We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT”
other travelers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mbc722014
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Haybarn, a very thoughtful and tasteful conversion.
The location is idyllic, from the moss-covered dry stone walls to the wonderful view from the cottage and large, amply furnished outside seating area. Listen to the birdsong and watch the swallows swooping over the fields.
We couldn't find anything to fault here, and even if we had not been lucky enough to have the excellent weather during our stay we would still say PERFECT.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison E
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Old Byre Review May 2016”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This one bedroom cottage is one of three others at Swainsley Farm. We stayed there for a week and had a fantastic time. The standard of the cottage is extremely high and equipped with everything you can think of and more. The views from the cottage are outstanding including the most amazing view from the bed! The owners Chris and Liz couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted with delicious local cheeses, bread and scones on arrival which was a lovely and welcoming touch. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a lovely comfortable property, spacious, clean, well designed. Chris and Liz have thought of everything one might need whilst self catering on holiday. The welcome basket contained good local bread and cheese, and scones for tea on arrival. The property has wonderful views over the Manifold valley, and there are many walks straight from the door. The local pubs we visited were very friendly and the food was good too; especially at the George in Alstonefield. The scenery of the Peak District is stunning, and especially in Spring, when there are daffodils and lambs everywhere. A wonderful week's holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonk66
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Top Notch Cottage in a Magical Valley”
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As always my wife found this cottage online and she has a knack of finding somewhere special. The cottage was immaculately presented with all the mod cons, and the table of food that greeted us was just fabulous and we had our own private little paddock, although our kids are a little bit too big to play out anymore!! The setting is beautiful, and whilst we have been to the Peak District a few times this was the fist time we had discovered the magnificent Manifold Valley. We planned to walk and cycle for the week and this setting provided us with the opportunity to do both, with the Manifold Trail just perfect for our level of cycling ability. The local pubs offer a varying standard of food from good to excellent (The George at Alstonefield was our personal favourite). Although there are 3 cottages they are set apart cleverly so each has its own private setting, just perfect for an evening beer sat outside. We will be returning next time we choose the Peak District as our destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb quality - outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in October 2015. On arrival, the owners met us and settled us quickly and unobtrusively. After that, nothing was any trouble at all, including hiring quality bikes. The accommodation is absolutely 5 star - very comfortable, warm and cosy with all mod cons. Delightful scenery and walking right on the doorstep. Peaceful, tranquil - just fantastic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Immaculate cottage, stunning location and a very warm welcome.”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Old Byre in late October. The cottage was perfect for us, fully equipped, very neat and clean with an awesome view of the valley from the secluded back patio area. The generous welcome tray was such a lovely treat and we were given secure storage in the outbuilding for our tandem, where other bikes were kept for guests' use.
The surrounding countryside, although hilly for cycling, was pretty spectacular and the walks were equally memorable. We made use of a local pub once but, because the cottage was so comfortable, we were happy to cook and eat in. A super week, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage!”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for 7nights in The Old Byre. Welcome pack when we arrived and a very clean cottage to base our week in the Peak District. The owners pre warned us that they were having some building work done outside the cottage during our stay which was thoughtful and saved any surprises when we arrived. No phone signal-good for some bad for others. Good walking with views straight from the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing