We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This house is beautiful and has a licensed bar. A great place to stay for a walking holiday. Beautiful scenery. Food is excellent. Would definitely recommend eating here ad booking breakfast. Easy access to village centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony at Hartington Hall this weekend and I have to say it was perfect. Such a stunning location and wonderful staff who made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much for them. If you are looking for a venue who will let you put your own stamp on things, then these guys should be top of your list.
I really wanted to stay in the roost which is absolutely stunning but it was already booked up so I stayed in the Bonnie prince Charlie room which was beautiful and the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in.
My bridesmaids stayed in the coach house which was also lovely with a communal kitchenette and lounge room.
We were lucky enough to be able to have an outdoor ceremony in the pavilion (which is just stunning) next to which is a children's play area so it was ideal for our smaller guests to go and have a play instead of being forced to sit and listen. We also got some stunning photographs of our day in the wonderful grounds of this gorgeous building.
All in all a perfect day, I wouldn't have changed a thing.
A special thanks to Rebecca, Rob and the loveliest/funniest barman I've ever met (unfortunately I didn't catch his name) for making it a wonderful, stress free experience xxx

Room Tip: The coach house is great for groups, couples should stay in the roost or Bonnie prince charlie room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZLM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope that you will return to see us in the not too distant future (an anniversary?) and maybe stay in the Roost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Family get together at Hartington Hall, 22 of us in all. Luckily the snow had cleared enough for us to get through, although drifts piled up to heights of five feet in the fields and the roadsides. The Hall is gorgeous, very cosy and welcoming, with open fires and sofas, a games room, plenty of things for all age ranges, and real ales in the bar. Our bedroom, although small, was clean and tidy and very snug, and the bed was better than many hotels I've stayed in! Ideal base for walking or cycling in the Peak District, surrounding by picture postcard villages and stunning views. We set out on a ten mile walk, which took longer than expected because some of the route still had deep snow. Staff are young and enthusiastic, although not always well organised. Special mention to Adam, who kept us entertained! This would have been a five star review but for the food, which ranged from basic to pretty abysmal. Catering should have been better than this, at £7.50 for a main course! I got the last chicken and mushroom pie at seven o'clock, but considering they had another hour and a half's service to go, they should have had more. The puff pastry crust was limp and soggy, indicating that it had been microwaved to reheat it. It was quite tasty, and the chips were good, but I would have happily waiting another twenty minutes and had it from the oven. The previous night's minced beef curry is best left unspoken of... Anyway, that shouldn't put anybody off what is a fantastic venue in the heart of the Peak District, and if next year's reunion is here again, I won't be complaining.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay over all and cannot apologise enough for your experience in our restaurant. We pride ourselves on good food and hope that this was a one off. Please do not let this put you off returning to Hartington Hall in the future and sampling something from our revised menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here so that we could spend a day walking in the Peak District. We arrived late one snowy night, (after the advertised check-in time) and they were freindly. We had a twin room with a small private bathroom and a loo along the corridor. Of course the room was basic, but it was clean and good value for £25 for the night. The breakfast was excellent for £5 each; the quality rivalled a B&B. There are good facilities here such as a playground, games room, and kitchen/ lounges to use. There are also some lovely shared rooms in the main house with log fires.

If you're happy without the pleasantries of a hotel this is a good choice- it's a good hostel with some extra perks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfast and value comparable to the other local B&Bs. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely and beautiful hostel. Very kind and helpful staff members. We stayed in the gorgeous Bonnie Prince Charlie's room, with bed ready, by just £35. The single inconvenient is the toilet is in the corridor.

Room Tip: Bonnie Prince Charlie's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the Bonnie Prince Charlie room. We do have fully en-suite rooms should you prefer on future visits. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can't really beat a hostel for value if your willing to put up with a few inconveniences such as shared rooms or toilets down the corridor... oh and of course having to make your own bed..

But Hartington YHA was just a lovely stay.. the building is truly stunning I am not sure on the history but it looks like the most gorgeous manor house with great views down in the village of Hartington. We stayed for one night on a Sunday and we booked a private room en-suite for my wife and I. As we are members it cost just £24 for the night and we had a lovely room and a lovely double bed.

The bar meal in the evening was great value and very nice, just what we needed after a day walking. As a hostel you can self cater and I did have a peak at the kitchen it seemed fine. On the Monday morning we enjoy enjoyed a breakfast cooked for us and found this to be great value and most enjoyable.

Away from the hostel, if you are looking for somewhere to stay with easy access to plenty of great walking then this venue really one of the best for location.

A great stay will most certainly be back.. In fact we are planning to return in August 2013 with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malone4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you in August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are a couple of points that I didn't care for about this visit, but overall it was an enjoyable time. First let me say, that the hostel itself is gorgeous. It's an old mansion-like house that has lounges with fireplaces and plenty of space to walk around and explore. The staff is absolutely wonderful and very friendly. They gave me my own room and bath which was wonderful, as I was sick while I was there. There are chickens and rabbits out back which is nice for kids, and the grounds are extensive. Plus you are in Derbyshire, so the whole surrounding area is beautiful. The town of Hartington is pretty and quaint and worth a visit. Now, the two parts that weren't super... the food that they serve in the hostel restaurant is mediocre. So definitely eat your meals in town. The worst part though is the getting there. If you don't drive, you will spend your entire day traveling here. I came from London and had to take 4 buses and 2 trains each way. I was exhausted by the time I got there. The buses in Derby and Ashebourne that I needed to take to get here only ran every 2 hours... so check ahead of time so you don't stand around like I did! It would have been nice if the hostel had a shuttle. But I guess that would be cost prohibitive. Overall, I loved this hostel and the town of Hartington!

Room Tip: I paid a little extra to have my own room and they gave me a private bath as well. Of course, hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LManderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We are very sorry that you found our food disappointing, we pride ourselves on top quality food and hope that your experience was a one off. Looking through the majority of our reviews that seems the case so I certainly hope that this will not put you off visiting and trying our restaurant again in the future. We are in a remote location if you are using public transport so it is best to plan carefully prior to travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
924 reviews
8.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
432 reviews
4.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: $30 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing