We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

although I have not stayed here I have visited it many times for meals.The Sunday roast is excellent very tasty & generous portions. There is a wide range of keg & real ales,also there is a varied menu for sandwiches ploughmans lunches etc.with plenty of outside seating.Would well recommend a visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    229
    47
    20
    28
See reviews for
116
534
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the perfect base for exploring the Peak District. The rooms were large, well furnished and very comfortable. The meals were well presented and freshly cooked, the portions more than generous. The service was efficient and friendly. We had a few problems with the shower on the first night which I reported at breakfast. This was dealt with while we were breakfasting. Such prompt action was very impressive. I would certainly recommend The Manifold Inn to anyone looking for peaceful, comfortable accommodation in the Peak District.

Room Tip: The rooms in the converted smithy are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateF093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We did not stay here, only dined here but will not rush back. Although the welcome was fabulous, things went downhill from there. I ordered a small starter of olives thinking this would fill the waiting gap for dinner but it took over 20 minutes to bring out a small tray of olives and a further 25 minutes to bring our dinner after taking away the empty olive tray. Was this because I kept seeing the waiter walking across the car park instead of waiting on tables? I could have understood this if the hotel had been full of diners but all those in there had been served and had finished or almost finished their meals. How would they cope if the many tables they had were full? It is a shame that service was so poor and the food was only average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely stay for 2 nights at Easter, friendly atmosphere and a fab Sunday roast!!! The Manifold Inn is set in a lovely location just on the Staffs Moorlands / Derbyshire border a few miles from the quaint villiage of Hartington. The service and food was lovely and the hotel was clean. Hope to visit again in the future, thanks Carla and staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in February 2013 for one night. The food is poor, the rooms are average and the manager is extremely rude. The hotel double booked the rooms and gave two keys out to different parties. The management clearly have no idea how to manage. To see proof of this, just read their arrogant unapolagetic replies to any poor reviews they have been given. Take my advice and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WoodyWoodDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Same party as the other unfair reviews below, so same response given again:-

The Manifold Inn had indeed gone into administration a few weeks beforehand and this was mostly down to poor management not having an understanding of finances. This is echoed by the fact that you were quoted only £7.50/head by the old management which is the cost of a Macdonald's and far too low for any hotel to provide food of our exacting standards. This is why the other quote offered to you by the Charles Cotton was double - it is because the Charles Cotton prices were correct.

The Manifold has a licence to serve alcohol until 12.30 and it would be illegal to continue after this hour. I see that you have failed to point out that some members of your group tried to smuggle their own alcohol into the Manifold which is unacceptable behaviour and unfair on an industry already struggling to make margins in todays climate. Its also a very poor start to the festivities in front of the staff and management.

You also seem to have fallen short of mentioning that there were fights within your group. Indeed the police had to be called and people were breathalysed before being sent home. This behaviour is totally unheard of in our area and we were relieved when the party was eventually over and everyone had left.

We too wish that you had used the village hall as this would have been better suited to your needs.

Alan and Judy worked hard to arrange staff, devise a menu for the very low price per head and honour your booking from the old management and it is grossly unfair to blame them for what could have been a great celebration for all of your friends if not ruined by your fighting in front of other respectable residents and customers.

The "new" Manifold Inn is going strong and already has many great reviews. The new experienced managers have taken the company into 2013 with a fresh and proactive approach and prices / parties will be scrutinised much closer going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

4 of us (2 couples) spent a superb late February Wednesday evening at the Manifold ... snug by the roaring fire (it was -8C outside), great beer and really nice service/hospitality. Although the kitchens were closed the lady manager offered to collect a takeaway for us and serve it at the table whilst we supped away. the pub is in a wonderful location. Go there - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: we stayed at Lower Hurst Farm in our motorhomes - the pub is just 1 mile away. rooms look great fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for a family get together in the nearby town. What a woeful experience. The food was below average, the cleanliness and general appearance of the rooms wouldn't reach two star standards, and the service was the worst part of all. Management were rude and simply unhelpful in every way. There were rumours of a change of management at the time, but this was nothing short of a terrible experience for us. Wouldn't recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tbonetender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are saddened that you have not enjoyed your stay at The Manifold.
The old Management have been replaced since your visit and as you can see from the most recent reviews that the "new" Manifold is a much better experience all round.
The Manifold is a 4 star Inn and is assessed by a proffessional body so we are more than happy with our rooms - and so are our recent visitors.
It is a shame that you did not have the courage to speak to one of the staff during your visit as we would have ensured that any problems were resolved immediately and without fuss.
The new management are very experienced in the industry and are taking the New Manifold into 2013 with a fresh and proffessional approach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Property: The Manifold Inn
Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing