We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more than a hostel”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took a group of over 100 art and design students to Hartington Hall Hostel for a one night stay. We were drawing in the local area.
The hostel is a lovely building in a wonderful setting in Hartington.
The staff were so considerate and accommodating for our large group. The accommodation was great and the food was excellent. They even put up with us drawing out the windows when the weather got too bad to be outside.
A fantastic stay with lots of good work produced.

Room Tip: Staff check out the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMMM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will keep us in mind for future trips either with a simlar group or family unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    81
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
89
59
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Harrington hall for an amazing wedding event with family and friends. An ideal wedding venue and place to visit. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for a memorable stay

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that you will consider a stay with us if you visit the UK again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent accomodation- travelled here after a day at Alton Towers.
I have never stayed in a Youth Hostel before and I thought that this was excellent value for money and I would book another YH again.
We were given a private room with shower room. Clean linen, breakfast in the morning and the staff were really polite and very helpful.
The surroundings are stunning and would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the Peak District.

The rooms are quite basic but in terms of budget and value for money, you couldnt ask for any more.

Phone signal wasnt great but there is internet access in one of the rooms if you needed this.

Brilliant!

Room Tip: As for a room with private shower room. We had a barn room with this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samzie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your first hostel experience and that this has encouraged you to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed in lots of hostels before but this one was outstanding. Had a lovely room with en-suite facilities and the range of food and real ales available were first class. Hostel is in a great location for the surrounding Peak District and in particular the off road cycle routes. Have no hesitation in recommending this experience. Also had a petting zoo which seemed a great attraction for the younger children.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be in quiet parts of the building so have no qualms about saying that wherever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A stop over on our Land's End to John O'Groats Challenge. Having ridden 102 miles it was glorious to arrive at this imposing house and have tea in the garden sunshine followed by an extrodinarily good evening meal. Great location, great facilities, wonderful staff, fantastic food, unbeatable value.

Mobile signal a bit patchy but hey who needs a phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChrisEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay here with us last summer. We hope that you will visit us again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed in a hostel before, and had impressions they would be like a boarding school, well this was nothing like that and all set in a beautiful house and fantastic setting, I was very impressed .

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank manukandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us last summer. I hope that you will be encouraged to visit us again this year and even visit other YHA properties?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while on a walking holiday, the room was great (it was ensuite which was great). The facilities were very good. We ate both the evening meal and breakfast here, what lovely food at great value, the evening food was like restaurant nosh. We only had a slight issue while staying, a group of youngsters were staying at the same time and when we went to bed we could hear a few doors banging, the staff did speak to the group to calm them down, so it didn't affect us too much. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us (and that the noisy youngsters were rectified so swiftly). Hopefully you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
882 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
YHA Hathersage
YHA Hathersage
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
57 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
8.8 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#3 of 19 in Buxton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Property: YHA Hartington Hall
Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing