We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long ferry journey, what could be better than: a swim, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, a laze in the sun, a Molton Brown shower, an aperitif, a scrumptious meal, attentive and outstanding serves, coffee and liqueurs by the log fire- a perfect end to a perfect day! Top marks for a first class experience- I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahMacSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review although we all now feel quite exhausted from reading about all the activities you managed to squeeze into such a short time. Maybe next time you will have time to catch your brreath and enjoy the gardens and island before you dash back to your hectic lifestyle. I will pass on your kind words of support to all who were involved in looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel some time ago and felt the staff were not relaxed. On this visit I decided to have a dinner only visit to see how the experience was but alas felt it was the same

The grounds and drive-in are nice are lovely despite the initial drive past some very old and derelict buildings.

No one was on hand to welcome us at the hotel and the reception is underwhelming.

Dinner menu is very limited,restaurant staff is overwhelming, over the top with two staff per table and more staff than needed. Some staff are what I would expect, relaxed, welcoming, relaxed but the maitre d' was very selective when dealing with guests and not happy at all that I made comment on my main course dish in the restaurant, despite saying that I had already spoken to another member of staff!!! Uncomfortble!
Decor is fine but could be better and enhance this beautfiul location.
I am glad that I did not book this hotel for a staybut hope it improves

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Teragram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evenking to the full and we will certainly take your comments on board. Simon and his team in the kitchen work tirelessly to try and crerat an ever changing menu offering the nbest freshest local ingredients- and this was one of the rreasons we won the Taste of Scotland Thistle last year- however whilst every days menu is individually created and never repeated offering anyone staying with us for a week the chance of a different menu every night i understand that it may seem slightly restricted compared to a non chnaging ala carte menu but we do highlight this on the menu abnd offer to create alternatives if guests prefer- this we beleive offers chioce for all.
Eriska as you highlighted from prevoius visits - is now in its 39th year and we have been fortunate to have welcomed guests from throughout the globe and many have kindly returned. given this we have always set out to evolve and change Eriska with the comments from the guests and their input close at heart. Therefroe we value your comments and will endeavour to insure that our team remain avsailable but not overbearing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had dinner (4 course) in this lovely old mansion located on it's own island in beautiful surroundings. The cooking was excellent. The winelist and the cheese trolley deserve special mention. The former for the variety offered, even though some of the most desirable choices were out of stock. We were still able to experience some very interesting wines. And the latter because of it's excellence, the variety and above all else the obvious enthusiasm and knowledge of the person recommending and serving the cheeses. An altogether very pleasing evening culminated in being able to watch two resident badgers frolicking on the lawn whilst we were having our after dinnerm drinks from the excellent bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind response. Simon and his team work tirelessly to first find the best local produce and then to create the wonderful dining experience you enjoyed. Each night the menu changes so that over the course of a week you will never have the same dish twice and it offers a breadth of choice for all. The winelist again is ecclectic is it includes old favouriste of ours and some new wines we have discovered.

However our policy of minimal amrk up we hope offers real value and allows guests the chance to try new wines from around the world. i was sorry to note that we had some wines out of stock but often in order to keep our pirces reasonable we buy small lots of wines and these cannot be replaced directly so we have to change the options. However the wine team I trust offered valued recommendations as alternatives and you had the chance to fine one or two that matched the cheeseboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had the most perfect 3 nights at Isle of Eriska, we simply cannot praise this place high enough. If you are wanting to really treat yourselves with comfortable luxury in a stunning and peaceful location, we highly recommend this wonderful place. Here are a few of the things that we will always hold in our memories: the walk around the island is so peaceful and romantic, the scenery is stunning, we saw a golden eagle, seals, badgers and deer; the food is heaven, high quality and cooked to perfection, served to perfection, plus decent sized portions including a selection of 26 cheeses wheeled out on a trolly and cut at your table; the staff are brilliant, professional and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, they are interactive but not intrusive; our room was perfect, beautiful furniture and decor, loads of space but still felt cosy with great views; fresh morning tea or coffee served to your room, silver tea pot, strainer and lovely china cups; the hotel is a stunning building, and inside we particularly loved the oak panelled bar/library, conservatory and cosy seating by the open wood fire which roars all year round creating the most wonderful smell in the hotel; the pool area is lovely and quiet, plus the pool is a really decent size so you can actually swim in it; and finally the most perfect and memorable setting for my boyfriend (now fiance) to propose!! We must thank you all for such a wonderful stay and cannot wait to return hopefully as part of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kererra (I forget the exact spelling), a Deluxe Double, stunny room. Beautiful furnitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind report. Eriska is we beleive a sdpecial place and a wonderful combination of three ingredients- the palce the team who work with us and the guests who choose to join us. However from the moment you cross the bridge there is something mgical for somke about island life and I was delighted to hear that you boyfriend- now your fiancee- chose Eriska as teh palce to propose - it is always a thrill to hear that we have played a part in others lives and thrilled to be able to be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Isle of Eriska boasts one of the world's best chefs (at least in my experience !)
He's Simon Mackenzie and in four nights he entertained us to a tour de force with each night as good if not better than its predessor.

And that was against a backdrop of rain, rain and even more...rain.

Rooms are also excellent and I'm told on sunny days (!) you can walk for miles.

Niggling criticism would be they could do with more than one machine casting clays - it can get very boring for an experienced shot - and the spa and accompanying dining areas could do with an upgrade.

Overall, still well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Lismore - excellent views of the gardens (and at times the deer !)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback. Simon Mackenzie joined us at Eriska just under a year ago and has brough a fresh approach to the kitchen. he beleives in using all techniques avialabe combined with the freshest best produce to create a most memorable dining experience. whetehr it be Langoustines from the loch behind the island simply cooked or a more elaborate Ballotine of Scottish Salmon and Foie Gras, Pear, Liquorice and Mouli he beleives that his team have the ability and skills to insure that flavour and taste should prevail and claelt he managed to succeed for you.
He is also helped not only by those who work with him in the kitchen but also those who work out front to deliver the dishes and most importantly he uses the feedback and suggestions for our guests to insure that we are never standing still but continuously evolving and striving to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a 300 acres island "resort" about 8 to 10 miles north of Oban, with views to the island of Lismore. Deer and badger visit the hotel (the badgers on a nightly basis for their breakfast, provided by the hotel) whilst we also saw seals and "evidence" of otters but the latter proved very illusive and were not observed in person.

This is a 5 star place and the rooms, food and service all live up to that standard. Because of this it is not a cheap place to stay but it is very relaxing, although there are plenty of activities available (plenty of walks, golf, swimming, table tennis and more) if you want to be active.

Everyone from the owner to the cleaners are pleasant and helpful and work hard to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay. Better to have 2 days at Eriska than 4 days at a cheaper place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Eriska. Whilst you were lucky enough to enjoy some summer weather the addition of our indoor hall has allowed guests the choice to enjoy activities whatever the conditions. I noted your comment about the otter with a chuckle as we have just engaged a sculptor to create an otter to be placed on a rock at "Otter Point" so that even if the elusive creatures are not on duty a bronze statue will stand in place! Hopefully word will notb sopread and we will not get the "Badger Union" demading equal rights!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The Isle of Eriska is a real gem - and my favourite hotel so far (and I've been to many all over the world!).

The rooms are modern and give a perfect contrast to the traditional common rooms downstairs.

The staff is outstanding: Friendly, helpfull and really interessted in their guests! That's hard to find nowadays!

The food is also fantastic, and there's always something different to choose from.

There is also a lot of different things to do: Lovely treatments at the Stable Spa, Indoor Facilities like Badminton, Golf, and loads more.

Something very special indeed are the badgers - they show up every evening in front of the bar. Never saw these outside a zoo before!

I certainly will be back but only to stay for more than two nights!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeloo5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you very mnuch for your kind words. Eriska is fast approaching her 40th year as a hotel under the same family hands as and we have been lucky enough over the years to welcome some great guests.many have become more than clients and there constructive and helpful feedback has insured that we have evolved and developed continuosly. Over 60% of our gusts have indeed been before and it is great credit to the team that some choose to return and enjoy all we have to offer. Eriska is a combinatiion of three ingredients, the place, the team who work with us and the guests who choose to join us and without any of these we would not survive and therefore comments like the enclosed mean so much to us all here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
16 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,557 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
13.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island

Address: Isle of Eriska | Isle of Eriska, Benderloch PA37 1SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Price Range: $213 - $1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf is situated on its own island on the west coast of Scotland connected to the mainland by a small, vehicle bridge. Only 2 hours drive from Glasgow and 10 minutes from Oban, it offers the perfect location to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa And Golf
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Benderloch
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing