We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Gem”
Review of Parsons House B&B

Parsons House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parsons House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Gem”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed here now two times Parson house is a true gem and David is great , the breakfast is outstanding, I had two of my party who did not eat meat , David sorted out fish for there breakfast each day ,
would definitely come back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My partner John and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Parsons House. We loved the decor and character of the house. Breakfast was first class.
Hopefully will return as I loved the village of Hartington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once again did our September stay,and,once again Parsons House is simply the best.
The breakfast,with its porrige to die for and "breakfast trifle" for starters is unbeatable and the fuul English is the best anywhere.
With its unusual bespoke fittings and furniture,Parsons House is truly the best and David and Ali are the most welcoming of hosts.
Kay and Stan Wimpress

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleywGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

My son and I loved our stay at this great B&B. This beautiful house with lots of character was easy to find, the pub and shops were all within walking distance. Nothing was too much trouble, and breakfast was just delicious. Very very impressed, I'd hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGouldsbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I almost didn't write a review in order not to let anyone know about this place.
The reason for that was to keep it secret just for us.

However this idea won't work as I realise it already has a great reputation and it can't be kept a secret!

We stumbled upon this place by accident and my word, was it a find! Often booked up, we were lucky to get a room.

You must try for yourself. It is just such a lovely house and David is a warm, welcoming and knowledgeable host.

The room we had was on the small side but superb and delightful. Bathroom was great and the whole ambience is cool, stylish and comfortable.

The breakfasts are legendary and I can say with confidence that whatever choice of breakfast you make ,you will be more than happy.

Highly recommended and we will return.

5 stars for everything!

Room Tip: Great B & B at the heart of Derbyshire! You can't go wrong in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Parson's House last week with a fishing pal just for one night. All I can say is a few so called 'Bijou Hotels' i've stayed at could learn a thing or two from the host David and his beautiful, quirky and arty home. Arriving after a hard days fishing on the river Dove he welcomed us with a lovely large pot of tea.....showed us our delightful rooms, asked us what time we'd like breakfast and said no need to set your alarms boys i'll wake you up with a cup of tea....which he duly did the following morning at 7.30. followed by one of the best breakfasts we'd ever had!!!!!Charming host, beautiful house, fantastic breakfast and simply exceptional value for money....we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed here twice and recommended to others. Why? It simply has the best breakfast we have eaten and its quirky ambience and the warm welcome make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
397 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,723 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons House B&B

Property: Parsons House B&B
Address: Parsons House Mill Lane | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Parsons House Bed And Breakfast
Parsons House Hotel Hartington
Parsons House B&B Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing