We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Hartington Hall
Nearby Hotels
The Manifold Inn(Hartington)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$121
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parsons House B&B(Hartington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
216
95
18
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
95
18
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelself catering kitchenbeautiful buildingbunk bedsdrying roomold housegames roommanor housebonnie princegiant chessschool tripcommunal kitchenshared roomspeak districtcommunal areasspecial thankslocal village
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 343 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 4 night break -£118 for twin room with ensuite shower - excellent value for single parent family. We were in the coach house with friends and it was like having our own self catering cottage! Mostly catered for ourselves had dinner one night which was good value - kids eat free. However, service was a bit slow.
Hostel has plenty of games you can borrow and large Jenga, connect 4 and bar football.
Highlight of my son's week - Halloween. Staff put on free kids party including face painting, ghost walk and hot chocolate!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalsallEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will return in the not too distant future. I am very sorry that you experienced slow service during your meal, I expect that we were a little busier than usual considering it was half term week but this is no excuse and I will investigate further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This accommodation offers fantastic value for money. A nice character property set in a charming location with loads of entertainment for the children. Good basic warm comfortable, plenty of hot water, edible meals, pleasant staff all come to mind.
Wedding flowers were all the way from Sheffield (Monica F Hewitt) and outstanding.
The Devonshire Arm a 5 minute walk into the village is also worth a visit.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex can avoid noise from the public rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0neybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that yo uenjoyed your weekend with us and hope that you will consider YHA for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous building. It is just out of Hartington village which has a pub and shops for food.the facilities at the hall are great...wi fi, games room meals and bar. Tv and library lounge to chill in. Staff are extremely helpful and nice and rooms spacious.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank haylesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed yor stay with us and hope that you will visit again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to Hartington Hall at half term as a family of 4 in an en-suite room. The first surprise is the exterior - it looks good in pictures but it is a real wow building when you arrive. I was already looking forward to what lay inside...Adam greeted us and was very friendly and lovely with the kids. Our room was in the annex (the Barn) which was a little disappointing but the room was large compared to other youth hostels. The bunk beds were comfy and the view was lovely. It was warm and there was lots of hot water. all good so far.
We had decided to self cater breakfast and the kitchen was well equipped and clean.

After a walk around the local area (stunningly beautiful) we were ready to enjoy what else the hostel had to offer. Two well equipped games rooms to keep the kids happy, comfy sofas and log fires ticked the boxes for the adults. And then the rain came. We had dinner in the hostel on this first night and having read some reviews I wasn't expecting much. Sadly we were not blown away. (My husband said the only thing at dinner that was warm was the wine) but this was the only criticism I can offer of this place.

On the second day it was raining a lot plan B was invoked. The staff were very friendly and helpful - ringing a couple of local attractions to check opening times. The had a fat file of suggestions for rainy days (plan A was to go cycling ). We ended up at Magna in Rotherham which we enjoyed. When we got back we had missed the kids club (yes really!) but when the other children came into the games room new friends were soon made.

On the third day the kids helped to feed the animals in the hostel animal area with the very friendly staff and enjoyed a bit of light tree climbing whilst we packed up ready to head home. We had another enjoyable but slightly damp walk.

The location is wonderful, the staff really helpful and professional and we got 15% off on a half term deal - what's not to like?

We are already looking forward to returning - hopefully in better weather.

Room Tip: The annex has less character but the rooms were large and clean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and very sorry that your experience of our restuarant was not up to standard, this will be investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our family of five stayed for 3 nights during the half term holiday - £143 - including members discount and 15% discount for half term. Fantastic value in a superb location with great walking and cycling near-by. Hostel is beautiful and the staff were fantastic - especially Samantha the manager and Heidi. Kids club was an added bonus for mum & dad!! Definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone considering a visit. Kids loved the animals and helping feeding and grooming them. The nearby Royal Oak pub at Hurdlow is a great place to walk to and enjoy home cooked food of a rather large portion..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobLawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews