We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charles Cotton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$162
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveler rating
433
268
129
88
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
433
268
129
88
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak districthotel barlovely villagecountry hotelsteakevening mealstable blockfriday nightgroupon dealdog friendly roomlovely mealexcellent foodopen firecheese shopfull englishmain buildingfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 971 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate in the restaurant in mid August 2013, the menu pointed towards a fine-dining experience and the prices were correspondingly high for the area - the bill for two was £100 including wine.

The food was extremely disappointing, especially as we ate at a quiet time with only two couples in the restaurant so the kitchen would not have been rushed.

We ordered pigeon and duck starters. (After ordering, we were told that no green vegetables available for the pigeon, watercress would be provided instead, annoying but not a problem.) The pigeon breast was badly botched, over-done and resembling a squash ball in toughness and texture. The duck was again unpleasant and reliant on an overpowering Asian sauce to mask the disparate flavours from the associated Asian salad. Bad start.

My main, a tough and too-small bullet of pork loin with lumpy mash, didn't come close to justifying it's near £20 price tag.
My wife had a decent rib-eye steak with a very pleasant oxtail parcel (the highlight of the dinner), although again the chef had over-reached himself with a piece of bone-marrow which had been scorched beyond any possibility of eating.

Desert was an adequate chocolate tart in a poor piece of pastry.

The wine was decent, but was plonked on the table with a lack of attention which typified the willing but untrained service provided by the local youngsters employed.

On the way out, we noticed a road-side fish and chip van, and both agreed that we should have saved £100 and had a bag of chips.

If in Hartington and in need of dinner, I would advise you look elsewhere. Wouldn't go back under any conceivable circumstances. The place is shooting for a level of cuisine it can't carry off, and you're wasting your money to eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were impressed with the service received at the Charles Cotton Hotel, the hotel staff were friendly and professional, the room was of a good standard and the food was excellent. The hotel was perfectly located for exploring the Peak District.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

me and my family booked to eat at the Charles cotton hotel, we had a lovely meal which was presented well and with care, and all was cooked beautifully.

the service was very good especially the young man who seemed to be in charge.

we the decided to stay in the hotel.

the rooms was tidy and of decent size and we ate again.

needless to say everything was as before "Faultless"

I would say the hotel seem very short on staff and this may be a reason the previous comments have been passed.

Room Tip: book now. dont pay any attention to people who refer to themselves as "one" (idiots)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1992iou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a lovely building in a lovely village in a lovely area. We found the food excellent, and we liked the bar/bistro area. However,we made the mistake of booking a room in the annexe when the hotel had live music until midnight and we were so disturbed by the noise, cars and AC unit that we checked out after one night. The bathroom was not up to modern standards.

We also agree with another review that the hotel isn't sure what it is. Is it a pub with rooms or a hotel with a bar? We would stay again but we would be very careful over the room and certainly not pay the full rate.

Room Tip: Ask about late night music. Don't assume that the room rate reflects the room quality - the rooms vary.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited recently on a nice sunny Friday afternoon (before the thunder and lightning) with my wife and three young children. There were no seats available at the front (outside) so went to the beer garden at the rear, unfortunately this is a small area of lawn bordering the car park which has no fence around it hence not child friendly due to the close proximity of the cars. However a beautiful day so decided to stay for a meal.
Mixed reviews on the food in that 3 of the dishes were fine (linguine, fish and chips and sausage and mash) the other two were poor. I had the ploughmans which is best described as meagre in that it consisted of a quarter of a medium sized pork pie, a slice of huntsmans cheese that was so thin I could almost see through it and a few small pieces of bread to add insult to this poor offering there were no pickles as described in the menu. As I actualy wanted a meal and not a snack I refused the meal and ordered the sausage and mash. I accept that there may have been quality products on the plate however please keep to the traditions of a ploughmans and ensure it provides a hearty meal.
The second meal that was lacking was the cheeseboard (my son loves his cheese) in that it is described as coming with a selection of crackers - he got 5 all the same, bara brith cake - there was none, and homemade chutney - again there was none. Unfortunately didn't realise until he had finished however when I raised this with the staff they did apologise, blamed it on the fact that the menu had changed. Either a poor excuse or a sign of lack of communication between the waiting staff and the chef.
On the plus side the staff were all pleasant and dealt with my complaints in a polite and professional manner and ultimately reduced my final bill.
So in short sort out the beer garden and for the chef you need to pay attention to detail and don't spoil a classic pub meal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ratunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews