We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have known better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should have known better”
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Just had a weekend at the Charles Cotton Hotel and should have read the reviews before we booked. At least we were prepared when we got there. Perhaps we also should of had a clue when we couldn't get in anywhere else.
The room was shabby and not too clean and the decor was circa 1970 as was the colour TV. The staff not too helpful either. Expensive too. They had nowhere in that rambling place to store our bikes overnight, a first.
We didn't let it spoil the weekend as the village is beautiful. Wish we'd of stayed at the youth hostel, that looked lovely. Great area to cycle as well as walk.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — surly staff, shabbiness
  • Tips/Secrets — try youth hostel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Footweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    240
    109
    81
    50
See reviews for
113
511
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

I just stayed at the Charles Cotton Hotel in Hartington and I had read all the previous comments and I was prepared. However, I must admit that it was not as bad as previous guests had made out. Just be sensible and accept that this is an old hotel with a 2Star rating and don't expect 4Star Luxury. Yes, the furniture and the decoration is dated but the room was extremely clean and it even had a state of the art DVD/CD player. The plumbing is by micro bore and makes a horrendous noise when you flush the toilet or empty the bath but I have stayed in 4star hotels which were a lot worse.
What did let it down was the food in the evening when my first two choices were not available and the miserably and dour looking owner who clearly deserves a price for the most dejected and glum looking individual I have met in recent years. A smile and bit of friendliness doesn’t cost anything, yet would cover and smoothen over a lot of the niggling problems this hotel is suffering from.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and was very dissapointed. Although the breakfast was substantial the other aspects of the hotel were very poor. The bedroom decor was really dated, the carpets filthy, the bed uncomfortable and there was a constant smell of smoke and mustiness about the place. The bar area had broken chairs and again was dirty. We couldn't belive we paid £85 a room a night for this! There is no way we would have eaten in the restaurant, we just about tolerated the breakfast. On a postive note the staff were friendly and polite. Another piece of advice , there is a great pub opposite (Devonshire Arms)which does surperb food at a cheap price, we ate there both nights - 10 out of 10!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

I rather stupidly booked this hotel, and only then read the reviews on this site! To say I was anxious is an understatement, but the hotel has a fairly inflexible 'no show' policy (worth noting) so we went ahead with the trip.

As it turned out, we actually enjoyed the visit. The hotel is in a lovely location (Hartington is a picture postcard village). The room was very spacious and clean. Some of the fixtures were certainly showing some wear and tear, which was somewhat at odds with new additions such as a very swish looking TV, DVD player, and surround sound system.

The restaurant decor was on the tired side, but we found the food to be plentiful, well cooked, and reasonably priced.

Reviewers have given some widely varying accounts on the attitude of staff, and I can see why. Some could not have been more helpful, whilst at least one was (at best) somewhat surly - all comes down to who you come into contact with!

Overall, particularly in view of the very reasonable price we paid, I would say we got value for money. It's far from being a top class hotel, but it has it's charms, and is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

We booked into this hotel after looking at the hotel's own website. I can only describe our room as dirty, shabby, smelly and exceedingly pink. I felt unclean just being in the room and the overwhelming smell was that of old chip fat and smoke! The staff were not overly helpful and appeared indifferent to our concerns.

The best bit about it was leaving and the beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We have just returned from a one night stay in this "hotel" and would not recommend it to anyone. The entrance is dingy, the general decor very poor and the furniture shabby, the first table we sat at was actually broken!. The "full English" breakfast would not fill a child. The locals were noisey and unfriendly and started trouble in the bar at night. In fact the only good thing about the place is the scenery. Our advise visit the Peak District - its fantastic, but don't stay at the Charles Cotton.


  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irsihlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 7, 2006

We would like to say a very big thankyou to the Charles Cotton Hotel for a wonderful three days.

The service and food were great. The rooms very nice and clean everthing we could have asked for.

We will definatly be back very soon as we did nt get chance to try all the wonderful walks on the doorstep.

Thanks Again

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing