We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views, perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley
Old Byre bedroom Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley
Old Byre bedroom
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Come and celebrate!
The Coach House
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Coach House
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Enjoy the outdoors.
Coach House
Old Byre
Coach House
Haybarn
Borrow our bikes.
View from the Coach House.
Haybarn lounge.
Coach House
Explore the Manifold Trail on our bikes!
Haybarn master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ClareHH
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views, perfect location”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

These cottages were extremely comfortable and well presented and the views were incomparably beautiful. There are plenty of walks in the area, many of which are possible with a buggy and small children in tow. We had some delicious meals outside and it was a wonderful place to spend time with friends. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
“Super location”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a wonderful week we had in the Old Byre - stunning views from our very well appointed cottage which provided everything you could need. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and the foodie basket awaiting us on arrival was a lovely touch. Walking trails on our doorstep, interesting places to visit and plenty of good food pubs nearby - what more could you want!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class accommodation and location”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Surpassed our expectations. The Haybarn was first class in every way. Very comfortable, well equipped, lovely location, views fantastic and Chris and Liz were marvellous hosts. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markh3217...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for seven nights at the Haybarn in May 2017. We cannot recommend this destination highly enough. The cottage was clean, well looked after and contained all the facilities you would need for your holiday. The layout of the Haybarn makes it ideal for families with young children. In terms of location, this is an ideal base from which to explore the Peak District – remote enough to feel like you can relax in tranquil surroundings but close enough to some of the towns (like Bakewell and Ashbourne) for days out. Overall, this was a fantastic cottage stay – we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and we felt well rested after our break.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyXtwo
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 5* cottage in a perfect tranquil location ”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say - this is the only place to stay in this area of the Peak national forest. Chris and Liz are the perfect hosts. They have thought of everything to help make your stay home from home. From cheese graters to mountain bikes. This place is probably the best we have stayed in and we cannot recommend highly enough. The accommodation is of the highest quality. We stayed in the coach house which is ideal for 6 people. There are a further two luxury cottages. The inside is modern but also contemporary and in keeping with a beautiful country cottage feel. A wonderful kitchen too which we enjoyed cooking and eating in! The outdoors are amazing. We would love to come back in the spring and summer when we really could enjoy a BBQ and a glass of wine in our private outdoor patio area. Wow - and the scenery...... What a find. Don't look past this place. Also ideal for walking and driving to the many villages, towns, pubs and attractions which can be reached in 5-30 mins. Perfect, relaxing and tranquil and with the nicest hosts you could wish to meet. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream5023...
1 review
“Wonderful family getaway”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely quiet getaway in picturesque surroundings. Chris was extremely helpful, friendly and very willing to share his rich knowledge of the area including some lovely country walks. We really appreciated the additional extra's that Chris & Liz provided. It was lovely arriving to find tea and scones on the table and toys for the children to play with. We have been traveling around the UK for a few months and Swainsley Farm has been among the highlights!

Date of stay: November 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatyF131
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just did 2 nights here for a last minute break, two couples with two babies under 6 months. It was perfect.
Cottage in a beautiful location, owners excellent and super helpful (especially with providing extra bits for the babies ie. cots, changing mat etc).
Cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break.
We will be back for a longer holiday!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing