We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a quiet and relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
swadlincote
1 review
“perfect for a quiet and relaxing break”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Beautiful cottage with everything you need to unwind and leave your stresses behind. The owners could not do enough for us, making our stay exactly what we hoped for. This included excellent places to eat, nearest shops, walks and hikes if we had felt energetic and also provided a handbook containing maps, local amenities and places to visit. Very enjoyable and looking to visit again during the year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newhallnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
272
246
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Wheeldon Tree Farm Cottages are an excellent choice for a weekend in the Peaks. The cozy cottages provide everything that anyone could wish for in tastefully converted buildings. The owners are warm and welcoming; and the surrounding country-side is exceptionally beautiful (almost on a par with my native Ireland).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Went up to the cottages to meet up with friends for a 30th birthday party and had a great time. The accommodation was absolutely first rate, each cottage was absolutely lovely inside and quite spacious with all mod cons. The communal "long room" was also kitted out extremely well and could cater for a large crowd, particularly when it came to dancing!!. The place is also situated in a really lovely location with stunning views and lovely walks very accessible to reach. I would recommend trying the local pubs nearby, The Quiet Woman and the Royal Oak which are quite easy to walk to. All in all had a great time and would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Liked — The quality of the finish and the views/location
  • Disliked — I cannot fault the place in anyway at all!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Went with friends for walking weekend. Great location for outdoor activities. The accommodation was very clean, warm, comfortable and well eqiupped with complimentary tea and biscuits on arrival. Meals were available for purchase if required! Martin and Debra were very hospitable and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble! Will seriosly consider going again and recommending it to friends.

  • Liked — cleasn and warm, well equipped
  • Disliked — Size of bedroom and shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We would definately recommend this place . We hired 2 cottages for a family of four and a "family" with dogs.The cottages are beautifully furnished (ours had a stained glass window in the hall and fantastic views) and there is everything you could need for self catering. We went for walks directly from the cottage ,good pubs nearby and very friendly locals. Will definately come back again and bring bikes next time for nearby cycle routes.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank bettysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed at Wheeldon for a birthday celebration for four nights and we were thoroughly impressed. The owners had been helpful with queries before arrival and we were given a friendly welcome.

We stayed in Priestly Cottage and the style was modern yet classic and spotlessly clean. The owners have created a homely feel and nice touches such as the games room with games, books and DVDs to borrow as well as home cooked frozen meals and puddings to buy. We were also pleased to see the commitment to the environment with easy recycling and environmentally friendly products throughout.

There are plenty of walks from the doorstep or only a short drive away. It puts you in a great location for a peaceful retreat but still within easy reach of some great pubs (the Royal Oak at Hurdlow is worth a visit) and lovely Derbyshire tourist spots of Hartington, Bakewell and Chatsworth.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_web
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
9.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
11.6 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing