We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy b and b convenient for Oban”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of An-Struan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
An-Struan
Ranked #2 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Garstang
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy b and b convenient for Oban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Homely atmosphere deserving it's 4* rating. Gary, the owner pays every attention to detail and the ddogs add that extra welcome. Nice lounge in which to chat with other guests. Try the Lock Fyne kippers .

A good stop over for ferries or exploring Argyll.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a most enjoyable 3 days here. Gary, the owner, works extremely hard to ensure everything is to the highest standard and his guests are well looked after.
The house was spotless, and our bedroom very comfortable. Extra touches include toiletries and tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. We were offered hot drinks and home baked scones when we arrived, but did not have time as we had booked an evening cruise from Oban. We found scones left in our room when we returned – a nice surprise, and typical of the thoughtful attitude of Gary.
Breakfast was superb. An extensive menu worthy of a quality hotel, all freshly cooked, with eggs from the owners own hens, home made bread, and all quality ingredients.
We did not get a chance to sit in the pleasant garden, as it rained most of the time !
Benderloch is a pleasant quiet little village, with a general store, garage, and good cafe and bookshop. Also a fish & chip takeaway nearbye. Oban is an easy 15 min journey by car.
We hope to return to this lovely B&B in the future, and wish Gary every success.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us(two couples) stayed at An Struan in Benderloch over easter weekend.We reached quite late around 10:30pm but still Gary made us feel like home and welcomed us. We have been served full scotish Breakfast,home made breads and Eggs with various other options. Beds were really comfortable and cozy. Gary was quite welcoming and wonderful host though it was very heartbreaking to hear about sarah's(his wife) sudden demise. Its shame that we only stayed there for a night as we had to go further to isle of skye and planned to stay there,but nonetheless it was a wonderful stay for us. Rooms were great, really cosy and warm (ideal for the winter nights in Benderloch!) Really good breakfast. Would really recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranvir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night (it should have been 3 but we came home early due to the snow). We were made very welcome by Sarah who made us tea and coffee and gave us home made biscuits and scones. She recommended the Mariners (aka the Glue Pot) for somewhere to eat. It was the best meal we have had while we were in Scotland and not over expensive eather. We were sorry to cut our stay short but It was as well we did as there was 8 inches of snow fell on the Friday and the M6 came to a standstill. Sarah's breakfast was also excellent. There was no noise and we slept very well. Thank you for your understanding of us having to leave early and the very warm welcome you gave us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANSTRUAN, Owner at An-Struan, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our house It was a shame you had to go earlier, we didn`t get the snow at Benderloch, but the roads down to the city did, really bad. We have our specials offers on until the end of March.
Nice meeting you both, and hope to see you again, thank you once again Sarah & Gary Knowles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. I wish it was my house! The room and bathroom rival any hotels and feel so much more cosy because of the little touches Sarah and Gary have added. They are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and clearly love their business. Both are wonderful hosts, full of recommendations for activities and restaurants. Gary's breakfasts are fantastic. All in all it was a brilliant weekend and I would highly recommend An Struan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were 2 couples and the 4 of us agreed that the welcome from Sarah and Gary is great: The rooms are very comfortable,the breakfast a feast and both Sarah and Gary provide you with efficient information on anything you would like to do or see in the area. Easy to reach(close to Oban) yet quiet location.
Would certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Husband & I stayed for 6 nights at the An-Struan & i have to say that it was the first holiday we have had when we did not want to go back home. A warm welcome from Sarah & Gary, comfortable room, delicious breakfasts including home made bread, what more can you ask for. The location was excellent & we were also blessed with good weather. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANSTRUAN, Owner at An-Struan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about our Bed and Breakfast, it makes it all worthwhile, when we get guests that respect our home. Glad you enjoyed the homemade bread, I love making cakes,bread,jams and marmalades.
I`ll leave the serious breakfasts to Gary, thank you once again, Sarah & Gary.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
3.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
2.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shenavallie Farm
Shenavallie Farm
#3 of 6 in Benderloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An-Struan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An-Struan

Property: An-Struan
Address: An-Struan Ceum Dhun Righ, Benderloch PA37 1ST, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — An-Struan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior bungalow situated in the village of Benderloch, 7 miles North of Oban. All rooms En-suite. Four Star grading from the Scottish Tourist board. Guest Sitting room (with Log Fire). Dining room and large garden with picnic tables. Yummy breakfasts served between 0800-0900. There is also a restaurant within walking distance. Close to nearby beaches and forest walks. An ideal base for touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Friendly hosts. Relaxed atmosphere. Home made bread and preserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your An-Struan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An-Struan Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing