first class experience- I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMacSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review although we all now feel quite exhausted from reading about all the activities you managed to squeeze into such a short time. Maybe next time you will have time to catch your brreath and enjoy the gardens and island before you dash back to your hectic lifestyle. I will pass on your kind words of support to all who were involved in looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel some time ago and felt the staff were not relaxed. On this visit I decided to have a dinner only visit to see how the experience was but alas felt it was the same

The grounds and drive-in are nice are lovely despite the initial drive past some very old and derelict buildings.

No one was on hand to welcome us at the hotel and the reception is underwhelming.

Dinner menu is very limited,restaurant staff is overwhelming, over the top with two staff per table and more staff than needed. Some staff are what I would expect, relaxed, welcoming, relaxed but the maitre d' was very selective when dealing with guests and not happy at all that I made comment on my main course dish in the restaurant, despite saying that I had already spoken to another member of staff!!! Uncomfortble!
Decor is fine but could be better and enhance this beautfiul location.
I am glad that I did not book this hotel for a staybut hope it improves

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teragram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evenking to the full and we will certainly take your comments on board. Simon and his team in the kitchen work tirelessly to try and crerat an ever changing menu offering the nbest freshest local ingredients- and this was one of the rreasons we won the Taste of Scotland Thistle last year- however whilst every days menu is individually created and never repeated offering anyone staying with us for a week the chance of a different menu every night i understand that it may seem slightly restricted compared to a non chnaging ala carte menu but we do highlight this on the menu abnd offer to create alternatives if guests prefer- this we beleive offers chioce for all.
Eriska as you highlighted from prevoius visits - is now in its 39th year and we have been fortunate to have welcomed guests from throughout the globe and many have kindly returned. given this we have always set out to evolve and change Eriska with the comments from the guests and their input close at heart. Therefroe we value your comments and will endeavour to insure that our team remain avsailable but not overbearing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had dinner (4 course) in this lovely old mansion located on it's own island in beautiful surroundings. The cooking was excellent. The winelist and the cheese trolley deserve special mention. The former for the variety offered, even though some of the most desirable choices were out of stock. We were still able to experience some very interesting wines. And the latter because of it's excellence, the variety and above all else the obvious enthusiasm and knowledge of the person recommending and serving the cheeses. An altogether very pleasing evening culminated in being able to watch two resident badgers frolicking on the lawn whilst we were having our after dinnerm drinks from the excellent bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind response. Simon and his team work tirelessly to first find the best local produce and then to create the wonderful dining experience you enjoyed. Each night the menu changes so that over the course of a week you will never have the same dish twice and it offers a breadth of choice for all. The winelist again is ecclectic is it includes old favouriste of ours and some new wines we have discovered.

However our policy of minimal amrk up we hope offers real value and allows guests the chance to try new wines from around the world. i was sorry to note that we had some wines out of stock but often in order to keep our pirces reasonable we buy small lots of wines and these cannot be replaced directly so we have to change the options. However the wine team I trust offered valued recommendations as alternatives and you had the chance to fine one or two that matched the cheeseboard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
1.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
623 reviews
24.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,456 reviews
13.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
336 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
470 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island

Property: Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Address: Isle of Eriska | Isle of Eriska, Benderloch PA37 1SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf is situated on its own island on the west coast of Scotland connected to the mainland by a small, vehicle bridge. Only 2 hours drive from Glasgow and 10 minutes from Oban, it offers the perfect location to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa And Golf
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Benderloch
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing