We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manifold Inn
Nearby Hotels
$162
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveler rating
690
297
56
21
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
690
297
56
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubboth nightspeak districtbuy a gift voucherking roombuyagift vouchergenerous portionsnight breakhulme endwalk in showerhuge bedlovely roomshort breakwet roomfull englishsteak nightvery pleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,081 - 1,086 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed at The Manifold for 2 nights from Friday July 10th and found it to be a very nice experience. The customer service at the Inn was good and when we asked to move rooms it wasn't a problem.

If you want to have dinner at the Inn I would suggest to make a reservation as they were very busy both nights and were turning people away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Just returned from a really nice short break in the Peak District, with my husband and two friends. We stayed at Manifold Inn in Hulme End, just outside Hartington and had a very pleasant stay. Old outhouses/ annex buildings seem to have been utilized and converted to guest rooms, as well as a couple of rooms in the main building. Because of this, sadly, the views from the rooms aren’t of the lovely surrounding scenery but of main Inn/pub building and the car park. Rooms are individually (& recently re-) decorated and laid out, so some are smaller than others. Ours wasn’t the largest room I’ve ever stayed in but was fine for what we wanted. Our bedroom was very clean. While the bathroom was also clean it did feel a bit “tired” However I did feel for the rate we paid, our room was what you would expect.
Our friend’s room next door was smaller than ours however and was just that bit too small for comfort; also it had less storage space. Our main gripe was the shower. Our friends also experienced the same problem. It seemed that if anyone else was using theirs in our block the pressure dropped to a dribble and/or the water went cold. Like true Brits we didn’t mention anything until we checked out when the manager assured us if we had mentioned it earlier it would have been investigated. He said there had been a plumber working on our block earlier in the week on an unrelated issue. He assured us he would get him straight back in to investigate. Breakfast was very good and set us up for our day’s walking. The evening menu was quite varied for a pub and with a range of prices. All the food we had in the 3 evenings we were there was very nice, which was great as all you want after a long walk is to meander down to the bar and have a nice meal and a few drinks before limping off to bed! One bonus we had was that the local brass band used the (closed) restaurant for rehearsal on Sunday evening, so we had a free concert while we ate. In summary The Manifold Inn is ideal base for a walking holiday in the Peak District in this price range & we would return if going back to this area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We have read adverse reports about the Manifold Inn at Hulme End and must say it is apparent that the new management have transformed the place. Six of us had Sunday lunch there last week and we were delighted in all ways. The service, quality of cooking and food were all excellent and we shall certainly be returning. We wholeheartedly recommend the Manifold Inn although we cannot comment on the rooms as we did not stay overnight but will certainly consider it in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My partner and I stayed in a double room at the Manifold Inn (which is in Hulme End rather than Buxton, as the address suggests) for a family gathering - in total 13 of us stayed at the inn.

The Manifold's main building is a large pub, serving lots of nice beers and very generous food (priced like a gastropub, but the portions are better). It does a number of special offers, such as buy-one-get-one-free on fish dishes on Fridays. It has a medium sized conservatory at the rear where breakfast is served.
Two old barns behind the pub have been converted into a number of double rooms. All those that we saw were tastefully decorated (I have to admit I loved the colour scheme, neutral colours with plummy and mauve theme - sounds horrid but actually very nice...). All have ensuite bathrooms, and all were very very clean and had nice new furnishings. There were tea and coffee-making facilities, biscuits and water as well as a television in each room.

Breakfast was brilliant, cereals and fruit and toast with conserves, as well as a full english (or anything you can think of along the lines of a cooked breakfast, such as poached eggs, etc). The hosts were very keen to accommodate any combination of breakfast requests.

Only a few things were troublesome during our two-night stay:

* the rooms did get very hot, so that we had to have the windows open at night. In October! In the peak district!
* first evening, showers were brilliant. Hot, high pressure, etc. However the following morning (perhaps because our entire party were getting ready to go out simultaneously) the water went cold and pressure dropped. It did not improve before we left. It is pretty unusual to have tank-linked showers in such a recently renovated building - power showers would not have had this problem!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Manifold and if I was passing through that way again, I would definitely consider staying there again - the bar has a wonderful atmosphere that is becoming a bit rare as village pubs shut down. Oh, and the local "harvest" ale was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZannahDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

The Manifold Inn was in an excellent position for a walking weekend. We found the pub and restuarant to be very good and the food first class.

The room was comfortable, but small and lacking in modern technology.

The staff were friendly and obliging

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews