We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came here as a young couple looking for a warm little cottage in the middle of the beautiful peak district and that's exactly what we got. Deborah and Martin are so attentive and make sure that your every need is met. Gave us recommendations on where to go and some superb little books containing all you need to know about the area.

Had an excellent weekend and I've recommended this to anyone that would listen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 730 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had a geat time at Wheeldon Trees. Really clean, very peaceful and the views around were superb. Would recommend, and will definitley go back. Could not fault it, thanks to Deborah & Martin and all the staff who made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela370_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Wheeldon Trees, this time staying in Walker's Rest. We had a fantastic time, the cottage was really comfortable and well appointed. We were treated as returning friends rather than guests and felt totally at home. The area is fantastic for walking and within easy distance of Buxton and Bakewell and attractions within the Peak District. We were holidaying with our dog, who was also welcomed and really enjoyed both the cottage and the many walks. There was coffee, tea, homemade cakes and milk in the fridge awaiting our arrival, which is welcome, after a long a long journey, and shows the attention to detail Deborah and Martin pay to make sure your holiday is as perfect. There is also a larder and freezer where you can buy milk, eggs and homemade meals, which is really useful when you been out walking all day. We cannot recommend it enough, and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 2 children for 3 nights and have to say was sad to leave! The cottages are perfect for exploring the beautiful surroundings or simply to stay put and enjoy the lovely views. On arrival we had a warm welcome (literally) as we stepped into our cottage there was underfloor heating on which was very nice on a rainy afternoon!
We were impressed with the cottage as it seemed everything had been thought of, from the tray of cakes and biscuits, the torches, hot water bottle, binoculars, literally could not think of anything else we would need. I recommend the breakfast baskets, well worth it and so yummy we ordered another one for the following day!
The cottage was spotless as was all the other areas of the property which included a children's games room with DVDs and books you could lend. There is also a laundry room/stores which comes in handy as the nearest shop is a drive away. Here you will find anything you have forgotten to pack including waterproofs picnic rucksacks and walking poles you can borrow.
I would definitely return to these cottages and would highly recommend them to everyone, especially families with children as ours were made to feel very welcome, there is plenty for kids to do and the cottages are very child friendly.

Room Tip: All cottages looked lovely, we stayed in Elliot which was ideal for 2 adults and 2 children as 1 dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Wheeldon Trees in mid May and though the weather was a bit hit and miss the cottages certainly were not! Deborah and Martin treat you more like guests in their own home than holiday makers and their attention to detail is unparalleled. The scenery is wonderful and you are incredibly close to Bakewell and Matlock.

We had some great days out, particularly at Chatsworth House which is less than half an hour away. The children loved it at Wheeldon, especially Leo who immediately wanted to know when we were going back. He's been telling all his friends about feeding the chickens and lambs.

This break has also made us even more eco-friendly in what we do at home and we now buy the Faith in Nature products that are complimentary on your stay.

The best recommendation we can give is that on our way home we were already planning our next visit! Maybe we'll see you there

PS You must do the Calton Lees car park walk at Chatsworth and stop for tea & cake at Endesor :D

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband, baby daughter and I stayed at Mycock Cottage and couldn't have asked for anything more. The cottage was perfectly equipped and baby items were also supplied (cot, changing mat, nappy disposal, monitor, steriliser) which was extremely useful. The cottage was decorated to a high standard and having our own patio was really nice (not that we used it as weather was not so good). We went on a lovely walk from the cottage and explored some of the beautiful surrounding countryside. Deborah and Martin made us feel very welcome, even doing some washing for us when the laundry room was temporarily unavailable! If we return to the Peak District we would love to stay at Wheeldon Trees Farm again.

Room Tip: Mycock Cottage is fairly small upstairs but was perfectly fine for the 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loosie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here as a large group for a weekend and had a great time! Not a bad word to say, the cottages were lovely and everything you could want or need was provided. Kate looked after our every need and I must recommend the breakfast baskets...they were amazing!! A big thank you to Deborah, Martin and Kate for making us feel so welcome!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ellies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
5.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,156 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: $111 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing