We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Sunday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I needed cheering up so off to the Charles Cotton. Just what the doctor ordered. We had the suite, its gorgeous, very comfortable and romantic. Bar is cosy and quirky. Staff are friendly and attentive. Food very good and plentiful. The village itself is charming with some excellent shops and of course the cheese factory. If you want a little TLC this is the place to go. Next sunny sunday we'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose the suite. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank critiquenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 934 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely location in a very picturesque village. Breakfast was very good. The room was very nice, bed was a bit soft and the pillows could have been better. We stayed in the separate section of the hotel but in the actual hotel the noise from the bar would have been very annoying if you wanted to go to sleep. Overall not bad for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r53fej29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My Son and his wife held their reception at this hotel and many of the guests including myself and my wife together with vatious members of our family stayed for the weekend at this Hotel.
Our Collective experience was one of complete satisfaction.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable,the staf were very obliging and attentative,the food was well presented and of a very good quality.

Room Tip: By and large the rooms were very Quiet, Clean and well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely stay at The Charles Cotton Hotel. The hotel is well located for walking in the Peak District. The service at the hotel was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. The chef was extremely accommodating as I am lactose intolerant. He highlighted dishes on the menu that was suitable for me. He also recommended that if I was to come again to telephone ahead and he would prepare something for me. Excellent service. The assistant manager was very friendly and helpful. The hotel put on entertainment on a Friday night which was very good and the atmosphere was great. My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watto29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Charles Cotton and although overall we were quite happy, there were some issues. Firstly the positives - for a 4 star hotel the food was excellent, as were the staff and the bar / bistro area is quite nice. But on the negative side - the main dining / function room ( Cotton Room ) is unwelcoming, dismally decorated and a bit tatty in places ( a large stain on the high ceiling which we hear has been there for quite a while ). The dinner menu is quite highly priced, but the restaurant environment falls well below the standard set by the food, which probably explains why there were so few customers on a Friday and Saturday night when good restaurants are usually busy irrespective of the time of year. Some stair carpets are old and worn, the upstairs corridors are a bit dismal and smelt of ( something? ). Our bedroom although quite small was reasonably well appointed and clean, but it needed some tlc and also it lacked a few simple basic things you would expect in any good hotel - no coat hooks, no bedside digital clock, no cottonwool pads / earbuds etc, no airfreshener in the bathroom, no grabrail by the bath / shower ( which is actually quite dangerous ). If the hotel has ambitions of being a really good 4 star hotel with a restaurant to match, it still has a way to go - at present we would give the hotel perhaps 3½ stars and the food 4½. The Charles Cotton is in an excellent position, it's a pity that at present it doesn't quite hit the mark

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony-indabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very good meal in the restaurant at the hotel and the bar was also very nice. The rooms are quite basic, but were clean and tidy. Hartington is a lovely place and the hotel is very nicely situated on the square in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The included afternoon tea was delicious with a wide range of choice, lovely room and the dinner was superb. Again a wide choice but I was slightly disappointed that the beef had ran out earlier in the day Lovely stay in a lovely village and a brilliant breakfast! Would thoroughly recommend the Sudnay Saver deal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range: $101 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing