We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Bears Barn Hartington”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bears Barn

Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard. Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard.
Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
We have had many lovely comments about our comfy bed.
Kitchen diner
Day out in Hartington for our bears.
Bedroom to rear, bookcase with local area guides, eclectic books, selection of games and jigsaws.
Our lovely stained glass window, based on an old postcard of Alport, near Youlgrave.
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Lounge with log burner for a cosy night.
Ready for dinner.
Park your car, unload, relax and enjoy the countryside.
Autumn leaf carpet
Village centre a very short walk away.
Longnor Fish and Chip Shop our favourite.
Lyme Park a lovely place to visit for Pride and Prejudice fans. 40mins drive
Calke Abbey
Hartington Village
Howden Dam - you can hear the water roaring
Manifold Trail provides  easy trail walking through the Valley. A short drive away.
Sheldon Church nr Bakewell
We have some lovely neighbours.
Peak Rail at Rowsley,  steam and deisel heritage trains to Matlock.
Crich Tramway Museum, good day out, near to Cromford home of the Industrial Revolution.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Barry...
1 review
“The Bears Barn Hartington”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Accommodation was first class clean and centrally located in the delightful village of . Hartington. This was our first visit to the Peak District and we certainly hope to visit again. Thankyou Carole & Barry

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2018
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Big Ted hopes you will come to stay for another holiday. Kind Regards Linda & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Barn”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Second stay at the bears barn.
All the facilities you need,clean,tidy
well presented and a very good price.
Hartington is a quiet picturesque village.
Good base for local walks and cycling.Pasley Hay is near to hire bikes for the Tissington or High Pike trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the heart of the Peak district”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely week staying here in October. Very good clear and friendly communication prior to holiday and arrived to find a cake, cookies and a pint of milk in the fridge. Cottage itself is very comfortable and had everything we needed. Village itself is great and we found made an ideal base for reaching all the Peak district. Devonshire Arms is a good pub but also enjoyed the Manifold Inn 1.5 miles down the Mill Lane. Farm Shop Cafe over the road serves great food and very friendly. Would recommend this holiday rental and hope to visit again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianHac...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay here. TV has been upgraded to include Free Sat. New fridge and microwave too. Didn't think the Barn could be improved, but these changes have done so. Still our favourite holiday let. Did more walking this year as the weather was terrific, though you can't book the sunshine in advance. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a quality Base in a rural setting. Free reserved car park behind the home is a convenient bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobwillow
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“hidden gem in hartington”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

a warm welcome from owners and a great sense of humour ( see web site)
The accommodation was spotless and had all the facilities for a couple wishing to explore The White Peak area of Derbyshire.The property has a great range of maps and books of the area. There are many walks starting in Hartington and within reach are Chatsworth House, Buxton ,Bakewell,Tissington and more.
As a couple of Oldies we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank you again for the lovely card you made us Big Ted is still talking about the picnic. Kind Regards Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin S
1 review
“One of the best escapes”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Bears Barn Cottage is a beautiful slice of escape bliss, lovely lounge with log burner, fully fitted kitchen with everything including a dishwasher and a delightful bedroom with lovely four poster bed.
I had such a lovely time there walking during the day, sliding into the local pub a few doors away for a quiet drink and then relaxing in the warm lounge or soaking in the super modern bathroom!
Lots of walks and fresh air, warm cosy evenings and lovely pub grub = batteries fully recharged!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The four poster bed and bedroom
Liked least: only on street parking
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. You mentioned that there was only on street parking, the Barn does have a private shared car park to the rear of the barn block. We have denoted our two spaces by a sign as shown in our advert and mentioned in the directions we sent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best cottages we have stayed in.”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spotless. Beautifully furnished. Lovely large fluffy towels and log burner. Had a fantastic week, in a lovely village too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely thoughtful provision
Liked least: Not really a view from the windows.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing