We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for walkers - Beautiful Village, Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Hartington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect location for walkers – Beautiful Village, Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Good value and more quality hotel than hostel. Staff are always around, friendly and very helpful. It has a well run, clean, tidy (well cut lawns etc) everything working vibe with a 5* hotel look and feel… Maybe not the place for you if you have forgotten what it is like to be on a school trip - given the odd party of school children that may be staying!

OK there are hills (from the car park and into the pretty little village) but it’s the Peak District and the walking is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thankyou for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    76
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
55
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

hi,
i went to Hartington Hall for my first school trip at my secondry school. it was amazing my dorm was massive (2). You could do so much like hiking, rafting, cycling and orienteering. it is a little village in the hills also the views are amazing and the locals are lovely. I highly recommend it for a getaway and also a adventurous holiday!

  • Liked — The rooms/ dorms.
  • Disliked — The smell of the goats.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sukhiwukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Hi, I am glad that you enjoyed your trip to Hartington! Hopefully you will be able to come back with your family one day and try some more of our local walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

Hartington Hall Hostel is a MUST !! In fact we loved Hartington and the Peaks. The Hostel check in was smooth ... staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was in the Coach House, which was very quaint and homely. It had a wonderful little kitchen and dining area as well as a TV area. We would have loved to have eaten in the Hostel as I heard the meals were great and they looked very reasonably priced, but we were excited to have a kitchen after a month of travelling.
Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had an ensuite shower.
Management had decorated the Hostel beautifully for Christmas.
... the grounds of the Hostel are great and we parked without a problem.
.... the only disappointing aspect of the stay was that we couldn't stay longer !!
": A great Hostel and a great place " ... if I didnt live on the other side of the world I would spend more time here !!

  • Liked — Everything !!
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeapinLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully if you return to the UK you will pay us a visit and maybe get to sample our homecooked food in Eliza's restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2006

I have stayed at Hartington Hall several times ,the facilities are excellent,overall it is extremely good value for money,we have 2 young children and the facilities for them are very good,it is more like a first class hotel than youth hostel,it is a firm favourite for our family. There is plenty to do locally, the Hostel being located in the ever popular peak district national park.I don't think anyone staying here could fail to enjoy it.

  • Liked — quality and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — The hostel does have someindependant accomodation in its grounds, also rooms in the main house may be better for families,ask advice when booking say what your needs are, as the staff are very helpful.
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank liveinyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

The hall is a Beautiful 17th Centuary Peakland Manor House. It's floor layout plans are in the shape of a H. It is the first time I had ever been to Derbyshire, I decided to stay in a Youth Hostel. The food was excellent and cheap. I would reccomend it to anyone. I would deffinately give it 10/10 rating. I look forward to going again.

The village:
The buildings are mainly built from limestone, the village is home to the only cheese factory remaining in Derbyshire and cheese can be brought from their dairy shop. It has 2 old inns. It has a village church called St. Giles and a post office and lots of B&B’s.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thank you for your lovely review. Unfortunately the cheese factory has now closed but there is still a shop selling cheeses from the local are such as just over the border in Staffordshire. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2005

The Hall itself is beautiful and the staff extremely polite , but the downside of it is the parking. The facilities for parking a vehicle are woefully inadequate. The car park is minute, probably enough room for 12 cars. Then you have a hill outside, packed solidly with cars and buses from top to bottom, making it extremely dangerous to even attempt to drive up or down the road outside. With various dangers such as walkers, ramblers and slow farm vehicles, you take your life in your hands driving up a 1/7 Hill for almost 300 metres on the wrong side of the road against the traffic, with no escape should anything come towards you. We had to park almost 250 yards away, making access for my elderly mother almost impossible.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Deputy Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thank you for you review. I am terribly sorry that you had trouble with parking whilst you were here, if you visit us in the future with your elderly mother and have trouble with access please feel free to park in our disabled parking area at the top of the drive. I hope that everything else during your stay was satisfactory and hope that we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
7.9 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Property: YHA Hartington Hall
Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing