We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Parsons House B&B

Parsons House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parsons House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great, unique experience and amazing breakfast. A beautifully designed building and grounds. Extremely friendly and helpful owner. Look for the sign under the ivy. We stayed one night while on a biking tour of the Peaks area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pillmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'd not stayed in a bed and breakfast before, normally faceless hotels, however the owner of Parsons House got the balance between friendly and attentive with a respect for privacy spot on. Our stay could not be faulted, we were met at the car with an offer to assist with our bags (we were attending a wedding and I had brought enough outfits with me to last a week!) and shown up and settled into our room. The owner was very accommodating enquring what time we would like breakfast in the morning, whether we we had any dietary requirements (me again!) and even providing me with a dressing room... what more can a girl ask for :-)

We stayed in one of the two rooms with the shared bathroom. As the other room was vacant we were able to look in and I can confirm that both rooms have a double bed with room to move around. Had there been others staying I don't think there would have been any issues sharing the bathroom facilities as the bath and loo are seperate so no standing at the door with crossed legs!

Parsons House is beautifully and ecclectically decorated, mixing pop art with the classics and complementing the house's many original features. Wherever you looked there was something to catch your attention whilst a homely feel was maintained throughout.

For me the breakfast was the highlight of our stay! It's not often you get a two course breakfast with a choice of what to have, all made from lovely ingredients and many of which were local. I had a breakfast triffle followed by trout and scrambled eggs which was cooked to perfection.

If we return to Hartington then this will be our first choice of where to stay!

Room Tip: There are three rooms at Parsons House, one ensuite and two with shared bathroom facilities. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've just spent a weekend in the beautiful village of Hartington and stayed at the delightful Parsons House. A little B&B with the best, friendliest service you could hope for. Nothing is too much for the owner but your desire for privacy is still respected. I really can't recommend this place highly enough. Oh and the breakfast - out of this world!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here whilst attending a wedding locally. The owner was easily contactable by phone and replied promptly to messages to arrange the booking and was flexible to accommodate arrival times. The white room was clean, the decoration was very chic, and the unique shower provided an amazing rainforest soaking of warm water!

We were offered our choice of tea and coffee on arrival and were provided with the same in the morning with a polite knock on the door prior to breakfast.

The art deco style was very individual and refreshing.

The proprietor was both available and on hand to provide access to iron board etc, whilst at the same time not being intrusive.

The facilites and style of decoration were amazing, but were topped by the warm, friendly welcome of the owner. In keeping with the decoration the breakfast was unique and fabulous, with a choice of starter and bespoke healthy full english with local produce.

I really can't see where the two terrible reviews are coming from, but if there were problems in the past, there certainly aren't now. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to my family and friends

Room Tip: The White room has an en suite and amazing shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazypierre0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really lovely and unique house, exceptionally comfortable, an amazing breakfast plus free tea and coffee. The hospitality is above and beyond your average. It's location is a tranquil countryside setting but it's set within a village which has all the essentials (local shop, pubs etc) that you might need. Glad i found this place, perfect for a peaceful relaxing stopover, hard to fault and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 day stay at Parsons House. There was a warm welcome from David who brought tea to our room - nothing seemed too much trouble. The decor was fantastic - Art meets Georgian elegance with quirky extras. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable with clean fresh linen. Then there was the breakfast that has almost become a legend. Delicious porridge followed by a superbly cooked breakfast sourced from local ingredients. We will be back as soon as we can to stay at Parsons House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 782AnneT782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Parsons House is a funky, quirky place with great style.....what a find. My girlfriend and I were celebrating a special occasion and this place, along with David's hospitality, thoughtfulness and wonderful breakfast made it even more special. No question, we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
882 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons House B&B

Property: Parsons House B&B
Address: Parsons House Mill Lane | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Parsons House Bed And Breakfast
Parsons House Hotel Hartington
Parsons House B&B Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing