We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Barn - great place to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rookley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Barn
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Barn - great place to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I am a wheelchair user 100% of the time, the facilities here made it very easy for me to enjoy myself, obviously a lot of thought (and expense) went in to designing this place. It's in a rural setting and so is quiet and peaceful but cos IoW isn't very big, you’re never to far away from civilisation. There's heaps to do on the IoW too.cf

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have had the pleasure of spending 2 holidays at The Red Barn, once last October 2011 and again this June, each time the experience has been peacful and rewarding.
the personal welcome offered is wonderful, and the supply of everyday and luxury provisions to get you started is most welcome. Lots of little surprises that make it all so special.
The Red Barn itself offers fantastic accomodation with all the facilities you could wish for - a real home from home.
Our party tested the facilities to the full including the hire of specialist equipment to support individuals mobility needs. ( 2 of our party were unable to transfer from w/chairs without hoisting) and I can honestly say the facilities and hosts are amazing.
the location is idyllic & peacfull.
This hidden treasure is one people dont forget, many visiting year after year. Once you have visited you will see why. I highly recommend this property for couples who want to get away from it all, families who want to have a peacful setting but not far from the attractions and if you have a disability or mobility is an issue The Red Barn has the facilites you are looking for.
I will return again but need to remember to book early.
Photos will be posted later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice welcome into the Red Barn with a smell of home-made loaf of fresh bread and very lovely goodies follow by The Barn itself. A beautiful and well equipped place to stay and come back as many times as you can. Me and my friends enjoyed very much.Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I have now had 2 holidays at Red Barn and we are going back with family in May 2013. My wife has MS and is now a permanent wheel chair user so finding suitable accommodation can be difficult. Red Barn ticks all our boxes. It's very rural, with the owners own home the only neighbour and are happy to help if you need them. It's level access throughout with 1 en-suite wet room and another bathroom with with full access shower. If you've got kids there's an upper mezzanine area which would suit them. The welcome pack is the best we've ever experienced including some little taster's of Isle of Wight produce plus a lovely fresh home made loaf! The access road could be considered a little rough, it's equivalent to a farm track, but that is the only negative I can think of. There is a tv with DVD player and loads of DVD's a book full of ideas of what's suitable to visit or eat. It's really central on the island so nowhere is far away. Can't speak highly enough of it for those less able.

Room Tip: We used the en-suite room which has electric single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Level access with external doors to every room, two wet rooms with wide doors, electric beds in every room, spacious sitting room with plenty of room for wheelchairs and electric reclining chair. More facilities available for special needs on request. Clinical waste and sharps disposed of for a fee. Every foreseeable need catered for in detail to take the burden off careers to an astonishing degree, even a list of wheelchair accessible taxis and places to eat in the locality, hospitals and pharmacies etc.

Extensive welcome pack means shopping not needed in the first day or so. Very rural location with plenty of enjoyable provision for all the family including level garden with barbecue, garden games, board games, WiFi, television, children's ride-ons etc.

Highly recommended for anyone with special needs as well as others in the party.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveyPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Barn

Property: The Red Barn
Address: The Barn | Blackwater Hollow, Rookley PO38 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rookley
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large stone barn specifically converted for use by disabled visitors. Five profiling electric beds, two wet rooms, accessible throughout, including gardens and decking area. Centrally heated. Free wi-fi. Luxurious accommodation throughout with no expense spared for comfort. TV/DVD players in living area and all downstairs bedrooms, washing machine, dishwasher, tumble drier, etc. Hot tub hire available on request. Beautiful, unspoiled rural location set back half a mile from road, overlooking farmland and woodland, but within ten minutes car journey to main market town of Newport. Red squirrels feed at door. Lots of photography opportunities. Two electric riser/recliner chairs, shower chair and many more items of equipment for disabled visitors. Everything is here for our guests, regardless of their specific needs, but the emphasis is on accessible luxury. See what others say in our reviews! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Barn Rookley, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing