We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graces Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolfscote Grange Cottages
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Graces Cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A lovely, cosy cottage in a beautiful, friendly village serving excellent food. Straight forward access to the Tissington Trail and only a short drive to Parsley Hay for bike hire. Beautiful family walks starting from the village. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    0
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We love the Derbyshire dales and were desperate for some much needed peace and quiet as our neighbours very loud and constant building work has taken 2 years so far so we booked Cruck Cottage with it's promise of peace and it didn't disappoint. The location is lovely and yes, the 2mile drive down a single track road to get there isn't great with hardly any passing points but it's a very quiet road, just watch out for the crazy Royal Mail van. The cottage is very small and is basic but comfortable. The cleanliness was adequate but could be better. The beds are very comfortable and much needed after a days walking. The location of the cottage is great if you like to leave the car and spend the day walking. There are plenty of gentle walks nearby or longer ones. There are good pubs in Biggin and Hartington that provide excellent food and both can be reached by a 45min walk. The only downside (we were just unlucky) was that as Crook Cottage is situated in a valley sound travels further and is amplified and we were treated to the sound of a large family staying in the Grange cottages who felt that it was acceptable for the children to run around the fields screaming and shouting constantly over the weekend, the adults joining in the shouting and finishing it off with the loud car radio. I think the sheep were stunned into silence at this; we decided the pub was the only option but the remainder of the week gave us the peace and quiet needed. Overall, a great location for walking and exploring Derbyshire and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcat710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

lovely cottage in stunning scenery, little bit dissapointed with the few cobwebs found around the cottage, also no laundry facilities in cottage, even though self catering was shocked to find only 1 loo roll for 5 days and having to provide own towels was a bit inconvient and not usual. the decor of the cottage was stunning and felt totally relaxed there, the downside was the access road which was very narrow hardly any passing places and prevented me from going out in the car as worried about meeting oncoming traffic which would of resulted in me having to reverse at times great distances, was a lovely stay just a few minor issues made it less than perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of five have just returned from a week in Swallows Cottage and we had a fabulous time there. The cottage is reached by a narrow two mile track from Hartington village and is very remote which suited us perfectly. There are passing places on the track and once or twice we had to reverse back to allow another car through but it really is no big deal!! There are lovely views all around and its so peaceful (particularly as you cannot get phone reception!). The cottage was well equipped and the beds were very comfortable with lovely goosedown duvets. The owners were happy to help when we asked for information about the area and there is a very friendly cat that my children loved to cuddle each day.

There is loads to do in the local area. We highly recommend walks to Dovedale and cycling on the Tissington Trail. Walking up Mam Tor is a must and this is about a 45 minute drive from the cottage. Overall we loved it here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in Cruck Cottage which is a lovely peaceful cottage, very well refurbished and very private. Compact but with everything you could need. Just a couple of things you need to be aware of before booking. We received no communication from the owners whatsoever either before hand or during the stay (not even a welcome note in the cottage) I suppose it depends on your viewpoint but even though I like my privacy on holiday a simple hello might have been nice!! No towels provided either, which is odd. The other issue which you won't necessarily appreciate on a map is that the access road is long and very narrow and there are very few passing places. This leaves you in a very awkward situation if you meet someone coming the other way. Reversing quickly around narrow corners between dry stone walls isn't my idea of fun. Great location once there but I limited the times I ventured out due to the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryfromLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our first trip to Swallows Return Cottage, but our 10th to the Wolfscote Grange Cottages.

Stunning scenery that keeps us going back year on year, relaxed atmosphere in the region and a perfect location for walkers and mountain bikers.

Swallows Return is nicely fitted out and converted from original farm buildings.

Jane and Joe from Wolfscote Grange are always helpful and accommodating let you get on with enjoying your holiday.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Holiday cottages with great views, able to rent two on same site for a family holiday and found the facilities provided all that we needed. Cottages were clean and well equipped for self-catering, or for entertainment on a wet day.
Good walks in immediate vicinity, and very good for getting away from it (although that did mean not all mobile netwrorks had reception!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeymouthCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartington hotels
0.0 mi away
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
0.0 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
282 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscote Grange Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscote Grange Cottages

Property: Wolfscote Grange Cottages
Address: Wolfescote Grange Wolfescote Grange, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruck and Wolfscote cottages are set above the beautiful Dove Valley two miles from pretty Hartington village central to the Peak District . Cruck cottage sleeping 4 is a 15 century hideaway with no neighbours only sheep and the occasional hare. At the farm stead in a large courtyard are Swallows Return , Tomboys and Wolfscote Cottage(sleeping 6, sleeping 4-6 with sofa bed and sleeping 4 respectively ).These cottage and the mentioned Cruck cottage are all Visit England four star accredited. \all furnished and decorated to a high standard to add comfort to your holiday . The beautiful backdrop of the Derbyshire hills and valleys makes Wolfscote and Cruck cottages the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolfscote Grange Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing