We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
markh3217...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for seven nights at the Haybarn in May 2017. We cannot recommend this destination highly enough. The cottage was clean, well looked after and contained all the facilities you would need for your holiday. The layout of the Haybarn makes it ideal for families with young children. In terms of location, this is an ideal base from which to explore the Peak District – remote enough to feel like you can relax in tranquil surroundings but close enough to some of the towns (like Bakewell and Ashbourne) for days out. Overall, this was a fantastic cottage stay – we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and we felt well rested after our break.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyXtwo
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 5* cottage in a perfect tranquil location ”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say - this is the only place to stay in this area of the Peak national forest. Chris and Liz are the perfect hosts. They have thought of everything to help make your stay home from home. From cheese graters to mountain bikes. This place is probably the best we have stayed in and we cannot recommend highly enough. The accommodation is of the highest quality. We stayed in the coach house which is ideal for 6 people. There are a further two luxury cottages. The inside is modern but also contemporary and in keeping with a beautiful country cottage feel. A wonderful kitchen too which we enjoyed cooking and eating in! The outdoors are amazing. We would love to come back in the spring and summer when we really could enjoy a BBQ and a glass of wine in our private outdoor patio area. Wow - and the scenery...... What a find. Don't look past this place. Also ideal for walking and driving to the many villages, towns, pubs and attractions which can be reached in 5-30 mins. Perfect, relaxing and tranquil and with the nicest hosts you could wish to meet. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream5023...
1 review
“Wonderful family getaway”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely quiet getaway in picturesque surroundings. Chris was extremely helpful, friendly and very willing to share his rich knowledge of the area including some lovely country walks. We really appreciated the additional extra's that Chris & Liz provided. It was lovely arriving to find tea and scones on the table and toys for the children to play with. We have been traveling around the UK for a few months and Swainsley Farm has been among the highlights!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatyF131
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just did 2 nights here for a last minute break, two couples with two babies under 6 months. It was perfect.
Cottage in a beautiful location, owners excellent and super helpful (especially with providing extra bits for the babies ie. cots, changing mat etc).
Cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break.
We will be back for a longer holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian398
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Cottage for a UK based Holiday”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic views, very well appointed cottage, helpful owners - everything you need for a home from home holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir K
1 review
“A magical escape!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The coach House with its beautiful spacious rooms and fantastic views was one of the most perfect places to stay it had everything we needed for a fabulous stay. I was stuck at the cottage because my youngest had a bug.my teenage boys borrowed bikes and went to exploring. I could have stayed there for ever just looking at the breath taking canvas views. Early morning mist rolled away to reveal a Tolkien landscape which had me itching to paint.Next time I go will definitely take paints and canvas and just stay there although the woodland walks and cycle paths will bacon me too.
The living area is luxurious with fluffy robes and comfy couch.tv and Internet too!!! Thank you very much...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swempo80
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, stunning location - perfect with a young baby”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in the Haybarn cottage in early October. This was our first holiday (mini holiday) with our 9 month old, so we were a bit apprehensive about how he would get on! However, we need not have worried - Chris and Liz provided everything we could possibly have needed. From a cot, highchair, stroller to many toys, changing mats and more... He slept perfectly, which left time for us to unwind with a nice bottle of wine :-)
The cottage sits alongside a few others in the most stunning location in the Manifold Valley, with an incredible view as you walk outside. It was cosy at night, with loads of room, and with pretty much everything you could require (including a nespresso machine)...
Whilst it is in a quiet location, it doesn't take long to get to nearby shops - Hartington was particularly good, with a fantastic village store.
Take a drive to Mam Tor - the car park below isn't far, so was perfect for us and a baby carrier!
Overall, fantastic holiday cottage that would suit anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing