We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$121
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lathkil Hotel(Over Haddon)
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveler rating
744
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
744
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeborah and martinlong roombreakfast basketthought of everythingunderfloor heatingelectric bikesattention to detailsheldon cottagepeak districtgames roomcooked mealsabsolutely everythinghigh standardroyal oakself cateringfeeding the animalslaundry room
Filter
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 765 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2008

we have just spent a brilliant 4 day weekend at wheeldon trees farm in the peak district. very easy to get to, as only 10 minutes from buxton. stayed with our 2 children aged 6 and 10, with visit from\my neice aged 18 months.
fantastic veiws from the cottage, which was really well furnished with everything you could need. DVD player with extensive DVD library to borrow from. great foodin the freezer to buy for a meal in. games room next door kept girls occupied with table football and loads of games. lots to do within 15 minutes drive. becky aged 6 loved oz the dog, and the chickens and sheep.
couldnt have asked for a better weekend. we hope to return soon.

Thank caroline089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We decided to hold a company board meeting here and take our wives to stay for 3 nights. The hosts are so welcoming and we were able to use the games room for our meeting with a splendid buffet lunch laid on. The cottages are very comfortable and everything is provided. The beds are great (duvets provided), well equipped bathroom with toiletries and thick fluffy towels provided. The kitchen has everything you need, hob, oven, pots/pans, fridge/freezer, even a dishwasher. There are some great places to eat, nearby if you do not want to cook and the prices are very reasonable. The scenery is great, Chatsworth is close, as are Buxton, Dovedale and Ashbourne. For value for money, it would be difficult to criticise this place and the only problem in October was the weather.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Just returned from an amazing weekend stay at this beautiful location, with stunning views out of every window. The properties have all been recently refurnished to an incredibly high standard, and our cottage was beautifully fitted with comfortable sofas, brand new beds, a better kitchen than I have at home (including a fantastic ultra modern knife block), modern flat screen TV and lots of nice little extra touches, including pretty pictures and a lovely coatstand. The owners, who live on site in the nearby main house, could not have been more helpful. They provided fresh milk on arrival and eggs newly laid by their hens, as well as lots of friendly guidance about the local area. They are also striving to make the cottages as eco-friendly as possible - apparently the nearby field has been planted with miles of pipes which provide 'green' electricity for the whole property. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aldonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We were looking for a self-catering cottage that allowed dogs. Found Wheeldon on www.pawsforawalk.co.uk.

Wheeldon's website promised much and, incredibly, our stay exceeded our expectations. Our cozy two-floor cottage, Critchlow, was beautifully appointed -- leather furniture, stone walls, heated floors (yes!), fully equipped kitchenette, flat-screen TV, comfy beds. Soft goods were most impressive: LOTS of pillows, VERY warm duvets (all cotton covers), thick towels, throws on each bed. Delicious-smelling toiletries.

All was clean, impeccable, peaceful, beautifully landscaped (suited to the terrain). Sweet little patio out the back faces west -- maximises the joys of (if you're lucky) a sunny afternoon -- and a small hill, frequently populated by grazing sheep or cows, with views of more rolling hills and hedgerows to the north. Walks literally can begin right from the doorstep -- a nice advantage for dog owners (though one must be vigilant for sheep of course).

Hosts are lovely and hospitable. They've clearly worked hard to make everything not only attractive and comfortable but eco-friendly. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demetroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Went in september when the weather was fine. Ideally situated in a quiet environment. Close to cycling trails. Good accomodation ideal for families with children. Enough space for children to run around and play plus enjoy the sheep and hens on the farm. The hosts were friendly and easily accessible. Will go back again!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank rotiWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews