We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must go - a real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matangi Private Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matangi Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must go - a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is my new favorite destination! We've been a lot of places and this had a special combination of great people, absolute beauty, a feeling of being totally disconnected from the stresses of everyday life. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Linda and South Seas adventures guided us perfectly. We wanted somewhere that had local flavor and great diving. I couldn't be happier that she suggested places other than Nadi (we did stay one night in a very nice hotel in Nadi, but it was almost a let down after being at Matangi) - if you want an amazing experience it is without a doubt worth the extra time to get there. The prop plane run by island hoppers provided an incredibly beautiful scenic tour of the area.

And now on to the resort.. incredibly well run, not a detail left untouched. The boat ride is enjoyable and you are greeted by a truly talented group serenading you. We found many of the staff members to have a wonderful musical talent and a true joie de vivre. What really impressed us was how friendly everyone was and how genuine they were. It was a really happy group of people that made you feel as though you are part of the family - but with that important balance of knowing how to create a great romantic atmosphere. That's not so surprising from senior staff, but what really impressed me was how friendly everyone was - whether they cleaned rooms, did maintenance or tended the many animals on the island. This was also without the owner present, which is always a good sign of a well run place.

if you love animals, you'll enjoy the 14 dogs, miss piggy, the bats (domesticated), potty mouthed parrots, ducks, pigs, goats and cows. This was a great surprise for us. They did stay away from the common areas, so if you're not into having animals around, you would never have to see them.

Diving was fabulous. How many times do you get to go just with the dive master to see an impressive array of coral and colorful marine animals - Allie is a great source of knowledge and being a conservationist, we really appreciated her understanding of the environment. I even had the experience of a lifetime replanting some giant clams that were likely to be in peril during the next big storm.

Don't miss horseshoe bay - a private picnic with your own beach, bure and even toilet! We spent the afternoon lounging, snorkling, exploring and enjoying the wine and cheese. So glad we went - even though it rained on the other side of the island, it was sunny and beautiful, living up to the designation of one of the 1000 places to see before you die.

There's something for everyone - we didn't go on any group tours, but had no lack of things to do, including just relaxing on the beach or hiking around the island.

Food was amazing as were all of the servers. Bures are perfect. We loved the outdoor shower and the views. We had the great opportunity to experience both the beach front and the tree house and truly can't decide which I like better.

It is not often that we spend what we did for this vacation, but I can say with confidence, the staff, the grounds, the food and the whole experience was worth every penny. We're already trying to figure out when we can go back. If you're wavering...don't hesitate. Couldn't think of anyplace better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoisPD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    17
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
197
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Bula! (hello in Fijian)

My husband and I found a wonderful travel agent, Linda Gutekunst from South Seas Adventures, who guided us towards Matangi for our honeymoon. We told her we wanted a remote tropical location in the south pacific that was intimate and relaxing, but also a place where we could do some great scuba diving and have a few adventurous trips. Being a scuba diver herself, Linda told us about Matangi right away and said it would fulfill all the requests we had... which it absolutely did and more!

Getting to Matangi from the US was quite the journey with a 10.5 hour flight from Los Angeles to Nadi (Fiji) and then an hour island flight to Tavenuni island on an 8 person plane (totally safe and fine, it was amazing to see the islands and reef from the air!). From there we had a driver waiting for us to take us to the other side of the island (about a 25 minute drive on mostly dirt roads) and then a boat was waiting for us to take us on the 20 minute boat ride to Matangi Island. Sounds complicated, but it was all set up for us by Linda and it went flawlessly!

When we pulled up to the island the people who work at Matangi were singing a beautiful song in Fijian welcoming us to the island. It was such a nice way to be greeted! They immediately took our luggage, gave us some fresh coconut drinks and served us a late breakfast. It was an amazing start to the trip!

There are only 14 or so huts and tree houses on the island, so a max of approximately 28 guests. Which was really nice! And no kids, so perfect for honeymooning. Actually, most of the people we met there were either on their honeymoon or else celebrating a wedding anniversary. You felt the love in the air!

We stayed in a beach bure and it was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and private, the outdoor rock shower was really neat and the bed had an a/c box above it and so we kept cool. My one complaint would be the bed. It was a little hard for me and I didn't sleep so well while I was there. And we never quite got the hang of how to use the a/c, so I woke up freezing cold some nights (we should have asked for a demo on that:).

We had an amazing time at Matangi. We spent 11 days and 10 nights there, which was longer than most people. Most people were there 5 days, which we thought wouldn't be long enough for us, but a lot people split up their trip so they could experience two or three locations. We just wanted to relax in one spot, so that's why we stayed longer.

The scuba diving was fantastic! We did 10 dives (5 days of diving with 2 dives in the mornings on each day). Ally and her boat captains made diving so fun and easy! They were always taking our gear on and off the boat, I swear I hardly had to lift a thing. That was really nice. And we saw amazingly beautiful coral and colorful fish and Ally had an eye for finding eels and inverts! It was impressive! We also dove with some reef sharks which was amazing.

I would highly recommend doing some of the side trips. The day at horseshoe bay was the most amazing day for us. We had the entire bay to ourselves and it was incredibly romantic and fun. We could see why it was listed in the book "1,000 Places to See Before You Die" because it was a magical bay. We even saw 2 baby black tip reef sharks swimming in the shallow water there, which was very exciting!

I would also recommend the waterfall hike trip (if you like hiking) because at the end jumping off the cliff into the water of the waterfall with so exhilarating and refreshing. We love that kind of adventurous stuff and it was super fun. The hiking on Matangi Island itself was good, too.

We also did a village tour and loved that as well. You get to meet the chief, visit the school (the kids sing super cute songs to you) and have cava with the women's group of the village (cava is their traditional drink, it's not tasty, but the ceremony is wonderful:). Linda had recommended bringing some school supplies and hard candy to donate to the school and I'm so glad she did because it was wonderful to be able to donate to them. We brought some calculators, stickers, markers, rulers, pencils and hard candy and gave it to the school master. After the kids sang to us, he actually gave them a piece of candy and they were all very excited, so that was neat to see. It was such a great experience overall, the Fijian people are wonderful.

And between all of that we relaxed, ate a lot of delicious food and read about three books each! So a pretty fantastic trip overall! A few things to note, just so you're not surprised:

-The weather isn't always sunny, in fact, it was fairly overcast most of the time we were there, but it was in the low 80s and warm, so we didn't mind. And it was their winter because we were there in June. We asked a lot of people when the rainfall season was and everyone said the same thing, "Whenever it wants to rain, it rains." I guess to the people on that side of the country there's no true "rainy season" - it happens whenever. We had about 4 days of rain at the end of our trip, but it was a warm rain and didn't bother us much. But just don't think it's sunny there 24/7, it's a small island and has a lot of cloud cover.

-The meal times are set up so you eat in the restaurant for all your meals. Breakfast is served from 7am-9am, lunch is served from noon-2pm and dinner from 7pm-9pm. There isn't a party atmosphere on the island, most people head back to their huts shortly after dinner, early to sleep and early to rise. The meal times were very convenient to us.

-The food was great, but I don't know if it's considered "traditional". I would call it "world" food and not necessarily Fijian food. It was delicious, don't get me wrong, but not always traditional (which, again, we were totally fine with, it was very good and they gave you plenty).

-The extra trips, diving and drinks added up quickly for us and it's a little scary getting your bill at the end of the trip. But be mentally and financially prepared for that part and it'll be fine. They accepted US money, Fijian money and credit cards. I would recommend trying to pull out a good amount of Fijian money from the ATM when you get to the Nadi airport because that gave us the best deal. Or bring a lot of US cash. The credit card part is where it hurts because you'll get charged an int'l finance fee from your bank or credit card company and it's not cheap. We paid both ways, wish we could have paid all in cash, though.

That's about it! We loved loved loved Matangi and highly recommend it to people looking for an intimate place to relax, but also a place for some adventures! Matangi has both and to top it off, they also have a wonderful staff that will make sure your trip is as perfect as it can be!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank spaula20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Matangi was paradise. We felt welcomed and pampered and didn't have to worry about anything. There were no children there which was nice as we were on our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach front bure and it was wonderful! I could hear the waves during the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Matangi Island Resort was the perfect place to celebrate our 40th anniversary. We arrived via 747, prop plane, mini-van, and boat ride-what an adventure & worth every minute.

We had read TripAdvisor comments as well as viewed YouTube postings from prior guests which gave us visuals of what to expect. We loved the musical greetings and farewell songs on the beach!

We could not have found a better place to be. We stayed in one of the three TreeHouse Bures. Everything was immaculate, housekeeping provided towels twice daily, refreshed our room in the evenings, fresh drinking water & homemade cookies were placed in the room, and we loved all the fresh ginger & bird of paradise arrangements.

We enjoyed the great snorkeling trips as well as learning some of the aspects of the Fijian culture. The volleyball games with the staff were a hit with several guests
.
Food was fantastic! Several choices were offered for each meal and we looked forward to seeing how each meal was presented and gracefully served.

We loved the waterfall trip and the romantic trip to Horseshoe Bay was one of our favorites-every detail was considered to make the trip special to include fresh fruit platter with homemade cookies, juice & water, and a delicious warm lunch complete with brownies.

The staff was outstanding in their taking care of guests-they quickly learned guests' names, interacted with us and were genuinely interested in our well being. We met Flo & Christine (the owners) and enjoyed our conversations with them-very personable.

We also enjoyed meeting the other guests-many young newlyweds just starting on the marriage adventure. As with most couples on honeymoons and anniversaries, we wanted to just be together, but we also had the opportunities to interact with the other guests if we chose.

We will never forget our wonderful week in Matangi! We enjoyed the quiet beauty, the connecting with "the real world" and refreshing ourselves and our relationship in such a beautiful part of the world.
Vinaka to Kay, Sala, Sureli, Jay, and the many other staff members who made our trip so special!

Room Tip: Try one of the treehouses-very secluded and wonderful amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

A few reasons I love this place:

1. Great diving -- I did 11 dives in 6 days and the dive master there, Ally, is excellent. We did a variety of profiles and I thought I saw much of what Fiji has to offer in the way of marine life. I was amazed about how she could spot the tiny inverts.

2. Staff go out of their way to make sure you are there not to do any work, they take care of everything.... food, cleaning and activity staff are great.

3. Love the Bure -- they are well appointed and they have an ingenious bed system with netting that trapped in the cool air from the AC at night, that was a nice touch. The outside showers are wonderful.

4. Great animal life: roaming chickens, cows, pigs and goats add charm to the island. There is a love for all wildlife -- even rescued fruit bats: JJ is a cutey with wings.

5. Food is wonderful.

6. Free laundry service -- my clothes have never been folded so well, I think we had a third more room in our suitcase going home because everything was so neat.

You will fall in love with this place and the people -- we cried as we left the island and the staff stood on the beach singing the Fijian farewell song. If you are going to Fiji -- stay here!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Beach front bures are wonderful Go on the waterfall excursion -- all their activities are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Amazing staff,
Most beautiful place i have ever been
Plenty too do, or just relax on the Beach.
The Food was really really Good.
Do i need to say more. Best Honeymoon spot ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

As our boat approached Matangi, we could see the palm trees overhanging a thin stretch of white beach, and when we heard the singing of the Fijian welcome song, we had a good feeling we had made the right decision. We could tell that this was the small, intimate island resort that we had researched before leaving the States. The bures were spread out and tucked beneath the canopy of palm trees and divided by lush tropical vegetation.

We were shown to our ocean front bure where our bags had already arrived and were wowed by the gorgeous interior. The bed is separated from the living room by a built in armoire with plenty of storage and ample room for all our gear. The bathroom was also very nice although we would have preferred two sinks, but did appreciate the transom window that allowed more natural light. The adjacent outdoor shower was another sign that we were now in tropical paradise. The bed, pillows and bed linens are always at the top of the list of our requirements, and Matangi did not disappoint as sleep comfort must be at the top of their list too. In fact Matangi has gone one step further with an innovative whisper quiet air conditioner whose sole purpose is to make your sleeping temperature totally customizable. We've never seen anything like this before, but can attest that it really works; and we would have to rate "sleep quality" off the chart.

Our bure, the only non-round ocean front bure, was perfectly situated close to the pool, bar and restaurant and yet we were insulated from any noise from the common area. Our own front porch contained a comfortable day bed which had floor to ceiling privacy screens from passers-by and two adirondack chairs for us to stare out at the clear, light blue water. We used the day bed numerous times for afternoon naps and decided we would like to build one of these at home.

At the restaurant we realized that most of our fellow guests were young honeymoon couples and even though we have been married for I won't say how many decades, we blended in well and had great interactions with them. We felt like we were on our honeymoon too. There was romance in the air. But the absolute over-the-top romantic experience that a guest can do is to book the private picnic in Horseshoe Bay. We booked the morning one where they take only one couple at a time (either morning or afternoon) to a private bure on a deserted beach in an unbelievably beautiful bay. The bure has a table for your picnic lunch which comes with a chilled bottle of wine, a hanging day bed, a bathroom with flush toilet, kayaks, and best of all: total privacy. Do not miss this experience. It was the highlight of our entire Fiji vacation. We followed our private picnic with a 90 minute couples massage at the Ocean Spa back at Matangi. By that time, we were so relaxed we headed back to the day bed at our bure.

Another thing I should mention, is that at the restaurant when you go for breakfast, you place your lunch order and at lunch you place your dinner order. We loved this because it eliminated the need to study the menu at dinner and let us simply relax and enjoy a pre-dinner drink. We enjoyed the fresh fish and seafood meals the best because how can you not like 'fresh' and I mean fresh.

While we chose the ocean front bure, we did get a chance to look at the Treehouse bures and can see why you would pay a small premium to stay in one of them. They are larger (& 2 sinks), have total privacy, and magnificent views. You do have to climb a few stairs to get to them, but we spoke with several of the honeymooners who chose the treehouses and all loved them. Christene, the owner, told us that she had plans to install plunge pools in the treehouse bures as time permits.

The quality and consistency of product and service is probably due to the fact that Christene and her mother both live on site and oversee the operation. The property has been in their family for years and they take great pride in creating an eco-friendly, boutique resort. Their passion and love for Matangi Island is obvious and the culture they have created among their staff cannot be understated. The staff is happy, productive and provides excellent customer service especially Sirelli, who could be described as the concierge or customer relations manager.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matangi Island
9.5 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
9.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
9.7 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23824.6 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
3.4 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matangi Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matangi Private Island Resort

Property: Matangi Private Island Resort
Address: Matangi Island Fiji, Matangi Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Matangi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matangi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matangi Private Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 240-acre private island paradise paradise situated in the Northeast of the Fiji Group of Islands. A small boutique island resort featuring only 9 bungalows and 3 unique tree houses. Catering to adults only, Matangi Island is the ideal couples retreat offering a wide variety of activities including snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, hiking, spa services, and fine dining. Matangi Island's Horseshoe Bay was featured in '1,000 Places To See Before You Die' by Patricia Schultz. ISLANDS Magazine also rated Matangi as one of the 'Best Private Islands'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matangi Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matangi Private Island Hotel Matangi Island
Matangi Island Private Hotel
Matangi Island Private Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing