We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Hartington Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed here one night, the night before a cycling race. The hostel and the gardens are quite simply gorgeous.

Getting caught up in traffic we arrived at around 9pm, which was no problem in terms of checking in, but was a HUGE problem in terms of getting something to eat anywhere in the local vicinity. It was a half hour drive to find a town large enough to have any type of food available, so if you are going to arrive in the area late in the evening, make sure you stop off somewhere else for food first!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful surroundings that we are blessed with. Unfortunately the drawbacks to being in such a gorgeous location is that we lack late night eating facilities so yes I would suggest planning ahead if you intend on arriving late. We do have self catering facilities so you are welcome to use these too. I hope that you will be tempted to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
55
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just had a marvellous weekend at my niece's wedding. What a beautiful setting and really helpful staff. Food was fine, beer very good! I would have preferred a bed without side bars(!), but still comfortable. Took a walk recommended by the staff , just beautiful scenery.It did help that the weather was fantastic, but would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downes_marylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the nature of our buildings all of our rooms vary in size and facilities, therefore on your next visit, please let us know exactly what type of room suits you and we will try our best to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having paid £59 per night, (less a small discount for membership of YHA), I was hopeful of a good stay in this rather attractive old property in a lovely location. However, on arrival we were given rooms in the 'Coach House' behind the main building. It was cramped and the tiny kitchen facilities were not up to standard. I'm afraid this spoiled our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room in the Hall but be aware that the Hall may end up being booked with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you did not like your accommodation in the Coach House. These are often very desirable rooms as they have their own kitchen facilities (between 5 rooms) and are quieter. Due to the nature of our buildings, every room is different so the best way to ensure you get a suitable room for your needs is to call us directly and we will try to organise a room perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We camped on the lawn in frount of the hostle there was 15 of us camping in 5 tents. We camped so we didnt use a room, we could still use the facilitys. The toilets are clean and there are lots of them. Only down side was that the building was locked afer 00:00 (I think), there for we had to use the toilet outside in the barn. But thats camping at the end of the day haha. The festival was awsome and the time flew. The location is great at the top of a hill, 2 minute walk down into Hartington. The bar is very good serves nice tea/coffee and cold drinks all day. Would defently come back next year for the festival!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during our festival weekend. Unfortunately we had to lock the building at midnight for the security of guests staying in the accommodation, I hope that our other facilities were satisfactory. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic service and welcome, lovely breakfast, already recommended to friends and family. Will defiantly return, nice and clean, parking was not far, lots to do for kids, lovely friendly animals, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clio002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for watking the time to leave us a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We chose Hartington Hall as a base for a weekend family break and stayed in a family room. Having previously visited the area, we were already aware of how nice the Hall and the location were. Unfortunately the room we stayed in didn't do it justice.

The room was rather small and consisted of 3 bunk beds (which were only just long enough to accomodate a 5'10 adult) - not my idea of a family room. The beds were rather uncomfortable and left you aching by morning. One of the beds also harboured sweets from a previous visitor.

We made use of the breakfast buffet which provided a good start to the day. The evening meals were also a let-down - small portions and no vegetables.

In addition to clean rooms, the key thing I would look for from YHA accommodation is good value for money. In this respect Hartington failed badly. It pains me to say that I could not recommend Hartington for familys and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for! Unfortunately as is the nature of the building every room is different so the best way to ensure that you get a room to your requirements os to call us directly and state what you are looking for, this way we can try to ensure you get exactly what you need. This said I am disappointed to hear about left over sweet wrappers and our housekeeping standards are usually much higher that this. As for your evening meal, I am very confused as to why there were no vegetable!? This has been discussed with our kitchen and this is very unusual! Our menu and service style have now changed for the winter season and we hope that it is more satisfactory. I hope that this one experience will not put you off totally, we would be delighted to see you again and hopefully demonstrate a much more satisfactory standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fabulous location. Beautiful old house and grounds.
Our room was on the small size. Fortunately one if our party did not turn up so the bed could be used for storage.
The big big let down was the food. Choice was uninspiring and the only meal served with vegetables was the fish which came with peas. There was a school group in who were also offered carrots - we could have killed for them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Due to the nature of the building, every room here at Hartington Hall is unique, therefore we hope that you will consider us for future visits to the area, if you have lots of luggage simply call in advance to request a room with more space and we will do our best to accommodate you. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant. Our menu will change seasonally so hopefully there will be more choice to suit your taste on future occasions. All of our meals should be offered with a choice of 2 seasonal vegetables or salad so I can only apologise and investigate why this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
11.6 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Property: YHA Hartington Hall
Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing