We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Community Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 31, 2009

12 of us came on a community weekend last weekend (27-29 March 2009) - and we had a fantastic time. Deborah and Martin helped us arrange food, walks and lots of other details to help make the weekend a success. We relaxed together in Sheldon lounge and had discussions, ate meals and watched a film in the Long Room. For a small gathering (maybe 8 - 16 people), this is a great place for an alternative luxury weekend in amazing countryside with lovely local walks. Full marks to Wheeldon Trees Farm Cottages for helping us to enjoy a great weekend together.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 738 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

Great place with great people running it.
5 star all the way.
We will have no hesitation in recommending you
Joan and Les Dicker

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I was taken to Wheeldon Trees as a surprise birthday present by my partner...
After being presented with an OS map and set of coordinates I was thrilled when we pulled up to Wheeldon Trees Farm Cottages..
Set in the most beautiful countryside in the stunning Peak District, the cottages are immaculately presented within a lovely courtyard.
As we arrived we were initially greeted by Oz the dog and his very waggy tail, then by Deborah and Martin who really were the most wonderful hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed, which we most certainly did!!
The cottage was gorgeous inside, cosy and perfectly presented. The little touches like a jug of milk in the fridge on arrival so we could make a brew straight away and the table set up with biscuits made us feel so welcome. The underfloor heating was also brilliant, particularly after a day in walking boots!!
Our cocker spaniel, Pickle was also made to feel right at home and Martin and Deborah provided us with a dog towel when we needed to wash her!
I really can't rate this place highly enough.. Fabulous setting, wonderful warm welcome and stunning accommodation..
Buxton is only a 10 minute drive away and Bakewell is around 20ish minutes from the cottages.
The 2 dog friendly pubs we visited were The Pack Horse in Crowdicote and The Anglers Arms in Millers Dale.
The Pack Horse provided us with a really warm welcome and served the most delicious, reasonably priced food. (Their steak and ale pie is exquisite!)... The Anglers Arms has a small room for walkers and people with dogs and serve local ales which is nice, however the food wasn't the best... still, worth a look if you're in the area to have a pint of good local beer!
To conclude, we had the most wonderful stay at Wheeldon Trees.. If you're after a really friendly, warm atmosphere with a plethora of stunning walks on your doorstep then you can't go wrong..
Thanks again to Deborah, Martin and Oz for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We booked all the cottages for my 30th birthday and we had a fantastic time. The cottages were perfect, very clean and really well appointed. Deborah and Martin were very helpfull and really flexible which is a must when organising such a big group! I would definately stay at the cottages again and would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30thBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

A fantastic place to stay in wonderful surroundings, heartily recommended and you can also take your dog for free!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CST1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Martin and Deborah have thought of everything from the accomodation with towels, toiletries, tea/coffee, and milk ..... right through to enivronmental concerns, local food products and dog-friendly features. We loved our stay and even the weather in March was perfect for walking. Highly recommend the Royal Oak for food and drink - Game Pie, Fish Pie and Thai Curry all superb ! We loved Wheeldon Tree and the location is great for walks and short bus/car journeys to the local sites and attractions. We intend to return in the late summer. It's great in Britain ... so enjoy your own countryside !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Very good holiday. I can recommend to anybody. The Cottage was great - well equipped, spacious and clean. The area is fabulous, ideal for walking and cycling. Will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
12.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#2 of 6 in Castleton
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
12.1 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 20 in Ashbourne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: $114 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing