We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonnie Prince Charlie's room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely and beautiful hostel. Very kind and helpful staff members. We stayed in the gorgeous Bonnie Prince Charlie's room, with bed ready, by just £35. The single inconvenient is the toilet is in the corridor.

Room Tip: Bonnie Prince Charlie's room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the Bonnie Prince Charlie room. We do have fully en-suite rooms should you prefer on future visits. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for YHA Hartington Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can't really beat a hostel for value if your willing to put up with a few inconveniences such as shared rooms or toilets down the corridor... oh and of course having to make your own bed..

But Hartington YHA was just a lovely stay.. the building is truly stunning I am not sure on the history but it looks like the most gorgeous manor house with great views down in the village of Hartington. We stayed for one night on a Sunday and we booked a private room en-suite for my wife and I. As we are members it cost just £24 for the night and we had a lovely room and a lovely double bed.

The bar meal in the evening was great value and very nice, just what we needed after a day walking. As a hostel you can self cater and I did have a peak at the kitchen it seemed fine. On the Monday morning we enjoy enjoyed a breakfast cooked for us and found this to be great value and most enjoyable.

Away from the hostel, if you are looking for somewhere to stay with easy access to plenty of great walking then this venue really one of the best for location.

A great stay will most certainly be back.. In fact we are planning to return in August 2013 with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malone4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you in August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are a couple of points that I didn't care for about this visit, but overall it was an enjoyable time. First let me say, that the hostel itself is gorgeous. It's an old mansion-like house that has lounges with fireplaces and plenty of space to walk around and explore. The staff is absolutely wonderful and very friendly. They gave me my own room and bath which was wonderful, as I was sick while I was there. There are chickens and rabbits out back which is nice for kids, and the grounds are extensive. Plus you are in Derbyshire, so the whole surrounding area is beautiful. The town of Hartington is pretty and quaint and worth a visit. Now, the two parts that weren't super... the food that they serve in the hostel restaurant is mediocre. So definitely eat your meals in town. The worst part though is the getting there. If you don't drive, you will spend your entire day traveling here. I came from London and had to take 4 buses and 2 trains each way. I was exhausted by the time I got there. The buses in Derby and Ashebourne that I needed to take to get here only ran every 2 hours... so check ahead of time so you don't stand around like I did! It would have been nice if the hostel had a shuttle. But I guess that would be cost prohibitive. Overall, I loved this hostel and the town of Hartington!

Room Tip: I paid a little extra to have my own room and they gave me a private bath as well. Of course, hostel...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LManderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We are very sorry that you found our food disappointing, we pride ourselves on top quality food and hope that your experience was a one off. Looking through the majority of our reviews that seems the case so I certainly hope that this will not put you off visiting and trying our restaurant again in the future. We are in a remote location if you are using public transport so it is best to plan carefully prior to travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This has to the the number one YHA hostel. We enjoyed a great stay here and the staff we outstanding. A room allocation error had someone already in out room but the young man on reception sorted it out quickly and and with courtesy.
The self catering kitchen was a bit tight but that had more to do with the big groups being dominant. The communal areas were comfortable and welcoming.
The location is great for walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Large groups using the self catering kitchen is rare here at Hartington Hall as we have the restaurant on site so please do not let this put you off revisiting us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The building is gorgeous with mullioned windows, and yet manages to stay warm and cosy, even with the outside door opening and closing as people come and go. We stayed as a large party; my friend and I were accommodated in the Coach House. The en-suite shower was powerful, and the toilet was just across the landing, so not too disappointing not to be included in the en-suite. The food was very good in patches, albeit somewhat repetitive. From what I understand there was no manager until the last day of our stay, - but in spite of this the very young and friendly staff were superb, and to be commended, they handled some difficult situations that occurred with aplomb and good humour.
The wine stock available at the bar was very good value.
The village is very pretty and the cheese shop is heavenly!
Walking was great, if somewhat muddy, so it is great to have boot cleaning facilities available.

Room Tip: The Coach House provides it's own self-catering facilities for those that would prefer it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. I am sure the staff will be very happy to hear that their efforts are appreciated. We are very sorry that you felt the menu was repetitive and will look into this matter in the future. Should you have any special dietary requirements we are always happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took a group of over 100 art and design students to Hartington Hall Hostel for a one night stay. We were drawing in the local area.
The hostel is a lovely building in a wonderful setting in Hartington.
The staff were so considerate and accommodating for our large group. The accommodation was great and the food was excellent. They even put up with us drawing out the windows when the weather got too bad to be outside.
A fantastic stay with lots of good work produced.

Room Tip: Staff check out the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMMM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will keep us in mind for future trips either with a simlar group or family unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thanks to Harrington hall for an amazing wedding event with family and friends. An ideal wedding venue and place to visit. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for a memorable stay

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Tryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We hope that you will consider a stay with us if you visit the UK again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
907 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#4 of 20 in Buxton
117 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
14.4 mi away
YHA Hathersage
YHA Hathersage
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: $31 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing