We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful relaxed venue for a birthday celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Hartington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful relaxed venue for a birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked Hartington Hall for my husband's 60th birthday celebration. We had visited once or twice before and had been impressed by the venue and by their reasonable prices so it seemed like the ideal place to hold a birthday celebration where I was treating a large group to lunch. We were not disappointed. The staff were really accommodating and helped with all my plans. They provided us with safe storage for all of our bikes ( we had cycled to the hall) and then put on a beautifully cooked and generous lunch for 26 people and even helped me to serve up the cake that I had brought along as a pudding. The young gentleman in charge made an excellent master of ceremonies and helped organise our rabble very effectively. Our friends all commented on how much they had enjoyed the occasion and there were no nasty shocks when it came to paying the bill. Well done and thank you very much to all the staff who made our party run so smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed yor celebrations with us and hope that you will consider us for future birthdays, Christmas' etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
55
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to a lot of youth hostels over the past few years and they are all great value for money and often in stunning locations. This is probably one of the best in terms of location and a lovely old building. Our room was pretty spacious with 2 single beds and an ensuite (which is unusual for a 2 bed room). The staff were fantastic and the food superb with plenty of choice. We used it as a base to visit Alton Towers (about 1/2 hour away) but I wish we'd been staying longer to appreciate the fantastic countryside. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We are very lucky to have such a lovely building and surroundings and are so glad that you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not at all what I was expecting when my boyfriend said he had booked us a youth hostel!

We stayed in 'The Roost' for one night before visiting Alton Towers.

The perfect stay at a fantastic price!! The staff were helpful and didn't mind our late arrival.

Room Tip: The Roost was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our suite 'The Roost'. I hope that you will consider is for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lovely stay. Friendly, helpful staff - service was just top notch. A perfect mix of being looked after (and catered if you choose - great value in the restaurant with children eating free with a paying adult) or being independent - clean fully equipped kitchen to sort out your own food. Lots of lovely walks, right on the doorstep and the village a 2min stroll down the hill for supplies and pubs. We were a large family group and there was space and equipment for all of us to relax and enjoy ourselves. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a beautiful and well run youth hostel with extremely friendly and helpful staff who clearly enjoy their jobs. The setting is gorgeous and it's just a short walk to the village where there are a couple of pubs and a few shops should you need to stock up.
We didn't eat at the youth hostel on this occasion, although we have in the past and it's been very good. The facilities are excellent, tables and umbrellas outside, lovely bar area indoors, games area, drying room, well stocked kitchen etc. Our room was very comfortable, we were two in a room for three, so there was plenty of room.
For £18 each per night this was a bargain! Hartington Youth Hostel is superb!

Room Tip: Our room had a shower and sink, so we shared a toilet. Our room was next to the toilet, so obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and hope that you will be tempted to try our evening restaurant next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 night's this year with my husband and our two kids age 6 and 8 after staying in YHA Castleton Loosehill last year.This is a great YHA in beautiful surroundings.The onsite facilities including the cafe ,bar and restaurant were great and on the first night chose to eat in Elizas which was curry night and was great value.We sat in the sun that evening in the grounds as the kids played and it was superb as there is a plsypark,gorgeous grounds and a giant chess/draughts set.

We were in The Barn which are rooms out the back of the hall which was a bit of a shame as would have been nice to be in the main building but the rooms were fine and overlooked the rabbits and chicken and out back the view was stunning

We used this as a base to do a nice long walk from the village to Sheen via Pillsbury sand also visit,Padlock,Bakewell and meet friends at Sherwood Forest which was only just under an hour away.

Brekkie was great,the staff were brilliant,friendly and helpful and the kids enjoyed feeding the animals.

There are two good pubs in the village,we had dinner at The Devonshire Arms which was lovely and child friendly and glad a great choice of food.

Only downside were some noisy residents on one night but expected when people arrive at different times and did not last long and just running in and out of rooms which staff took seriously and Hartington has less choice of eateries than Castleton for an evening but it shades it on the fact the facilities and grounds were very impressive.plus you could have afternoon tea out on the lawn and it had lots of different rooms youcould relax in.We will definitely return:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hegartys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. Should you wish to stay in the main house on your next visit, please just ask on booking. However family room options in the main building are very limited these are mainly in the Barn annex. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivinghoe bucks
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hartington Hall at the end of April, together with our daughter, son-in-law and 5 year old grandson. They had stayed here the previous year and thought it so lovely that they had organised this visit as a special treat for my 70th birthday.

They had booked us into The Roost, which was quite delightful and set across the courtyard from the main building. We have stayed in some pretty wonderful hotels around the world during our long marriage, but The Roost was up there among the best. The accommodation is spread over two floors; the lower floor has comfortable seating, a television and a kitchenette; the second floor has a very nice en suite shower room with a few steps up to a pretty bedroom. We felt like honeymooners!

The main Youth Hostel is a lovely old house surrounded by beautiful gardens and countryside, with cosy, prettily decorated rooms for relaxing, a good sized dining room and a games room with a billiard table (very popular with our little grandson). There was a good choice of dishes at breakfast and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We pre-ordered dinner on the first night and we all thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Hartington Hall is situated in a very pretty village, with a good pub serving good food if you want to eat out within walking distance. It is situated in stunning countryside and is within easy driving distance of Matlock and Bakewell.


We have never stayed in a Youth Hostel before, believing them to be only for youngsters, hikers and walkers and people who don't mind sharing rooms and facilities. How wrong we were! This really was one of the nicest experiences and most enjoyable holidays we have ever had.

I would love to go back to Hartington Hall and hope to do so before too long.

Room Tip: The Roost is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcb 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.9 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Property: YHA Hartington Hall
Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing