We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm not sure where to pitch this review. Arrived friday night to a busy pub and restaurant. The room was basic with double bed and clean ensuite shower. We ate and I would say the food was good. My steak and the fish dish was very nice. the real chips alsop a nice touch. The service was slow but it was very busy. Breakfast was good with the cooked breakfast being well thought out. The kitchen also made us a few sandwiches to take out for the day. The problems started saturday evening when the place was even busier. My curry dish was mediocre with packet naan burnt to a crisp and packet rice to boot. Worse still my husbands lasagne was stone cold. The bat was rammed and the staff ruin of f their feet. Over all I think the room was over priced at 90 per night but I guess thats the peak district. My advice would be put an outside bar in to deal with the peak times and check what comes out the kitchen! The staff were pleasant and helpful and most apologetic!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snail888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wanting a relaxing break in Derbyshire we spent three nights at The Manifold Inn staying in Room 6 which is at the top of the stairs above the kitchen. Although there was some noise after 11pm on the first two nights it was nothing that we could not live with.
However, on our third night, (Tuesday), we were awoken by shouting, laughing and banging at 12.45 am. I got dressed and went downstairs and the first person I saw was Carla, the Hotel Manager, who looked every bit the life and soul of the party. I asked how long the noise would continue for and she replied ‘I’ll turn it off now’. The noise from downstairs then subsided to some extent but continued outside with vehicles starting up, doors slamming, and even radios playing until the last vehicles left after 2.30 am.
On settling our account next morning, I reminded Carla that when I made the booking I specifically asked if the Hotel was noisy, and the reply was that “it might be noisy at weekends but not in the week”. I also asked why we weren’t given any warning of a party and she just apologised. Carla also said that she had to accomodate us in the main hotel building as the other rooms were fully booked but we noticed that most guests only stayed one night. Also, these rooms are also adjacent to the car park so I don’t see how we would not have been disturbed by the noise from so many vehicles leaving until the early hours. After this experience we won't be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank POTTERZONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights ...never again....the whole place needs to be re-decorated and cleaned....colour scheme was DARK!.....on a plus point....Food was very nice....with a bit of thought and TLC...this place "could" be good....shame!

Room Tip: The Royal oak in Hurdlow is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your compliment regarding our food. The food at The Manifold is renowned and we have a great reputation in the Peak Park.

The rooms are painted in Heritage Farrow & Ball colours to reflect the fact that this is a 200yr old inn. I'm afraid we refuse to use Travelodge Magnolia.

Can I also point out that our rooms have been awarded 4 stars by a professional organisation so we must disagree with your comments.

It is a shame that you did not find the courage to mention any disappointment to our Manager during your visit an allow us the opportunity to make amends - rather than posting a negative response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We only called in for a sandwich and a pint but we very pleased that we did. We ordered a bacon, brie and cranberry ciabatta and a ham sandwich. The sandwiches came with a mixed salad garnish with a delicious dressing and perfectly cooked chips - just what we needed after our walk. The bread was fresh and light and the fillings were delicious, could have eaten it all again. We didn't try the desserts because we couldn't decide which one to have and we didn't want to seem greedy having 2 each ! A lovely pub in an ideal position for walkers or cyclists exploring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnGarySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed one night during a boys cycling weekend. The pub has a good atmosphere and is very busy enjoying lots of custom from the nearby camp sites. The pub has a good selection of real ales and a welcoming interior. The food was very good with decent portions. We had both an evening meal and the breakfast. The big plus about the Manifold is its beautiful location at Hulme End at the head of the lovely Manifold cycle trail.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a meal there last weekend and was very disappointed
with the food. It was very poor to say the least and I am
sure everyone else felt the same. I eat in places all over
this country and abroad and to say this is good english food
is simply not true. This place needs a decent chef then people
who know about food would return. The meals were also very
expensive . In Derby and Nottingham we can get a meal for
half of what was charged.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Shardlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

It is indeed a shame that you did not point out any problems to our Manager at the time rather than posting a poor review. We note that you have not specified what meal you had or what you felt was substandard. Our chef is very well known and is one of the best in the area and has over 20 years experience. The Manifold is renowned for its food and we are one of the most successful establishments in the Peak Park. Can we suggest that you make staff aware of any problems and give people the chance to resolve any issues rather than hiding behind emails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

although I have not stayed here I have visited it many times for meals.The Sunday roast is excellent very tasty & generous portions. There is a wide range of keg & real ales,also there is a varied menu for sandwiches ploughmans lunches etc.with plenty of outside seating.Would well recommend a visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
930 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
16.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.8 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#5 of 159 in Peak District National Park
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing