We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kind people, great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We used the cottage because of its facilities for disabled for somebody with very poor mobility. The cottage was spacious. A good wet room and additional aids made life very easy for her. The cottage was well equipped, very comfortable and warm even in the snow. The owners were very attentive without being obtrusive, and helped us out when we were in a spot of bother. There is good attention to detail and the whole property is eco friendly. Thoroughly recommend Wheeldon Trees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
274
253
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

we returned to Wheeldon last week as our holiday break last march was first class. it was a doggy holiday for our Hungarian vizsla who thoroughly enjoyed himself even after a 4hr journey up from Norfolk. Deborah & Martin are fantastic hosts, the cottages are equipped with everything you need for walking which meant this year I was a suitcase less! Can't wait to return. First Class all the way....a definite especially for dog owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Combining a perfect location with beautifully furnished cottages where no detail has been overlooked .The owners have gone out of their way to make sure every aspect of the stay is enjoyable. We loved the breakfast tray and the delicious cake that welcomed us in our cottage when we arrived .
We will definitely return .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we returned last weekend to Wheeldon trees farm and as the title says it just gets better and better. The same very friendly welcome and attention to detail just makes it a cut above many other places we have stayed over the years. Great walking on the doorstep & they even managed to arrange a change of scenery for the Sunday as it snowed overnight and it all looked like the font of a Christmas card. Very dog friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! Top class cottages, wonderfully clean and with every detail thought of - a stocked kitchen, local information, WiFi etc. Incredibly dog friendly too - the hosts, Karen and Nigel, could not have been more helpful, and were very understanding regarding the needs of our dog (to be kept away from other dogs). Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. No need to move the car once you are there- there are many fantastic walks from the door, all planned out on laminated pocket sized maps in the cottage. The breakfast basket and other food from the food store was delicious, and good value for money. Our time there flew by and we will certainly be returning for another relaxing break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise240809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What an amazing place!!... Greeted by lovely Martin & Deborah and a lovely surprise gift for my husband who's birthday it was that day. Stayed in critchlow cottage and it was just such a lovely homely, warm cottage. We took our 18 Mth old daughter too and really toddler friendly. Fantastic location and beautiful views over the peaks especially on the Saturday following a night of snow fall! Loved feeding the chickens and horses. Was just a lovely chilled out relaxing time, very homely and relaxing in a stunning location. Plenty of toys available for all ages and plenty of space to run around if wanted. We ha the brrakfast basket which intotally recommend!!.. fresh bread, local produce- cheese, fresh butter, oatcakes, jams, honey and lovely apple juice.. yummy!!
Local to buxton and bakewell so went exploring and a few walks with stop offs at local pubs.. Bliss!
Thank you for a lovely break

Katie, Gareth & Niamh Collins

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitak64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I wanted a weekend to get away from it all, noisy neighbours, work, etc and Wheeldon Trees Farm was definitely the answer!
We only went for a weekend (one night) away with our 11 month old daughter, but we were still very well looked after. The location and views are perfect to get away from stressfull city life. The cottage (Critchlow) was nice and cosy, with everything we needed and the underfloor heating was bliss, especially as our little one was crawling everywhere.
Since we only stayed for one night we did not use many of the facilities available on the farm, so cannot comment on everything. Our daghter loved the space and the toys in the long room.
Whilst we did not go for any walks I still had a look at the laminated maps in the cottage and if we were staying longer we would definitely have gone on a few of those walks, I really liked that.
The view from the backdoor of our cottage was amazing and it was nice to just stand by the door with our daughter and watch the horses running by and people hiking up to the top of High Wheeldon.
We got exactly what we came for, peace and quiet and a lovely relaxing time. We will go back for a whole week next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellas_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
12.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing