We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Praise it enough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cant Praise it enough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked a KGB deal, two nights with a two course meal for £79 and were not disappointed.

As stated in other reviews the premises is slightly isolated but this was to our liking, there are places to walk nearby and there are nice views from the building. The Inn is also a handy base for exploring other areas of the Peak District.

On arrival we had a pleasant greeting and were actually shown to our room, unlike other places who point you in the general direction and leave you to get on with it, we thought this was a nice touch.
Due to a bit of building work going on we had been upgraded to a suite (room 10) which we very much appreciated.
The room itself was very big, clean, well appointed and nicely decorated and warmed up very quickly. A well stocked hospitality tray, kettle, big soft towels, toiletries and dressing gowns were provided in the room.
The bathroom was large spotlessly clean and had a bath with a shower over it.

The bar area was quaint and nicely decorated and the restaurant area was equally well appointed. Despite it being February the whole premises was nice and warm.

We had our pre paid meal on the first night and had a good choice from the menu provided for the deal. The food was excellent and the portions were generous...no room for dessert!!

Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, a full English is provided as are other combinations to suit your fancy. Cereals, fruit and fruit juices are also provided. The quality of the breakfast ingredients were excellent and my full english was cooked to perfection...compliments to the chef!

We ate in the bar on our second night, again the food was top class and the portions were extremely generous. The menu was varied and offered a large choice of dishes. The prices are extremely reasonable as well.

The waiting staff at breakfast and evening were excellent, very efficient and pleasant, although they were busy they took time to chat as they went about their duties and are a credit to the premises and management alike.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Manifold Inn without hesitation and would like to return, maybe in the summer when we could take advantage of the outside seating area.

Room Tip: Pick any room..they are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    229
    47
    20
    28
See reviews for
116
534
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a couple of peaceful nights away with a friend to view the Peak District and this place was just the ticket! Our room (no.8) was clean, bright and comfortable with all the amenities we needed - good hot shower, quality linen and towels, tv, tea & coffee making facilities. The room was exceptionally warm with the added benefit of a thermostat on the radiator to control the temperature. Staff were friendly and obliging serving up nicely presented tasty food.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would sincerely recommend this hotel.
ps. When sight seeing don't over look the village of Hartington a mile or so up the road - very pleasant.

Room Tip: Our bedroom windows opened out on to a running brook - not a problem to us (we thought it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

In the middle of nowhere but what a lovely surprise. Wet and windy it was but our reception was made wonderful by the people there. We were made to feel at home and the log fire was very welcoming. Difficulty with our rooms but it was no problem to change, our room was Cody and well decorated in fact the whole place was having a complete makeover. The food was exceptional again well presented and lovely and hot and to top it all the beer selection was heaven. We would certainly go back even if it was again wet and windy, recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a KGB deal and there was nothing to fault. We stayed for two nights with our little dog. The room was well decorated and had everything we needed, tea, coffee, hair dryer etc. The Inn was well decorated throughout and had a lovely feel to it. We enjoyed our two courses in the first night so much so we ate in the restaurant again on the Saturday night. The food was amazing. Really tasty and full of flavour 10/10. We would recommend this little gem. Not much in the surrounding area unless you like walking like us. Perfect little break.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husbands Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Read good reports about this place being refurbished with new management and decided to book in case we couldn't get a table. We were shown through to the dining room at the rear of the pub and I commented out loud that it was empty! In hindsight, I wish the waitress had offered us the option of sitting in the pub part where we discovered after we had eaten that everyone else was eating! It would not have made us feel like we were eating in a goldfish bowl. Also I was not happy with the constant stream of people using the dining room as a thoroughfare to get to the car park or go out for a fag!!!!! The food was good and so was the service though but it could have been better to eat with everyone else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My tame postman and I took a Groupon overnight break to this lovely Inn. The welcome was as warm as the open fire (v warm) and the portions were as ample as the 'Queens' throne which is next to the bar. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. After sampling some of their range of beers, I settled into the Queen's throne for the evening and settled on a glass or two of 'Shipyard' (which, thankfully do not remind me of a shipyard at all).
We took our repose in a beautiful en-suite room and awoke to a lovely breakfast.
A great Pre Christmas treat! Happy Days!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Really impressed by the food and service, everything nicely presented and staff very helpful. We pre ordered lunch as a walking group (23 of us) and had a very pleasant experience. Tables had been laid up in the conservatory for us and even included Christmas crackers which was a lovely touch at this time of year. Great that we could leave our cars in the car park whilst we were on the walk and dogs allowed in the bar area also a bonus

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Property: The Manifold Inn
Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing